We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Skye Croft House B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staffin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular Skye Croft House B&B!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We (my 21 year old daughter and I) enthusiastically recommend this wonderful Bed and Breakfast! We spent three nights in An Cnoc, Dianne's beautiful croft house in the midst of green and golden sheep fields near Staffin on the Isle of Skye!

Our room was lovely, with careful attention to details both in the upkeep of the house as well as the amenities provided. The room and house in general were very clean, and our room was diligently serviced and refreshed every day while we were out roaming the gorgeous countryside of Skye. It was extraordinarily easy to understand the usual Bed and Breakfast logistics (breakfast order and time, wifi code, etc.) due to Dianne's streamlined introduction upon our arrival. Dianne was very personable and humorous, and we enjoyed our daily morning conversations about local sites and attractions over breakfast. (We went on two hikes during our stay, for which Dianne, as a lifelong resident of Skye, had useful and applicable advice.) Speaking of breakfast, it was fantastic, with a plethora of selections to make both a vegetarian and a plain-foods eater deliriously happy.

The location is excellent, on the Trotternish Peninsula of Skye, close to some of the best scenery on the Island, including the Quiraing (majestic Lord-of-the-Rings-esque hills with awesome rock formations), the Old Man of Storr (165 foot tall monolith), Kilt Rock, and sweeping coastline.

Be sure to check out the hiking books in the entry foyer; the 40 Walks on Skye offers an array of spectacular hikes in the fantastic Isle of Skye!

We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you Dianne!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Spotless and charming B&B. Our kids loved the surrounding sheeps and peacefulness of the place. It is indeed a bit remote but actually turned out to be a blessing in disguise as we otherwise would probably have missed the outstanding Staffin Bay. The whole family is very friendly and really make syou feel at home. The porridge was voted best ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in An Cnoc B&B for two nights with my girlfriend and it was a great experience. I can confirm all other reviews - the rooms are very clean, the location is picturesque (surrounded by fields and sheep) and the breakfasts are delicious. The B&B is in the north of the island and we were worried at the beginning that it may be far from some sites, but actually it's a great base to explore the beautiful Trotternish region. The hosts have a variety of travel guides that can help you to plan your trips and get the most from the island. The breakfast was delicious - you can choose from variety of hot meals and there are also fresh fruits and a lot of other food. The en suite bathroom was very clean. The hosts were very nice and helpful. We had unforgettable vacation there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyKlaudyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A lovely B&B immaculately clean. Dianne was a great host and welcomed us into her lovely home. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Out trip was marred with car trouble and the weather wasn't great but all that was forgotten after a great nights rest in the lovely surroundings. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Once you meet Dianne you relax and feel welcomed into her lovely hebridean home.
Nothing is too much of a problem to meet the needs of her guests, in our case the use of a refrigerator was greatly valued.We regret our stay was short,we will look for an opportunity to return on another occasion.
As a native of Skye she can give first hand advise on what to do on Skye and where to eat out.

The rooms are bright and tastefully decorated.
Location is rural and so very peaceful.
I have no hesitation to recommend this special B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: There is a downstairs bedroom if you you have problems with a stair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hebrideanparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This B&B is about 1/2hr from Portree. It is secluded, remote and very quiet. It is really picturesque, fields abound with sheep. Dianne is lovely, she is incredibly helpful - she is a fantastic host. The breakfast is incredible - our son ate a huge bowel of porridge each morning claiming it was the best he'd ever eaten. Dianne provides a menu for her breakfast, everything from fruits and yogurt to a full, cooked breakfast. The whole house is spotless; the towels are fluffed to perfection.

We had our own bathroom which was clean and modern. But, it would have been nice to have a shower as opposed to a bath with wand. We were in Room 3 whereas the other rooms(1&2) are ensuite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights, in a bright quiet romantic room. The B&B was super clean, comfy, and Dianne is incredibly nice. She gave us a lot of advice on what we should get to see on the island, and I must say that breakfast was generous and tasty. The B&B's location is great, between mountains and sea, so landscapes are beautiful. I really recommend it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3, which is large, and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
5.4 mi away
Uig Hotel
Uig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uig
424 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,036 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallaig Guest House
Hallaig Guest House
#4 of 12 in Staffin
167 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 92 in Portree
230 reviews
20.3 mi away
Skyewalker Independent Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast

Property: An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Maligar, Staffin IV51 9JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the small scenic crofting community of Staffin, An Cnoc Bed And Breakfast offers the perfect location for you to explore the breathtaking scenery the Isle Of Skye has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you into our home and hope to make your visit to our beautiful island one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast Staffin, Isle Of Skye, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing