We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duisdale House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Duisdale House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Fantastic place to visit no matter what corner of the world you come from! very clean very tidy! staff were amazing and friendly made to feel very welcome and special from the moment we arrived!
im not the kind of person who would attempt fine dining but i would now entertain it thanks to the fabulous food and atmosphere at the hotel
I cant rate this hotel and staff highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    136
    65
    44
    20
See reviews for
69
385
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

When visiting Sky for the first time. We stopped at the Duisdale by chance for lunch. We were well revived and lunch was served in the conservatory. The food was uncomplicated and well presented. We choose the fish and it was cooked perfect. Would like to return and stay over. Thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYRSHIRE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

OMG what a find....... I've stayed on Skye a few times but i can honestly say that Duisdale house is a little piece of luxury on the isolated coast - even on a bleak February weekend.

This isn't a hotel, this is like living in a luxury house that you have just taken over, after winning the lottery ! With a full entourage of the best staff, picked from the best hotels all over the world - there isn't anything that's too much of a challenge to them ! Ian the manager even offered to open up the hot tub whilst we were outside, it was less then 5 degrees in the pouring rain- "just give me 5 mins" was his response ! WOW what a guy ! Ermm we decided to sit in the lounge with the lovely open fire and enjoy some cocktails.

The food here deserves the Michelin people's attention.

The bedrooms are lovely and it really feels as though you have the whole place to yourself. I can't believe that a weekend at the end of Feb was fully booked ! I hope they keep space for us next year!

The whole team at Duisdale were great, special thanks to Murdo (I am sure he has a twin who also does breakfast), Ian who was so caring, and Mark and the rest of the team - these guys really are a team.

See ya next year .........

Room Tip: I am sure in the summer the rooms at the front would be lovely - but in the middle of winter does it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our second stay at The Duisdale Hotel, our previous one being in February 2013, and the place remains No1 with us. I am a regular visitor to Skye for the Cuillin during the summer months, so this , again, was to be a vist to enjoy 'the other side' of Skye.
From start to finish this place really is the bees' knees. Welcoming staff on checking in, rooms freshly decorated and more than sufficient by way of of fixtures, fittings, size et al.
Quality of food and wine in the restaurant was awesome, served by VERY attentive and knowledgable staff.
The weekend that we were there ( Friday to Sunday) the place was full. So, how many hotels on Skye could say that for the 'quiet' month of February ?
ALL the staff are a credit to the owners of The Duisdale Hotel, with no request being too much bother to carry out, and all carried out in a very pleasant manner, yes, with a please , a thank you AND a smile !
Yes, please feel free to make contact with me should you wish to know more .
We ARE looking forward to our next visit, however, will we wait until next February, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm :o)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hattz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe Village, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

What can you say? Excellent all round - room, food and staff. Upon arrival we were given a very warm welcome and every member of staff thereafter could not have done more to make our stay perfect. The decor throughout the hotel was absolutely beautiful and finished to a very high standard. We dined in the restaurant where the food was of the very best qualityand the service was perfectly timed. Breakfast ingredients were again the very best quality and a special thanks to the young lad who served both dinner and breakfast, he works very hard and is a credit to the hotel. The manager Ian who checked us out was again a credit to the hotel.
We look forward to coming back to the the Duisdale in the very near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank room13feb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel. Our first was in May last year we enjoyed the hospitality and thought the food and the location were great and so we had no hesitation in returning for a romantic valentine weekend. We were not disappointed. The staff are friendly, polite, attentive and interested. The food was well cooked, beautifully presented and nicely served. Dinner on both evenings was delicious. Breakfast on both days was great.

Contrary to the previous review I really like the fact that you can sit in the lounge before dinner and have a drink while perusing the menu. On the first night we had a bottle of red wine - contrary to the rather dog-in-the-manger comments below I would like to point out that when we came down the next night the staff told us that they had kept the red wine that we hadn't finished the previous night and would we like it brought to the table. We had made no request for this to happen and thought it was an example of the care and attention given.

The waiting staff may be young but they were entirely up to standard - and contributed to the enjoyment of our stay.

On our stay in May we had a front room on the second floor with beautiful sea views - we consciously chose a cheaper, cosy double this time round as we knew the location and we knew that we would be out and about all day and only coming back to the room in the dark. The room was very spacious with a nice shower over a bath - must have been over the kitchen as could hear some noise at around 7pm. - it looked out the side so yes woodland and yes some gas tanks but this was fine because it was reflected in the price. There was no disturbance at all overnight except for hearing the owls and the woodpecker.

I would not hesitate to stay again - there is a new website where they put their latest offers - skyedeals.com check it out and I am sure that you will not be disappointed.

Ours thanks again to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: The front rooms have beautiful views. We found our cosy double to be large albeit no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

As soon we arrived, we were blown away, for the cost, clearly this delightfully beautiful place was not where we were supposed to be :), and at reception we were informed that we had been upgraded to a better room, not sure why, but thanks :) The staff, at all times, were very warm and friendly, in fact, beyond so... food was ace, as was the room. Will definitely be returning. Having read some of the reviews on here, I am convinced that some folks are clearly reviewing somewhere else, because I cannot find any fault whatsoever, and im a picky git when I want to be :) lol Thank you Duisdale for an awesome valentines getaway

Room Tip: show up lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBegleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
22.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
39.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
22.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duisdale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Property: Duisdale House Hotel
Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duisdale House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing