We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toravaig House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing weekend getaway”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A wonderful find for a last minute booking. Got the last room in the hotel and was not disappointed! The room was certainly cosy (we did get a cosy double - so got what we paid for!), but given that we were out most of the days, was not really an issue.

The biggest surprise of the hotel was the restaurant! What an amazing find and certainly some of the best food we have had whilst being in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamVis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    61
    30
    20
    6
See reviews for
29
161
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed two nights, got a good dinner, bed and breakfast rate on a late booking. Very nicely furnished bedroom, with good bathroom and quality toiletries, and good shower. Unfortunately our bedroom (6) was over an extractor fan, which was quite intrusive.
Our meal on the first night was impeccable, as you would expect from an establishment with 2 AA rosettes. However, on the second night, everything went awry. We waited 35 minutes for a pre-dinner drink and menu, then service was slow throughout the meal. In addition the vegetables on one of the main courses were cold, and needed to be sent back for re-heating, but arrived back within minutes with a very hot plate but barely warm vegetables. The dessert order was not taken for so long that we had to go in search of the waitress. The staff were very apologetic, and our bill was adjusted in compensation, but our enjoyment of the evening was spoiled. (we gave up on coffee, it being so late by then).
This hotel seems very over-priced, compared to other 3-star establishments on this holiday. Despite this, the hotel is very welcoming and comfortable, with wonderful front-of-house staff, in particular Rosemary, as other reviewers have mentioned.

Room Tip: Watch out for extractor fan at the rear of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A lovely small hotel clean, comfortable with a friendly helpful staff. Beautiful decor, comfortable beds with excellent lighting await the traveler at this unexpected treasure. Even better is the delicious 5 course gourmet dinner at the hotel restaurant. One of the best chocolate desserts that we have ever had anywhere is the finishing treat. We only booked the night before arrival and had no idea what to expect. It was a perfectly delightful experience on the Isle of Skye - which is a not to missed part of Scotland.

Room Tip: We had a small room with no real view, but it was still lovely. One of the rooms with a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfk4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had such a wonderful experience at Toravaig House, great hospitality in a beautiful setting with food that tantalised every taste-bud.
We look forward to returning in the near future and thank everyone for making the last day of our honeymoon magical.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yipeelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We booked 4 nights in the Toravaig with some trepidation. We had had a wonderful holiday there 4 years ago and didn't want those memories spoiled if the hotel had deteriorated. We needn't have worried. It is still a great place to stay with fabulous food and generally great service. It's a hotel with a heart and provides a warm friendly welcome. We'll definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed there recently for two nights, for £250 per night b/b this is not good value!
Our room was small and very basic.
The restaurant serves nouvelle cuisine ( in other works tiny portions) and at around £100 per couple with a bottle of £25 ish wine its not what I expected!
The saving grace was the lovely manager, I can't remember her name but she was fantastic!

Howard & Gail

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toravaig_Manager, Owner at Toravaig House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Howard & Gail
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We clearly lay everything out for all to see on our website with prices & pictures. Award Winning Fine Dining Cuisine (five courses) is served in the restaurant accompanied by a great fine wine selection – our guests love and appreciate good food and wine! Thank you for your comments about Rosemary – she leads a great team at Toravaig. Service & quality are at the heart of everything they do and we are proud of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My room measured approx, 160sqft which is smaller than a standard Hilton Hotel small room that cost half the price. The rooms indeed very small in size which matched the limited character. At £250 for a room that appears to be double the size on the internet pictures (14mm Lens) this makes Toravaig House the most expensive hotel for it's size I've stayed in. The Seaview room requires the staff to chop down trees and then purchase a pair of binoculars. Realistically it should be renamed the Cowshed view. There's little soul to the hotel and unfortunately I left with a bitter taste in my mouth feeling cheated and very disappointed for the price.

Room Tip: My room was a Superior Size. It was approx 160sqft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShanghaiTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toravaig_Manager, Owner at Toravaig House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear ShanghaiTraveller88 Thank you for your review. We remember you well as on arrival you indicated that you had reserved a specific room and not the one allocated. On examining our records we discovered that the room you wanted had been prebooked for some time before your reservation was made.
We think our website Home Page picture displays very clearly our proximity to the sea however we are sorry you were disappointed. Toravaig House is located on the Isle of Skye in the Highlands of Scotland and is not a purpose built City Centre Hotel so each room is unique and each view a joy to behold. We are lucky enough to be surrounded by fabulous countryside and panoramic views at every turn. The Island is a haven for wildlife and nature and there are livestock in the fields and local produce a plenty. We try to ensure that all our guests can familiarise themselves with what to expect when they come to Toravaig by providing as much information as possible online and have an extensive image galley which we are always updating. Sadly on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
37.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.8 mi away
Uig Hotel
Uig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uig
424 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,036 reviews
4.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
167 reviews
30.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toravaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toravaig House Hotel

Property: Toravaig House Hotel
Address: Knock Bay, Sleat IV44 8RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toravaig House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Boutique Hotel on The Isle of Skye, set in large garden enjoying fine views over the sea. Nine unique bedrooms - feature beds, Sky TV, telephone, en-suite bathrooms complete with fluffy bath towels and luxury toiletries. Mouthwatering menus created using fresh local produce, seafood, lamb, beef and venison. Intimate candle lit evenings relaxing by the fire in the cozy lounge enjoying fine wines and malt whiskeys. Exclusive sailing trips from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Toravaig House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toravaig House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing