We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The house is perfect, the hosts… they are even better.”
Review of Culnacreag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treaslane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culnacreag B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Treaslane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Culnacreag is situated in a quiet place on the shores of picturesque lake just at 5min drive distance from spirited Portree. All the windows which occupy the entire space from floor to ceiling are overlooking the water surface. Spacious, nice furnished chamber, comfortable bed, heated floor in the room and in the bathroom as well, well-functioning equipment – this is perfect value for money we have ever experienced.
The hosts, Neal and Mary, made our stay unforgettable. Perfect housekeeping, good breakfast (you should try omelet with smoked salmon) with interesting variety of tea, fresh milk and wonderful homemade cookies for room’s tea station.
They really eager to deliver you maximum comfort.

Room Tip: They are rather the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yuriy_Dudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Mary and Neil were very kind, accomodating and helpful! Their home is beautiful with views to match. Mary is a wonderful cook and baker and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning. Also a wonderful waterfront location, only about a 15 minute drive from Portree. Will recommend to all of our friends!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Mary and Neil are great hosts. Very warm and friendly atmosphere. We had a very clean, spacious and comfortable room with floor to ceiling window with a fabulous view of the loch and mountains. Great breakfast, lots of parking.

Room Tip: Bright, spacious room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy5804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Mary and Neil have an incredible B&B on the Isle of Skye and I highly recommend staying here for many reasons. The location is great! Portree is only about 12 minutes away which is a great place to eat and get any travel necessities. All of the great sites of Skye are within 45 minutes or less from this B&B making it a great place if you are into the sites.

The view from the room is breathtaking and the property is very peaceful. The room is clean and very comfortable. The breakfast had so much variety and was so filling that it was a joy to get up in the morning and it was needed energy for all of the hiking! Mary and Neil were great hosts, they were very friendly and offered advice and help whenever needed. We had a hard time leaving. We have stayed in B&Bs before in our travels, but this stay was best we have ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank armstrong30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had the most delightful stay in this relatively new home. Our room, with full floor to ceiling windows and door looked out over the loch, farm (chooks and horses to watch) and countryside - an amazing view - we could have happily sat and enjoyed it all day. The room was lovely and clean with wooden floors and a very comfortable bed. Mary and Neil were friendly, warm and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They took an interest in our activities while on Skye and made helpful suggestions when asked. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would very highly recommend Culnacreag.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Culnacreag for two nights in May and absolutely loved our stay there!

The B&B is a few miles outside of Portree but an easy ten minutes drive gets you there for dinner etc. Also, the location is very nice to explore the islands nooks and crannies.

Our room (the one with the "normal" king-size bed) was bright, beautifully furnished and had great views across the neighbouring Loch. The bed was super comfy, the en-suite bathroom very good.

For breakfast Mary served a whole lot of yummie things together with all sorts of interesting information on Skye and tipps where to go and what to see during our stay.

If we ever return to Skye we will definitely make sure to stay there again. If you are looking for the perfect place for your trip: search no further - stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Culnacraeg is a wonderful B&B in the village of Treaslane, just a short drive from Portree. The view from our rooms was expansive and beautiful, and our hostess, Mary, was very accommodating and kind! She gave us wonderful tips for sights to see on Skye. The house is very warm, modern, and light, and Mary's sense of interior design is superb. The superking room was very large, and we were very comfortable. Home-cooked breakfast was served with a smile.

When we come back to Skye, we are definitely staying here again and recommending all of our friends to do the same! Neil and Mary have a very nice B&B, and it is one of the best on the isle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treaslane
7.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 98 in Portree
249 reviews
9.2 mi away
Canowindra B&B
Canowindra B&B
#6 of 98 in Portree
141 reviews
13.6 mi away
Brae View B&B
Brae View B&B
#2 of 5 in Glendale
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Culnacreag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culnacreag B&B

Address: Treaslane | By Portree, Treaslane IV51 9NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Treaslane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Treaslane
Price Range: £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for exploring the island. Peace and tranquility with amazing views from both rooms. Watch local wildlife from the comfort of your bedroom. Enjoy Scottish hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culnacreag B&B Isle Of Skye/Treaslane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing