We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakur bar and pier restaurant”
Review of Pier Restaurant

Pier Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 6 Restaurants in Uig
Price range: US$7 - US$49
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant with outstanding views accross Loch Snizort and Uig Bay where the Western Isles Ferry docks. Serving meals all day throughout the season with local seafood and traditional Scottish cuisine. The Bakur Bar is attached to the restaurant and serves real cask ales from the local brewery as well as a fantastic selection of up to 100 of the finest Scottish Malt Whisky's. Whether its a just a fresh ground coffee whilst waiting for the ferry or a full evening meal the pier restaurant and Bakur Bar is the place to visit.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stopped off for a bite to eat whilst touring the north of Skye, this was the only place we could find open so we didn't have much option. From the outside the building looked rather shabby and not particularly inviting. The staff were friendly and helpful, the menu was limited and somewhat expensive - £9.50 for macaroni cheese. Children's menu also limited however the waitress kindly arranged for a child size portion of an adult meal. Food was average and limited drinks available. There was a lot of tables and it was busy however not much space between tables so you felt rather cramped, bit of a problem when you are 6'3".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 154louisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stopped there during my trip to Skye looking forward to trying a great fish&chips directly brought from the sea to the table... and I only got an average quality one... Probably it wasn't the restaurant fault but my expectations were quite high. Anyway, nice terrace if the sun is up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alzanfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakurbar, Owner at Pier Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you felt the fish and chips off our bar menu was only average. As many reviews on this site will testify, the quality of our food invariably exceeds this level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the nearby holiday cottage and ate here every night for a week. Each night we had excellent food, very friendly service and probably the most incredible array of Scottish malts to have a go with!
If you want some great food after a long days walking / climbing with good beer and a few drams, this is the place for you!!
Thank you to the staff and the local guys that made us so welcome over the week!!

1  Thank Grumbleweeduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakurbar, Owner at Pier Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience and ver much enjoyed discussing malt whisky with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A tasty and well presented haggis dish outshone the surroundings of the Pier Restaurant on a wet October evening. Maybe on a nice day with the sun shining on the sea things would have looked different, but in the dark, with the rain lashing on the windows, the place felt bleak. I asked for a sherry, and none was available, and my husband would have liked some mango chutney with his chicken balti, which was not available either. On the plus side - the food was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LiverpoolVal_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakurbar, Owner at Pier Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

thank you for your review. I am surprised and disappointed that we had no sherry the day you were in, as its not exactly an unusual drink and something that we should always have a back stock of. I suspect that the bar person didn't see it. I do apologies for this.
With regard to the surroundings I feel that while we are doing a small face lift this year, we all get that bleak feeling in Skye when the wind is howling and the sky's are grey. Almost half our restaurant are is glassed and as such the atmosphere outside does indeed make a huge difference to the inside.
I am delighted however to hear that you enjoyed your meal, as this is, and always shall be, our top priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Excellent service and food with great view of the bay. Local Ale from the Skye Brewery just over the road, they have 6 ales I think and the pub serve 2 at a time and change them. Pool table in the bar area and just a minute walk from the campsite, what more could we want.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakurbar, Owner at Pier Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us in Uig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier Restaurant also viewed

 
Culnacnoc, Isle of Skye
Kilmaluag, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing