We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel experience i have had... ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duisdale House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

As soon we arrived, we were blown away, for the cost, clearly this delightfully beautiful place was not where we were supposed to be :), and at reception we were informed that we had been upgraded to a better room, not sure why, but thanks :) The staff, at all times, were very warm and friendly, in fact, beyond so... food was ace, as was the room. Will definitely be returning. Having read some of the reviews on here, I am convinced that some folks are clearly reviewing somewhere else, because I cannot find any fault whatsoever, and im a picky git when I want to be :) lol Thank you Duisdale for an awesome valentines getaway

Room Tip: show up lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBegleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just back from a very refreshing and enjoyable break staying at Duisdale Hotel on Skye. Excellent accommodation, superb food and a very special team of staff . It's no wonder the hotel was awarded The Best Hotel at the Scottish Thistle Awards 2013. I'd thoroughly recommend the hotel and the restaurant and of course there's plenty to amuse everyone on Skye whatever the season. Don't forget your swimmers for the hot tub!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lochcarron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ann's personal touches made our stay a memorable delight. Friendly without being pushy, she even loaned me her own swimsuit (costume), so that I could enjoy the amazing hot tub with my husband. Delicious food, an extensive bar, a warm fire, spectacular views and kind hospitality….what more could you ask for? Thanks Ann.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out the front of the hotel will have the best views by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A warm and friendly atmosphere throughout our stay. The lounges and dining areas were tastily furnished and very warmly with the coal fire.The food was exceptional and would highly recommend anyone to stay.
The bedroom was decoratively furnished with great views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme Cochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Let's start with the booking... 2 nights for a small double bedroom were advertised at £85 per night on their website and on booking.com, however I tried to phone them up and see if they had any other bigger room available for the dates I wanted to go a few days later. Funnily (well, not really funny actually) their offer was £104.50 PER PERSON per night for the same room... Quite a big difference, in fact I emailed them and tried to see if it was me being confused with the Scottish accent... They confirmed the price I was told on the phone saying that it's possible that some third party website would offer a different deal... when I told them that their website was actually offering that deal they were quite confused themselves however they honoured the price, which was nice. Still £85 versus £209...
Once arrived, we've been given a bigger room anyway, not bad, but again sort your booking out...
The general manager, David, is a true professional, very attentive and gentle however the atmosphere is a bit too pushy, "Are you going to have dinner with us?", "Lunch with us?", "Drink with us?"...
We decided to have dinner in the first night and it was (again) all a bit weird... We asked to have dinner at 7:30 pm and it was apparently fully booked. First table available at 8pm, not big deal. We went downstairs at 8 'o clock and have been asked by David to have a seat in the lounge while they were preparing the table, of course we've been asked for a drink while waiting and we ordered a bottle of red wine. The lounge was quite busy, mainly customers waiting to be seated in the dining room and with a pre-dinner drink ordered. It took so much time to have our bottle of wine that we just had a sip and the table was ready, around 8.40pm (so why did you tell me dinner was at 8pm?). Let's bring the wine with us then... Surprisingly, although only a couple of guests left the dining room while we were waiting, the room was basically half empty (just the other people waiting with us in the lounge) and the hotel has anyway a much nicer dining room set with the finest glasses and cutlery that they keep only for the restaurant's guests.. totally empty. So the waiting time in the lounge is just a way to sell you an overpriced drink.
Dinner went smooth, I can't even recall what we had, which says it all. Nothing memorable, despite of their attempt of being sophisticated. Quite a constant in Scotland: the waiters are very young boys and girls, really lovely but unexperienced to serve a meal in a supposed-to-be luxury hotel.
Breakfast was good, classic Scottish breakfast, no surprises no magnificence. Too slow, really too slow. I'm on holiday and quite chilled but 1,5 hours to just serve breakfast is half of my morning...
The room we've been given it was spacious and, as said, bigger than the one we paid for but definitely the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in my whole life. Please, do change your mattresses as I can see from the reviews it's not only me complaining about that!
The final touch was the check out. Despite of the deal with the room, the bill for a two night stay plus dinner for two wasn't that cheap, when I tried to pay with American Express I've been told that they do not accept Amex. How come? Apparently "American Express is very expensive for us" they said. Expensive for you? Seriously, that's quite funny when the average bill on this hotel is around £300 and when you charge your customers £5.00 for a coffee in a small china cup pretending that's an espresso.
Skye is a beautiful island, I'll surely go back, not to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you book for more than one night it's very likely to get a big room even if you booked (and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisdale_Manager, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry that there seems to have been some issues during your stay here. In order that we can fully investigate this matter, could I please ask that you contact the hotel direct so we can discuss the details.

We always appreciate feed back in order that we can continue to improve our product and are never complacent.

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After booking and paying a hefty deposit 9 months ago, we then had to pay the balance well in advance for the three night Hogmanay Party - an expensive outlay - we were so disappointed we left a day early and forfeited our money.
The room was not as promised with Woodland Views, instead we looked at a shed, the food was so minuscule we were still hungry e.g: one course on the so-called Banquet consisted of just one oyster! The rest of the courses consisted of a mouthful per course of things like pigeons and other game, not the seafood we had been promised when making our first enquiry.
The entertainment was a couple of school kids playing their violins and a very young piper - all tried hard but they were not exactly what we expected. The 'live band' for dancing consisted of a CD.

Most of the staff were very nice but the new receptionist of 1 day was extremely rude, raised her voice considerably and said some very unpleasant things to us.

Perhaps they need to stop creating expectations they cannot deliver - especially to guests who travel thousands of miles across the world who wish to enjoy a traditional Hogmanay, as this was most certainly not what was provided in other Scottish establishments.
We had 4 meals there and at three of them we had to endure being moved from table to table and on one occasion this happened three times.

We had brought a special bottle of wine and asked could we drink it at dinner and were told categorically No under no circumstances, only to find they were allowing other guests to do just that.

The Manager Ian was very nice and tried hard but almost everything else let him down.

Room Tip: Double check what view you are looking at.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Nelly191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisdale_Manager, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Nelly151

Thank you for your review. We remember you and your party well. It’s a shame you were intent on not enjoying this special occasion from the start. With regard to your comment about the age of the musicians, there is a wealth of young musical talent in the highlands and Islands and our young people are encouraged to demonstrate their talents at occasions such as this. We are proud of our heritage and our talented youngsters!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Europe and had a safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our dingy lit room overlooking the laundry from where staff came and went beneath a spot light which shined persistently throughout the night into our allotted accommodation gave no hint of the beautiful woodland view, king bed room we were promised.
The proprietor will indignantly declare we had one of the cheaper rooms, but it was the king size bed we sought and were told the woodland view rooms were the ones we should take. At £380.00 per couple per night, to be honest we expected more than two beds pushed together, the laundry our only view, a room with no fridge, plastic cups in the bathroom and so dark it almost required we feel our way around.

Also, reflecting on the tiny reception area, we arrived having travelled all day only to be greeted by a receptionist who, noting our arrival with casual glance, and ignoring our arrival immediately changed from speaking English to Gaelic and continued chatting warmly to the couple ahead of us.

Although stated on their website to be available, there was no wifi for the first twenty four hours due, we were told, to a lightening strike a week earlier. And, no phone reception whatsoever. Or lift to access the three floors.

Only a two minute walk to the beach, their website boasts but fails to mention to achieve this one must venture down a private road which clearly bears a large sign stating it is a private road.

We had travelled half way around the world to share with the Duisdale, our first Scottish Hogmanay and found this to be a sad and miserly beginning to welcome in the New Year.

The promise of a seven course banquet for New Year's Eve conjured a lavish feast. Alas, first course began with a solitary oyster, the next - a postage stamp size piece of pork belly. Course three, beetroot cured salmon fitted into a dessert spoon and came with half a quail's egg and so it went on this amazingly pretentious banquet under the guise of fine dining.
Wine, to be expected was not included, and not a coffee, mint nor piece of shortbread in sight.

The one genuine bright light at the Duisdale is its current manager, Ion, who was the only staff member we met with a heart enough to give a care and too good by far to be working there.

We booked ten months in advance, with forty percent deposit being insisted upon at time of booking and the balance paid well before our arrival. We paid for three nights and left after two.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Jay048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisdale_Manager, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Jay048

Thank you for your comments. We remember your recent visit during our Hogmanay Celebrations when you travelled with your friends from Perth, Australia and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
The two rooms which you were allocated were exactly as described at the time of booking, in price, position, one a woodland view and another a rear view and also regarding the payment terms and conditions. As you rightly say we had just experienced severe lightening and thunder storms throughout the Highlands of Scotland with some areas being several weeks without telephone or email connection. We are glad to say that our experts had us back on line within a few days even during a peak holiday period, for which we are truly grateful.
We are glad to say that there is a quiet walk to the shore across the road and even happier to say that this is not a busy public road.
We are sorry that you felt the portion size of the seven course New Year Banquet was inadequate for you but many people are rather attracted to well presented quality dishes rather than large portions and fewer courses. We offer an extensive wine list and are confident there will be, again a wide choice of quality wines available to suit every palate and pocket.

We are delighted that you were well looked after by our General Manager who is a delight and oversees the smooth running of the business but I must say, all our staff are dedicated, with a passion for Hospitality. We cannot stress enough how delighted we were during the New Year Celebrations when our two Senior Managers, one an Award winning dancer, were engaged in teaching our guests the rudiments of fine Highland dancing!

We hope you managed to enjoy your onward journey and the rest of your time in Europe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
3.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
22.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
23.3 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
22.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duisdale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range: £95 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duisdale House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing