We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place on Skye” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallaig Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hallaig Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place on Skye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

There is no better word for it: the place is perfect. Very nice and quiet with fantastic views, clean and comfortable rooms, fantastic breakfast, and extremely friendly hosts Hallaig is exactly what I expected. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Skye. Don't hesitate to ask for advice on how to spend your time either!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wol293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
75
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The Hallaig was amazing, such a beautiful house with amazing views and Betty is such a lovely host. The silence was wonderful and we can't wait to return.
The beds are really comfy and the whole house is really clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrchuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorsele, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

nice room, very quiet, scottish breakfast with salmon
a wonderful landscape in this northern part of Skye, Marishadder is at 5 km from the village of Staffin, Betty Campbell is a perfect host and this place is a perfect for a couple of days

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

After having driven nearly 7 hours through rampant wind and rain it was a relief to check in at such a great B&B. Travelling with my fiancée and my folks we received a warm greeting from Betty. Big flowering lilies made the hallway smell great and being led up to the rooms I was impressed by the level of cleanliness. The beds are great as is the rest of the room. Breakfast was a treat and both Betty and her husband were excellent hosts.
I was especially impressed by the location as well as the value of the rooms as they were significantly cheaper than many of the other places I have stayed in Scotland.
If you are thinking about visiting Skye I would definitely recommend staying at Hallaig Guest House whilst in Staffin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaffaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here in May while on a 2 week road trip through the British Isles. Of this time, Hallaig was by far the best accommodations. The bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The room was beautifully decorated with breathtaking views. The beds - we have never slept on more comfortable beds probably in our lives. Such a delicious night's sleep. The area is secluded and peaceful. The only sounds at night were a nearby stream and a few sheep baa-ing.
Betty was the perfect hostess. We arrived late and were hungry and she created the most fantastic dinner ever. We are still craving the turnip soup and sticky toffee pudding.
Everything was phenomenal. I would recommend Hallaig to everyone planning a trip to Skye.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiniki82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked a family room for 3 adults and we were told up front that it was a bit small. We decided to take it anyways and it was alright for 3.However, it was nice that she told us when we booked it.
The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was great and one evening we had dinner as advertised on the homepage. It was delicious but I think it was a bit overpriced.
The B&B is remotely situated on a single track road and it takes about 5 mintues to get to Staffin.
The landscape is stunning and from the breakfast room you'll have an excellent view to the Quiraing Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-ch-ulia_Kroepfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We only had one night to stay in Skye and we did a lot of research trying to find somewhere that would allow us to spend much of the day driving around Skye and seeing as much of it as possible. We had read and had recommended from others in Scotland that the north of Skye was the most beautiful and so we decided to stay in Staffin overnight. We found Hallaig Guest House recommended and very glad we stayed here. The property is remote and warm and cosy – just what we wanted on what was a beautiful blue sky day but still very cold! Staffin is a beautiful part of the world and Hallaig fits in perfectly. The owners are wonderful and friendly people and the accommodation is spacious, meticulously clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the accommodation that night and it was lovely. Breakfast the next morning was also great. I would definitely recommend Staffin and Hallaig Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
11.1 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
1.5 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallaig Guest House

Property: Hallaig Guest House
Address: 7 Marishadder, Staffin IV51 9JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hallaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallaig Guest House Staffin, Isle Of Skye, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing