We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but peaceful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flora MacDonald

Flora MacDonald
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sleat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flora MacDonald
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic but peaceful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My friend and I stayed here one night in June. This seems to be about the right amount of time to stay here, enjoying the beautiful view, seeing the ponies, and appreciating the tranquility of the location. Then you can go off to another place that is more accessible, cleaner, and better kept up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcslaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

After staying in 5 different hostels before Flora MacDonald, we had a pretty good idea of what you get for your money hostelling in the Western Isles. Peter was very welcoming but we got the impression he thought the hostel would run itself - this was reflected in the lack of extras provided in comparison to the other hostels that were in the same price bracket. Small touches go a long way - there were no individual bed lights (we slept in an 8 bed dorm, one of only two room lights had a bulb), no basic food/cooking items or tea and coffee (some hostels at this price even provided breakfast). Flora MacDonald has a three star tourist board rating - the only evidence of this is the sticker on the door. We agree with the other reviews - the view is excellent, the rooms are clean... if this is all you need then the hostel is OK but don't expect anything more.

Room Tip: This review is for the main dormatory facilities, if you are willing to pay extra there is a 4 bed d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The place was small and clean. We were in a 3 beds room. It had a private toilet, but had to share shower and kitchen. Kitchen had all utensils and a fridge. There are no restaurants nearby, so kitchen is a big plus! The owner came to to pick us up at the Armadale pier as we did not have a car. It is almost an hour's walk from the pier otherwise. There is a bus stop just few minutes away from the hostel, which is great. You can get bus to Portree, Broadford etc from there. The view from the hostel is beautiful, and the ponies there make it even special!

Room Tip: If you don't prefer dormitories, you have the option of 2/3/4 bedded rooms as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingfun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We arrived at 6pm which unfortunately coincided with Peter's dinner time and his wife who had come to pick him up was clearly very put out. We were shown the room and facilities which were ok but we were glad our part of the hostel wasn't full as there was no lounge space and only room for 2 at a time in the kitchen. Attention to detail lacking (e.g flooring in toilet wasn't sealed in but just held in place by masking tape in doorway). Was expecting better especially as this wad the most expensive hostel we stayed at on Skye.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headingleyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

A fine bargain and spare, as hostels go. Frightful group of viking types in the next building putting on a play, it seemed. However, a beautiful peaceful spot, and just right to go for a long walk to the quay area. If there longer, I'd have ventured into the hills where there are many trails. Owls hooting in the evening, the unexpected ruin of a castle near a restaurant, and the Center for Gaelic Studies on the water, will make you want to take a crash course. Engaged an interesting Canadian professor of Gaelic at the local pub, all in all, an exciting time. The dappled greys in the field a sight to behold, and Peter MacD, yes a real character. He protected me from the vikings, at least.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brodie_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

I have stayed in hostels before around scotland but this one did the trick the owners were pleasant and gave a good scottish welcome with a quirky sense of humour thrown in by Peter the font of knowledge about Skye.
The views were breathtaking, and we met some really nice people in the hostel who we are keeping in touch with. There was a huge log burning stove in the common room a well fitted kitchen and it was very clean. We would recommend this hostel to any of my friends or family.
Shops are about 3 miles but a lovely walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondieukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Flora Macdonald Hostel, the views were superb. The faciliities were excellent and our hosts were good company. I would warn any visitors that they should bring plenty of supplies; the nearest shop is 3 miles away! Sleat is a wonderful place and I would highly recommend a visit if you like peace, quiet & stunning scenery.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperjohn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
1.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
41.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
34.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ardvasar Hotel
Ardvasar Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ardvasar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora MacDonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora MacDonald

Property: Flora MacDonald
Address: The Glebe, Sleat IV44 8RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Flora MacDonald Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing