We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toravaig House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Rosemary is a great hostess with the experience of how to handle every guests needs. Thank you for a wonderful stay recently!
Sailing experience was spot on in the capable hands of Ken and Ann - perfect picnic spot at Tarbert at the top of Loch Nevis and perfect winds to take us there and back - thank you.
Food was out of this world with such a "rising star" at the chef - thought I was in a version of Master Chef. Just oustanding .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    56
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
27
152
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The room and bathroom were spotless and appeared to be brand new. The bathroom was a bit small but certainly larger than many european bathrooms I've seen. The food was absolutely amazing. I have a gluten allergy and the chef adjusted his prix fix menu without hesitation and they even had gluten free dinner rolls :) Excellent wine list too. The staff was absolutely the best. I cannot say enough good things about this place. I will most certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We just completed a weekend stay at Toravaig...one word - SPECTACULAR. Service, Food, Location, and Overall satisfaction were way beyond expectations! We are US Expats and have traveled throughout Scotland and other countries...this little gem is well worth every penny for the quality of relaxation and Isle of Skye experience! Special mention is around service upon arrival through departure, including friendly chats with both staff and guest of the hotel. Rooms are well decorated, extremely clean, and very comfortable! We will be returning to Isle of Skye, so we are really hoping to be able to have the opportunity to stay at the Toravaig Hotel - my guess is that it will really be difficult to stay due to others telling their friends of such a great place to stay while on holiday...just a brilliant hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuperTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Toravaig House and dinned their each evening. It has a deserved reputation for very good food. The chef is creative, the food standard excellent and the presentation support the plaudits it has earned. Breakfast also hit the mark with a good choice to fulfil a traditional or a continental taste (The smoked haddock and poached egg is particularly good!) It is a quiet small hotel by the nature of the fact that it has a relatively low number of rooms. In respect of rooms they are tastefully decorated to a high standards and equipped with necessary amenities. Our room I would say was verging on small (possibly not helped by the very large comfortable bed in the middle of it) but this was a minor thing. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. A very enjoyable stay that we hope to repeat at some time in the future.

Room Tip: One of the sea view bedrooms (Colonsay) has a large bay window and a view over the ruins of Knock C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKE130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had been looking forward to this hotel considering all the advance plaudits but we were sadly disappointed. We found the atmosphere “hushed”, (except the music which was too loud in the dining room – right beside us) and a “bit stiff”. The bathroom was one of the smallest ever, one person only – at a squeeze. There was nowhere to leave your wash-bag, bar the floor. There was a tiny shelf above the basin (toothbrush only). There was a shower with a fixed head over the bath, great pressure, but nowhere was there a shower cap to save your hair getting inevitably wet
The choice at Dinner was quite limited – two starters and two main courses (1 fish and 1 meat).
Before dinner we looked for an aperitif, but the bar choice was poor and our whiskies came with two tiny bits of finger food; one a very salty ham concoction, the other I can only describe as a fishy bit of pannacotta (though nice) but neither really suitable as finger food – give me good old fashioned peanuts and crisps anytime.
With dinner came an “amuse bouche”; a teaspoon sized bit of herring on a large white plate – it simply looked ridiculous, (even M Bocuse of nouvelle cuisine fame would have blushed). This was followed by a crab starter which was frankly bland. Then Soup was followed by a game main course (on the tough side), then an extra, very prettily served, strawberry and cream dish and then the official dessert of rhubarb with panacotta and a lemon /lime mousse – the rhubarb was too tart and dry. The extra strawberry bit would have been enough. Why I hear you ask do I give you a blow by blow account of dinner? Well because all that cost £42 sterling (calculate it out in your own currency) and because there was cheese on the menu BUT at an extra charge of £4 and it didn’t specify if that price was for cheese additional to the dessert or for cheese instead of dessert.
This was also the only hotel that had no breakfast buffet, some may like that, but the staff seemed to have difficulty understanding that while I don’t want a warm breakfast I do like my muesli with fruit and yogurt all at the same time.
The grounds were somewhat bleak and a little unkempt.
This was an experience which will not to be repeated by us.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daveom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed for one night in early May as part of a two day walking trip to Skye. What a great hotel to return to after a long walk into the Cuillin mountains. Welcoming, friendly and a really high standard of food, hospitality and room quality.
Not only did we have the most wonderful weather over our two days, sunny, clear, no rain and 21 degrees on both days, but the hotel was also warm and the staff friendly and helpful. We had drinks served on the terrace after our walk, and a meal served in our room as we didn't want the full, formal dinner experience. It still gave us a chance to experience the cooking and presentation, and to savour the local scallops and other local specialities. Excellent standard.
Room was spacious, modern and very clean, with a lovely well laid-out bathroom, and we appreciated the black-out curtains which meant we were unaware of the dawn sunshine at 4.00 a.m and slept until nearly 9. Breakfast was excellent in choice as well as presentation, particularly the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, setting us up for another great day in a wonderful part of the Scottish west coast.
A great break experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weenieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for one night in this beautiful and elegant hotel. The room was spacious, tastefully furnished and well equipped. All staff members were friendly, attentive and welcoming making one feel immediately at ease. The icing on the cake however, was the superb evening meal we had – it was an experience in itself with every mouthful bursting with taste and unusual flavour combinations. Richard Massey, the chef clearly deserves his recent award. This was fine dining without the affectation and pomposity of similar meals we have experienced in the past.
Breakfast too, was superb with a good choice of cereals and fruit juice followed by coffee, toast and a varied selection of cooked dishes using local ingredients. We chose poached egg on smoked haddock – absolutely yummy, thank you.

Room Tip: We had a hillview room so, I'm sure the seaview rooms will be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
37.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
30.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toravaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toravaig House Hotel

Property: Toravaig House Hotel
Address: Knock Bay, Sleat IV44 8RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toravaig House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Boutique Hotel on The Isle of Skye, set in large garden enjoying fine views over the sea. Nine unique bedrooms - feature beds, Sky TV, telephone, en-suite bathrooms complete with fluffy bath towels and luxury toiletries. Mouthwatering menus created using fresh local produce, seafood, lamb, beef and venison. Intimate candle lit evenings relaxing by the fire in the cozy lounge enjoying fine wines and malt whiskeys. Exclusive sailing trips from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Toravaig House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toravaig House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing