We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely welcome”
Review of Uig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Uig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly but in no way obtrusive. The hotel is spotlessly clean and does great food. Every meal we had was really enjoyable including the breakfast. There is everything you need and Billy and Anne go out of their way to make sure you are happy, . The staff are observant and friendly and at breakfast were constantly checking if we needed more warm toast and were totally amenable when I asked if I could change the contents of my breakfast. We have been in many 5 star hotels where staff are not as pleasant as they are here. They gave us some hints on where to go and asked about our day. We found the owners and staff at this hotel to be one of the things that would make us recommend this hotel. The owners only took over the hotel in August and it appears to us that they have chosen extremely well in the staff they have, they are improving and refurbishing the hotel and we had a lovely room (room 12) overlooking the bay, the view is amazing and the room was clean and well furnished albeit in an older style. The bathroom door is sliding and doesn't quite shut properly but I would be nitpicking to say that was a big problem. The location is wonderful with a great view.

Room Tip: A room at the front is well worth trying to get for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice clean room, newly carpeted, food & Drink was excellent and very reasonably priced served in a pleasant environment. We had room 8 which was a family room and there was a noisy industrial extractor fan over the Kitchen but it stopped after the dinner service was finished (11pm) but may not be suitable for children's bedtime. Not sure if I would pay £130 per night for a 3 star hotel room though? When questioned on this point the owners stated "it was the going rate for the area" in the May - September season and looking round at other hotels they are probably right.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2dognight_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beautiful view, friendly & informative owners. Food was great and the poached eggs were out of this world. Owners were fairly new (August 2013), but were quite knowledgeable of the area, their sons (mid-teens) chatted a bit with us too. Rooms clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank FionaHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for what I'm sure felt like a long time and I have to say the welcome, flexibility and service with a smile was second to none. The room (room 33) was spacious with a great view and it was handily placed for our work. The food was cooked excellently by a fantastically enthusiastic chef. I would come for the pork in cider alone! The waitresses are attentive and informative - Cambodia is a fantastic place to visit! Overall, should we ever have to work in Uig again, this would be our first (and possibly only...!) choice. Superb.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jw_itfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Oh you have to stay here. Don't stay anywhere else in Uig. It's amazing. Barry and all the staff are so nice, and friendly and funny. It's such a good atmosphere, and the rooms are lovely. Now to the food: if you needed another reason to stay, the food is amazing. some of the best seafood and dishes like venison and steak I have ever eaten.
The views are also some of the best I remember. The bar is excellent and the open fire is a real treat.

Room Tip: Loved staying in the Lodge, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danbuoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked the Uig hotel to escape from the stresses of everyday life for a few days and this is exactly what we got. Billy, Anne and their staff could not have been more helpful when it came to asking for ideas on walks to take the dog and places to visit. The food was outstanding and totally unexpected as it was to a standard that i would expect in a top 5* hotel and i would strongly recommend the scallops to start followed by a steak.
The staff at the Uig were very aware that i am into my photography and informed me that there was a chance i could get to see the northern lights. This in my mind would be too good to be true but they were right and it topped off an absolutely lovely weekend away. Thanks again guys :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge which was great as we had a dog with us but it was a little noisy as the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weedsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Loved everything here. Spacious,comfortable room. Welcoming bar area. Great sightseeing advice. Interesting,tasty food. Lovely hosts. Got a good night sleep -wish we could have stayed longer.

The hosts gave us great travel tips on other hotels to stay at that proved spot on. It had a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere, just what the weary traveller needs. Good rates for excellent accommodation, food and service. One of my new favourite places . Can't fault - a real highlight to the Isle of Skye.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MaryannePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uig
13.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
36.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
13.1 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
411 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
208 reviews
37.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uig Hotel

Address: High Street | Uig, Uig IV51 9YE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Uig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Price Range: £67 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uig Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Uig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uig Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing