We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELCOMING & BRILLIANT”
Review of Uig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Uig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel was recently taken over, we were made so welcome. Stunning views, overlooking the harbour of Uig, if you want scenery, a quiet and tranquil place to stay.....then this is a must. Comfortable bedroom, wonderful atmosphere in the bar, and the food was amazing.

Room Tip: Loch view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were charmed by the friendly owners who made us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend this Hotel, rooms in the Lodge were spacious and had wonderful views. The shower was very weak but the new owners mentioned they are looking into some changes to the bathrooms, however the bathroom was a generous size and very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge not sure what the rooms in the Hotel were like, but were found the Lodge exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Room was nice and spacious, bathroom was a little odd due to shape but functional. Nice view of the sea from room. Owners were very welcoming, main positive for us was the amazing dinner (best steak, I think I have ever had), and breakfast. Apparently a new chef and we would recommend eating here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tourers_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel has been taken over by new owners at the start of August. We could not fault their very genuine and welcoming service. The chef is also reasonably new and the food was excellent with a varied menu and plenty of local produce bring used. The owners have added bar food and teas/ coffees to the hotels offer too which previously it did not do. It is true that the hotel itself is dated and in time will benefit from re decoration, but to be honest this didn't detract from our experience at all, good food, great bar atmosphere, exceptionally clean rooms and good service was more than enough. We would recommend the hotel on this basis and wish the new owners every success- they deserve it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juliebrummitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Staff were great, very friendly, welcoming and obliging. Food was good. Rooms dated and in urgent need of refurb (avocado bathroomsuite/tiles) but were clean. Beds OK but not the comfiest ever. Great view from the window of the first floor lodge we were staying in. It is in the middle of nowhere but we didn't mind that - most of the Isle of Skye is in the middle of nowhere and surely that is the point of going there in the first place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennie-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We learned that booking a hotel in Portree does not mean your in Portree, but 40 minutes away in the middle of nowhere. Main building was nice, our rooms however were behind in a bates Motel looking building, same furnishings as 30 years ago, although it looked clean. We would not recommend it nor return. We wish the new owners well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ccampbell622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The owners have only recently taken over the hotel I found the to be very friendly and welcoming. I spent 3 nights at the hotel and wound definitely stay again. The food and the service are excellent and I would highly recommend the hotel which is also pet friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RodgerLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uig
13.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,098 reviews
36.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
6.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
29.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uig Hotel

Address: High Street | Uig, Uig IV51 9YE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Uig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Price Range: £75 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uig Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Uig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uig Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing