We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey Room for a 3 Star but excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Uig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Uig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Certificate of Excellence
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey Room for a 3 Star but excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice clean room, newly carpeted, food & Drink was excellent and very reasonably priced served in a pleasant environment. We had room 8 which was a family room and there was a noisy industrial extractor fan over the Kitchen but it stopped after the dinner service was finished (11pm) but may not be suitable for children's bedtime. Not sure if I would pay £130 per night for a 3 star hotel room though? When questioned on this point the owners stated "it was the going rate for the area" in the May - September season and looking round at other hotels they are probably right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2dognight_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    120
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
184
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful view, friendly & informative owners. Food was great and the poached eggs were out of this world. Owners were fairly new (August 2013), but were quite knowledgeable of the area, their sons (mid-teens) chatted a bit with us too. Rooms clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for what I'm sure felt like a long time and I have to say the welcome, flexibility and service with a smile was second to none. The room (room 33) was spacious with a great view and it was handily placed for our work. The food was cooked excellently by a fantastically enthusiastic chef. I would come for the pork in cider alone! The waitresses are attentive and informative - Cambodia is a fantastic place to visit! Overall, should we ever have to work in Uig again, this would be our first (and possibly only...!) choice. Superb.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jw_itfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Oh you have to stay here. Don't stay anywhere else in Uig. It's amazing. Barry and all the staff are so nice, and friendly and funny. It's such a good atmosphere, and the rooms are lovely. Now to the food: if you needed another reason to stay, the food is amazing. some of the best seafood and dishes like venison and steak I have ever eaten.
The views are also some of the best I remember. The bar is excellent and the open fire is a real treat.

Room Tip: Loved staying in the Lodge, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danbuoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked the Uig hotel to escape from the stresses of everyday life for a few days and this is exactly what we got. Billy, Anne and their staff could not have been more helpful when it came to asking for ideas on walks to take the dog and places to visit. The food was outstanding and totally unexpected as it was to a standard that i would expect in a top 5* hotel and i would strongly recommend the scallops to start followed by a steak.
The staff at the Uig were very aware that i am into my photography and informed me that there was a chance i could get to see the northern lights. This in my mind would be too good to be true but they were right and it topped off an absolutely lovely weekend away. Thanks again guys :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge which was great as we had a dog with us but it was a little noisy as the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weedsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Loved everything here. Spacious,comfortable room. Welcoming bar area. Great sightseeing advice. Interesting,tasty food. Lovely hosts. Got a good night sleep -wish we could have stayed longer.

The hosts gave us great travel tips on other hotels to stay at that proved spot on. It had a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere, just what the weary traveller needs. Good rates for excellent accommodation, food and service. One of my new favourite places . Can't fault - a real highlight to the Isle of Skye.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryannePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here on our way to Harris, we were made very welcome on arrival and right through our stay.
The dog friendly room was perfect and everthing was brand new and very fresh.
We ate in the restaurant and must say the evening meal and breakfast
was lovely, our wee dog was made so welcome and we had an enjoyable evening at the bar with wee pooch sitting beside us.
We will be back here without doubt and the owners deserve to expect a long and prosperous future from this wonderfull hotel in a perfect location !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisRamsey1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uig
13.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
36.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
6.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
13.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uig Hotel

Property: Uig Hotel
Address: High Street | Uig, Uig IV51 9YE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Uig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Uig Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uig Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing