We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent standard - Cottage is ideal for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gairloch View B&B & Holiday Cottages
Ranked #7 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The place is really nice and the cottage was very well furnished and confortable. The view is fantastic and the welcome of Mairie and her husband was very friendly. The cottage is ideal for a family: we were 5, with 3 kids (4, 7 and 11 years old). The breakfast was perfect.This is a place I definitively recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludovic p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed in Anmara for five nights, and could have stayed longer! Mairi (owner) was very helpful and friendly, making sure that we had everything we needed to ensure a great stay, including a local's insight to the must-see sights on Skye. A well-run establishment, and very clean, in a lovely quiet, peaceful country setting. We would definitely stay here again and will certainly recommend it to our friends! Thanks for your hospitality Mairi!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Highland-Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Mairi is lovely. We really enjoyed staying there for two days. The view and the breakfast were fab! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The owners were wonderful. The cottages are self catering and duplex style which worked perfectly for our family. You feel immersed into the culture. There are sheep in the yard, sea views, and the comforts of home. The electric sheet warmers were an added luxury. You are a close drive to Portree to eat and shop but also easy access to touring the loop around the island. Not located in the hustle and bustle, very quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed in Anmara cottage for 5 nights 24th to 29th of october 2011. This is lovely it is advertised as a appartment , it is more than this has good sized rooms spotlessly clean storage heating which keep the place warm and cozy at all times. If it is total tranquility you want then this is it very remote,although the town of staffin has all that your basic need with a small mace shop and coffee shops and cafes. Portree is a delightful drive about 16 miles on the most delightful scenic road. Lots of walks nearby if that is what you like, also lots of beaches and places to stop off at. Mairi who runs the b and b and cottages is approachable friendly and there for advice or a chat. We came here 8 years ago why did we leave it so long to come back? will go again just to unwind and recharge the batteries. Shame we can only give this 5 stars deserves more!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Gairloch view Holiday Cottage is the ideal place for discovering the Isle of Skye and Trotternish. You can make beautiful tours in the hills of Trotternish. From the window you have a great view over Gairloch. There is access to a beach with many stones, pebbles, and fossils, a perfect playground for children.
The holiday cottage is very clean and nicely furnished. Best of all is the excellent service und support by Mrs MacDonald.

T.Schmidt (Germany)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I stayed there on 12th July ( 1 night). They offer accomodation at their house on bed and breakfast basis or at two cottages which are self catered .We chose the cottage in order to have more freedom and to prepare the meals for the children. We had a very nice surprise. The cottage is modern, very well decorated and fully equipped ( the kitchen has everything you need, includding coffee, milk, etc). We had some doubts before going there because we thought the place was very remote . Nonetheless, the road was new and it is next to all places which are worthseeing in Skye (The Old Man of Storr, Kilt Rock Waterfall and ,of course ,Staffin Bay. The cottage is next to the sea although it hasn't seaviews so if you want them you could stay at the house which has wonderful views. Mairi, the landlady, is really helpful and nice as I could imagine through our e-mails.
I had stayed there two nights more but they didn't have availability.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliamaria00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
1.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
406 reviews
15.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,084 reviews
12.3 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Achtalean
Achtalean
#5 of 12 in Staffin
103 reviews
15.9 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#12 of 95 in Portree
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch View B&B & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch View B&B & Holiday Cottages

Address: 3 Digg, Staffin IV51 9LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range: £130 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gairloch View B&B & Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch View B&B & Holiday Cottages Staffin, Isle Of Skye, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing