We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANK YOU FOR A DELIGHTFUL EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toravaig House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“THANK YOU FOR A DELIGHTFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for one night in this beautiful and elegant hotel. The room was spacious, tastefully furnished and well equipped. All staff members were friendly, attentive and welcoming making one feel immediately at ease. The icing on the cake however, was the superb evening meal we had – it was an experience in itself with every mouthful bursting with taste and unusual flavour combinations. Richard Massey, the chef clearly deserves his recent award. This was fine dining without the affectation and pomposity of similar meals we have experienced in the past.
Breakfast too, was superb with a good choice of cereals and fruit juice followed by coffee, toast and a varied selection of cooked dishes using local ingredients. We chose poached egg on smoked haddock – absolutely yummy, thank you.

Room Tip: We had a hillview room so, I'm sure the seaview rooms will be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    61
    30
    20
    6
See reviews for
29
161
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in Toravaig House Hotel in Skye and would like to record our complete satisfaction with the warm welcome, the pleasant facilities and the wonderful restaurant. Richard Massey, the young chef produces some truly wonderful food showing a wonderful balance of presentation, quality and choice which gave us 2 memorable dinners. We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel especially the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which, while a bit on the small side, has a very comfortable bed an a sea view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We attended Toravaig for our dinner only and were not disappointed the staff were extremely welcoming and created a relaxed atmosphere, in very comfortable surroundings. We were treated to what can only be described as an gastronomical extravaganza in our evening meal by an extremely talented award winning chef. Many thanks to Sarah and Rosemary we shall return very soon... I hope!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed here as part of a road trip in Scotland and had a fantastic stay. We were suppost to stay only for one night but decided to stay for three at this lovely familly runned hotel.

The room were very cosy, perhaps small but very cosy. The food was really amazing and I think we were eating for 4 hours every evening.

We went out sailing with the hotel owners for one day, it was really nice and recommended if you like sailing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Surely one of the most expensive mistakes I have made when booking a hotel, rooms small with noisy fan, intrusive staff, food average at best, sea view in the distance past the farm sheds, all in all very expensive for what is basically a 3 Star Guest House not a 4/5 Star Hotel

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had booked our stay at the Toravaig hotel, Skye, hoping to relax for a couple of days...We were not disappointed. From the wonderful welcome we received from Lisa, to the five star food served at dinner and breakfast, (You have to try the Stornoway black pudding..!!!) to the comfy beds....not to mention the scenery...a fantastic setting...something you have to experience...to top it all off Ken and Anne took us out for a whole day sailing. Again everything was there wine, food scenery and the company of our hosts who made us feel like close friends rather than visitors.
We WILL go back and we WILL be back out sailing...Just Magnificent...
thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonJax24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we were looking for a quiet weekend away after a very busy few weeks! this is exactly what we got.
we were greated by a lovely woman (lisa i think) who offered to help us with our things and showed us to our room. she was very helpful letting us know where we could find a cash machine (broadford was the closest)

breakfast was certainly an event at this hotel - thee courses! cooked really well and by no means a stingy portion. options of cerial, toast and cooked beakfst or fish, we had so much we skipped lunch!

the room itself was cosy and the heater was simple enough to wok. we got a huge wooden framed bed which not only looked awesome but was incredibly comfy. the carpets were such that you felt inclined to take your shoes off too!

good powerful shower and easy to alter the temperature there was a bath too but we never used it.
as for the tea and coffee facilities, they gave you the wee tubs of milk however if you asked at the desk they gave you a jug of proper milk. they also offered with tea and coffee when you came in in the evening.

the hotel is also 10 minutes from the ferry in armadale so really convenient for checking in - and for an early morning ferry. the location also means that you get a fantastic view of the sky at night undisturbed by town or city lights!

Really pleasent stay

Room Tip: only stayed in one room however it would seem that they woould all be just as quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rover1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
37.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.8 mi away
Uig Hotel
Uig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uig
425 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,036 reviews
4.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
167 reviews
30.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toravaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toravaig House Hotel

Property: Toravaig House Hotel
Address: Knock Bay, Sleat IV44 8RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toravaig House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Boutique Hotel on The Isle of Skye, set in large garden enjoying fine views over the sea. Nine unique bedrooms - feature beds, Sky TV, telephone, en-suite bathrooms complete with fluffy bath towels and luxury toiletries. Mouthwatering menus created using fresh local produce, seafood, lamb, beef and venison. Intimate candle lit evenings relaxing by the fire in the cozy lounge enjoying fine wines and malt whiskeys. Exclusive sailing trips from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Toravaig House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toravaig House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing