We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hallaig Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The Hallaig was amazing, such a beautiful house with amazing views and Betty is such a lovely host. The silence was wonderful and we can't wait to return.
The beds are really comfy and the whole house is really clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrchuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Hallaig Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

nice room, very quiet, scottish breakfast with salmon
a wonderful landscape in this northern part of Skye, Marishadder is at 5 km from the village of Staffin, Betty Campbell is a perfect host and this place is a perfect for a couple of days

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After having driven nearly 7 hours through rampant wind and rain it was a relief to check in at such a great B&B. Travelling with my fiancée and my folks we received a warm greeting from Betty. Big flowering lilies made the hallway smell great and being led up to the rooms I was impressed by the level of cleanliness. The beds are great as is the rest of the room. Breakfast was a treat and both Betty and her husband were excellent hosts.
I was especially impressed by the location as well as the value of the rooms as they were significantly cheaper than many of the other places I have stayed in Scotland.
If you are thinking about visiting Skye I would definitely recommend staying at Hallaig Guest House whilst in Staffin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaffaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here in May while on a 2 week road trip through the British Isles. Of this time, Hallaig was by far the best accommodations. The bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The room was beautifully decorated with breathtaking views. The beds - we have never slept on more comfortable beds probably in our lives. Such a delicious night's sleep. The area is secluded and peaceful. The only sounds at night were a nearby stream and a few sheep baa-ing.
Betty was the perfect hostess. We arrived late and were hungry and she created the most fantastic dinner ever. We are still craving the turnip soup and sticky toffee pudding.
Everything was phenomenal. I would recommend Hallaig to everyone planning a trip to Skye.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiniki82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked a family room for 3 adults and we were told up front that it was a bit small. We decided to take it anyways and it was alright for 3.However, it was nice that she told us when we booked it.
The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was great and one evening we had dinner as advertised on the homepage. It was delicious but I think it was a bit overpriced.
The B&B is remotely situated on a single track road and it takes about 5 mintues to get to Staffin.
The landscape is stunning and from the breakfast room you'll have an excellent view to the Quiraing Mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-ch-ulia_Kroepfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We only had one night to stay in Skye and we did a lot of research trying to find somewhere that would allow us to spend much of the day driving around Skye and seeing as much of it as possible. We had read and had recommended from others in Scotland that the north of Skye was the most beautiful and so we decided to stay in Staffin overnight. We found Hallaig Guest House recommended and very glad we stayed here. The property is remote and warm and cosy – just what we wanted on what was a beautiful blue sky day but still very cold! Staffin is a beautiful part of the world and Hallaig fits in perfectly. The owners are wonderful and friendly people and the accommodation is spacious, meticulously clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the accommodation that night and it was lovely. Breakfast the next morning was also great. I would definitely recommend Staffin and Hallaig Guest House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the end of May on a cycling trip to the Hebrides. It was an excellent experience. We were made very welcome. The room, and the house as a whole, was comfortable and very pleasant. We enjoyed learning a bit more about the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
12.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,069 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
401 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
10.6 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
458 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallaig Guest House

Address: 7 Marishadder, Staffin IV51 9JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hallaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallaig Guest House Staffin, Isle Of Skye, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing