We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toravaig House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A lovely small hotel clean, comfortable with a friendly helpful staff. Beautiful decor, comfortable beds with excellent lighting await the traveler at this unexpected treasure. Even better is the delicious 5 course gourmet dinner at the hotel restaurant. One of the best chocolate desserts that we have ever had anywhere is the finishing treat. We only booked the night before arrival and had no idea what to expect. It was a perfectly delightful experience on the Isle of Skye - which is a not to missed part of Scotland.

Room Tip: We had a small room with no real view, but it was still lovely. One of the rooms with a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfk4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had such a wonderful experience at Toravaig House, great hospitality in a beautiful setting with food that tantalised every taste-bud.
We look forward to returning in the near future and thank everyone for making the last day of our honeymoon magical.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yipeelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked 4 nights in the Toravaig with some trepidation. We had had a wonderful holiday there 4 years ago and didn't want those memories spoiled if the hotel had deteriorated. We needn't have worried. It is still a great place to stay with fabulous food and generally great service. It's a hotel with a heart and provides a warm friendly welcome. We'll definitely return.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed there recently for two nights, for £250 per night b/b this is not good value!
Our room was small and very basic.
The restaurant serves nouvelle cuisine ( in other works tiny portions) and at around £100 per couple with a bottle of £25 ish wine its not what I expected!
The saving grace was the lovely manager, I can't remember her name but she was fantastic!

Howard & Gail

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toravaig_Manager, Owner at Toravaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Howard & Gail
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We clearly lay everything out for all to see on our website with prices & pictures. Award Winning Fine Dining Cuisine (five courses) is served in the restaurant accompanied by a great fine wine selection – our guests love and appreciate good food and wine! Thank you for your comments about Rosemary – she leads a great team at Toravaig. Service & quality are at the heart of everything they do and we are proud of them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My room measured approx, 160sqft which is smaller than a standard Hilton Hotel small room that cost half the price. The rooms indeed very small in size which matched the limited character. At £250 for a room that appears to be double the size on the internet pictures (14mm Lens) this makes Toravaig House the most expensive hotel for it's size I've stayed in. The Seaview room requires the staff to chop down trees and then purchase a pair of binoculars. Realistically it should be renamed the Cowshed view. There's little soul to the hotel and unfortunately I left with a bitter taste in my mouth feeling cheated and very disappointed for the price.

Room Tip: My room was a Superior Size. It was approx 160sqft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShanghaiTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toravaig_Manager, Owner at Toravaig House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear ShanghaiTraveller88 Thank you for your review. We remember you well as on arrival you indicated that you had reserved a specific room and not the one allocated. On examining our records we discovered that the room you wanted had been prebooked for some time before your reservation was made.
We think our website Home Page picture displays very clearly our proximity to the sea however we are sorry you were disappointed. Toravaig House is located on the Isle of Skye in the Highlands of Scotland and is not a purpose built City Centre Hotel so each room is unique and each view a joy to behold. We are lucky enough to be surrounded by fabulous countryside and panoramic views at every turn. The Island is a haven for wildlife and nature and there are livestock in the fields and local produce a plenty. We try to ensure that all our guests can familiarise themselves with what to expect when they come to Toravaig by providing as much information as possible online and have an extensive image galley which we are always updating. Sadly on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Where to begin...... We arrived late on the first evening and were greeted by Sarah and her big smile shown to our room then headed down for dinner. We were shown into the lounge our drinks order taken and handed the menu..... Which read like a dream, everything I had hoped to see was on it. Our 6 course dinner began with hors d'oeurves in the lounge a G&T then dinner and a lovely bottle of Sancerre to wash it down with. The service was a delight and the food was some of the I've eaten anywhere. Retiring to the lounge full and happy to indulge in a small Jura or 5 from the 50 or so bottles of whiskey on display. Day two we took the yacht trip with Ken and Ann which was not to be missed if you come stay at either Toravaig or Duisdale, lunch was another feast of local produce washed down with a spot or two of wine. The weather was kind, the views spectacular a wonderful way to spend 8 hours. Whoever wrote the negative review could only have been staying somewhere else or be half blind.... the team here have gone out of their way to make our stay memorable and this one of the best small hotels in Scotland!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LORNA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

£48 per person for 6 course dinner. It was extremely good. Each course was a little treat, small and perfectly formed. I cannot complain about the food or the service at all.
Locally sourced food, very well cooked, well presented, service excellent. Dining area has well spaced tables, its large, airy with nice furnishings/tableware.
Clearly there is attention to detail both with the food & surroundings.
Having been to the Duisdale Hotel for a meal on previous occasions I would have to say this was ,in my opinion better in terms of taste, ambiance & value for money.
Yes I would go back again.
(One negative.......as usual & here is no exception to most other establishments, overpriced wine.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ges000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
24.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,098 reviews
40.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
34.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
196 reviews
24.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toravaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toravaig House Hotel

Address: Knock Bay, Sleat IV44 8RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range: £96 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toravaig House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Boutique Hotel on The Isle of Skye, set in large garden enjoying fine views over the sea. Nine unique bedrooms - feature beds, Sky TV, telephone, en-suite bathrooms complete with fluffy bath towels and luxury toiletries. Mouthwatering menus created using fresh local produce, seafood, lamb, beef and venison. Intimate candle lit evenings relaxing by the fire in the cozy lounge enjoying fine wines and malt whiskeys. Exclusive sailing trips from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Toravaig House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toravaig House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing