We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hallaig Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Remote and Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It took us a while to find the beautiful house in the middle of the meadows, but once we had arrived, we were so sad we had to leave the next day.
The house is situated in between fields, remote from everywhere, magnificent views, quiet, warm, clean and tidy.
Betti and her husband were so nice, helped us with everything we needed. We had dinner there- Betty is an amazing cook, and breakfast was delicious and generous.
If you like to peace and quiet, and somewhere a bit different (in a good way)- this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneGilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
78
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Some of our staff stayed here two weeks ago while working in the area and gave a glowing report for the welcome, the accommodation and the food provided. They were so impressed that we re-booked this week for another few members of staff working in the area. The ladies also advised that they loved the guest house and the food was amazing. Betty your "home made" shortbread is to die for and the ladies spoke highly of your "home made" scones, sadly they never brought me a sample but I will take their word for it as they know good food when they see it. Thanks again and if we are working in the area again, I suspect they will be fighting to get there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I can highly recommend this B&B, the facilities are tidy and clean, we are really enjoying our stay here.
Unfortunately the weather wasn't great on our trip here, and most of the restaurants and places in Staffin we're still closed because we we're to early in season however the B&B offers a lovely dinner menu aswell, because we went looking for an Restaurant in town we were actually late for dinner here but that wasn't a problem for the lovely welcoming owners. All three of us had the Roast Lamb and it was delicious. Compliments to Bettie! Looking forward to the breakfast in a minute :)

Sebastiaan

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastiaan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a great stay at Hallaig we had 3 rooms and all of them was really nicely decorated, very clean and spacious, breakfast in the mornings was delicious and plentyfull, for the cold evenings there was a nice cosy wood burner. the house is in close proximity of some of the must sees on the isle. Betty was a great Host. And would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lappies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just got back from our holiday in Skye this week and I and my wife stayed again in Betty's place for 2 days. Apart from the extremely and extraordinary warm and sunny weekend in Isle of Skye in October, Betty just let us felt her hospitality and welcome one more time. We stayed in the same room as 3 years ago and everything was maintained in exactly the same good condition and standard. The only thing we are missing is when we can visit Staffin the third time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENLEIZHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our first trip to Scotland and Hallaig House was our first B&B in Scotland. We were a bit trepidatious, because we usually stay in boutique hotels. I shouldn't have worried, Hallaig House set our standards so high for the rest of the trip. First of all, the room and bathroom were spotless. The bed was new and very comfortable. There was lots of reading material, wi-fi worked beautifully (in such a remote spot!). The layout is very nice, there are 3 bedrooms upstairs, with a shared sitting area, which includes an honor bar, with chips and snacks, a comfy couch and chairs. Working skylights let in lots of light and air, breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. I couldn't believe the quality we were getting. We decided to stay an extra night because we couldn't tear ourselves away!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaEBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

There is no better word for it: the place is perfect. Very nice and quiet with fantastic views, clean and comfortable rooms, fantastic breakfast, and extremely friendly hosts Hallaig is exactly what I expected. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Skye. Don't hesitate to ask for advice on how to spend your time either!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wol293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
5.2 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
360 reviews
34.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
12.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
10.6 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
428 reviews
33.8 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallaig Guest House

Property: Hallaig Guest House
Address: 7 Marishadder, Staffin IV51 9JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hallaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallaig Guest House Staffin, Isle Of Skye, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing