We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Iona Restaurant at Toravaig House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Sleat
Price range: US$32 - US$62
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Regarded as one of the top restaurants on The Isle of Skye and The Highlands of Scotland, The Iona Restaurant is an elegant and welcoming restaurant with a unique contemporary style in keeping with the stylishly modern decor throughout Toravaig Hotel itself. In the evenings a soft relaxing candlelit atmosphere is created to enhance the pleasure of the culinary experience. Lunchtime guests can also enjoy the wonderful views over the gardens, Skye itself, the Sound of Sleat and the mainland mountains beyond.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Called in by chance during a very short stay on the Isle of Skye in May 2012, and we were very, very pleased that we did so. The food was just awesome and full praise to the chef who deserves more awards for his culinary skills. The whole dining experience was great with a very attentive waitress and stylish surroundings. This really was fine dining at it's very best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monty553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“*****”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Amazing, cant wait to see chef Chris on Great British Menu, he deserves it !!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lornadempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothwell
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Nine of my family and friends visited this restaurant on the twentieth of August 2011 and had pre-arranged with the Management, to have an eight course tasting menu with champagne and canapes to start accompanied by live fiddle music from a staff member. The entire experience was quite literally , flawless. All the interfaces from the way our inquiry was initially handled and the manner we were met on the day, to the ambiance and presentation of the lounge and subsequently the dining room itself spoke of quiet and understated professionalism.The well crafted choice of menu and the impeccable quality of the ingredients combined seamlessly with the flair and skill with which they had all been meticulously prepared and presented, frankly leaving us all quite speechless. It truly was "Edible Art" ! We also thankfully chose to take the restaurant's choice of wines to accompany each course and agreed that they were all well up to the mark and sensitively priced. The experience was rounded off by being allowed to meet the remarkably young team of chefs and have an enjoyable interface and exchange with them . If you find yourself within a hundred miles of this quite exceptional hotel and restaurant it would be real shame if you were unable to partake of their hospitality and cuisine. We most certainly will be back as soon as we can.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank startritekid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Meal In Scotland!”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We just happened to stop by the Toravaig House Hotel and asked for dinner at the Islay Restaurant. What a treat! Easily the best meal we have had in Scotland. A full 5 course fine dinning experience in a charming atmosphere. The service was exceptional. A truly memorable evening worth every penny! We started with cocktails and canapés in the lounge at 7:00 and finished our coffee at 9:30. Absolutely a “must do” evening. Reservations are a must to assure a seating

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham UK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This review is based on a visit to the restaurant in August 2010 we were not hotel residents but were treated to a meal at the hotel by two of our travelling companions.
The hotel itself is very well presented and the reception rooms were spacious and comfortable.
The menu was slightly limited with no option for our vegetarian traveller, but the chef suggested a dish for each course which overall worked out alright.
The dishes were presented beautifully and lived up to their appearance in taste. The staff were helpful and friendly and the evening went well. Good wine selection at reasonable prices. Well worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David-and-Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iona Restaurant at Toravaig House Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Iona Restaurant at Toravaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing