We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would not hesitate but go back and stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toravaig House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Toravaig House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Noss Mayo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We would not hesitate but go back and stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed three nights on the Ultimate Skye package; this gave us dinner, bed and breakfast as well as a trip on the owners 50ft yacht. And we chose one evening to dine at the sister hotel Duisdale House. Our stay came at the end of two weeks driving around the Inner and Outer Hebrides so we had hoped to pamper ourselves just a little bit. We were not disappointed!!!

From our arrival to our departure we were treated by the wonderful Rosemary and her team as honoured guests, and by the end as if we were old friends. There was nothing that we threw at them that they couldn't or wouldn't deal with.

The quality of food and service at Toravaig is generally exemplary, and relies heavily on locally sourced fresh ingredients. For example the kedgeree at breakfast is to die for. The kitchen aspires to win awards one suspects. It is jolly good but for me not quite what wins awards for hotels in the more populated parts of the country. And probably shouldn't be given its location. If they all aimed at a simpler offer it might be better all round. Wine List is OTT and also could be simplified and made more reasonable.

On one occasion the dessert - a deconstructed rhubarb crumble - was tasteless and the chef later admitted it was unacceptable but it shouldn't have got out the kitchen. Service on the first nights dinner was poor. It turned out they were shortstaffed in the kitchen but no-one told the diners!

Our experience at Duisdale was less satisfactory - more a hotel than a home-away-from-home. The menus at the two hotels are pretty similar so if we went again we would only eat at Toravaig I think.

It was great to get out on the yacht and experience Skye from the sea. Obviously the experience is weather dependent and we were fortunate to have a day of bright blue sky and a little wind. But just as it was great to see the sea and the sky and the mainland and the islands from the luxury of the yacht, it was a real privilege to spend time with Ken and Ann the hotels' owners as well as fellow guests John and Lynn.

We would not hesitate but go back and stay if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iancgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    55
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
27
153
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed on Saturday night in the Toravaig House Hotel. Very pleasant staff, excellent accommodation, great food; only reservation I might have is that the wine list is excessively overpriced and they must lose a lot of wine sales by this. Other than that, couldn't fault it! Breakfast porridge was very good and the kedgeree was superlative! Would certainly recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Comfortable though smallish and expensive rooms in a luxurious old house, ten minutes drive from the Armadale ferry terminal. It was wonderful to arrive on a cold day and be welcomed to a beautiful sitting room with an open fire. Rooms were well appointed, with ensuite bathroom with a bath, and bed was very comfortable. Our room had a "hill-view" (i.e. a view of the carpark, the road and the hillside) - other rooms provide a "sea-view" though the sea is actually in the distance across a farmyard, so I'm glad we didn't pay more for a view. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, though we did feel a little pressured to purchase drinks or dine in the restaurant. (At a fixed price of £48 per person for dinner, dining here was not on our agenda!) Breakfast (which was delicious, with many options) starts at 8am, but staff were very accommodating in providing an early breakfast so that we could make the first ferry. Although convenient to the ferry terminal, Toravaig House is really not well-placed for an extended stay on Skye. It's an hour's drive from Portree, and 1 & 1/2 hours from Kilmuir at the north end of Skye. We actually enjoyed the drive to Portree and beyond each day as the scenery is utterly spectacular, but many may prefer not to have to make this trek each day. It's also 20 minutes from Broadford for the nearest pubs and restaurants. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, and revelled in the luxurious surroundings, but it was perhaps a bit overpriced for the location, smallish room and lack of view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our group took over the whole hotel for a long weekend (working) the staff went out of their way to help us with luggage, extra storage facilities, early breakfasts and even a few deep fried mars bars thrown in! Exceptional food and warm friendly staff, i would love to go back soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank swardlaw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

After wanting to visit Skye for so many years, it more than lived up to our expectations. The island is breath-taking and when you stay in such a beautiful hotel with truly exceptional food it makes the holiday all the more special.
I called a few hotels in advance of our booking and went ahead with Toravaig for 2 reasons: Rose Mary's very welcoming and helpful initial conversation and the restaurant reviews and reputation. No wonder it has won so many awards as it showcases Scottish game and fish at it's very best.
It is an excellent location for travelling to any part of the island. On arrival to the island, you are 5 minutes from the ferry terminal and 20 from Skye bridge. I would recommend planning your days in advance to make the most seeing/doing what is on offer around the island. Many scenic views will have you stopping by the roadside for walks on a beach or photographs. Wildlife will have you stopping in your tracks, literally.
Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough. We will definitely return and will instantly choose Toravaig House Hotel.
A sincere thank you to all the Toravaig team for such a wonderful few days.

Room Tip: speak to reception when booking as they will describe each of the unique 9 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This really is a terrific hotel. Yes, it's pricey, but well worth the money. Set in the stunning backdrop of southern Skye, this is a touch of luxury just where you need it. The staff are welcoming, the rooms stylishly decorated, and the evening dining (complete with 6 course menu) is first class. My only criticism with our stay would be that the restaurant did not serve an Al a Carte menu, meaning you were restricted to the 6 course option; my wife and I were more than happy to oblige given the quality of the food, however this fact is worth baring in mind given the lack of alternatives in this remote part of Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We traveled to the beautiful Island of Skye to celebrate my 60th Birthday in the company of our daughter and son-in-law (who kindly paid the bill). Toravaig is in the most beautiful setting and we were lucky to have the best weather too for this time of year. The rooms are beautiful, luxuriously furnished and immaculate, en-suite with pressurized showers in bath (Room 1 and Room 9) fluffy towels and robes. and very well looked after and the food was "heaven". Nouvelle Cuisine at its best here. 5 course tasters with a Cranachan given to us before dessert. Great locally sourced game and fish. I can't rave enough about it! Would definitely stay here again and recommend them highly. They have 9 rooms which are impeccably designed Staff were lovely too! They even switched out the outside lights around midnight so we could go out see Orion's Belt and the Milky Way very clearly in the sky. Breakfast was lovely too and my husband was delighted to sample his porridge with a shot of whisky. Can't wait to visit here again - hopefully next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely outlook,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
2.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
40.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
34.1 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
23.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
8.7 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toravaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toravaig House Hotel

Property: Toravaig House Hotel
Address: Knock Bay, Sleat IV44 8RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Toravaig House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Boutique Hotel on The Isle of Skye, set in large garden enjoying fine views over the sea. Nine unique bedrooms - feature beds, Sky TV, telephone, en-suite bathrooms complete with fluffy bath towels and luxury toiletries. Mouthwatering menus created using fresh local produce, seafood, lamb, beef and venison. Intimate candle lit evenings relaxing by the fire in the cozy lounge enjoying fine wines and malt whiskeys. Exclusive sailing trips from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Toravaig House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toravaig House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing