We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot. Great staff and brilliant food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Uig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Uig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely spot. Great staff and brilliant food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in the family room, with our daughter. The room was a good size, with a proper third bed and plenty of space. The bathroom was a little tired and sliding door doesn't work too well. With window open, curtains do not cover window and ventilation poor. However these are minor niggles. The welcome at check in was great. Nice selection of drinks in bar with a great glass lounge area to watch view in before dinner. Unfortunately we had appalling weather and the view was not good! Really nice dinner in comfortable dining room. I had scallops with black pudding and horseradish sauce and they were fresh, succulent and lovely! We all had the catch of the day and chips. The chips were fabulous and fish fresh and lovely light batter. Oddly served with a salad and no veg. Nice breakfast too, freshly cooked with nice proper toasted bread.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    120
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
184
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. Room was OK even though it was facing the bay. The restaurant was very good. We ended up sitting outside and eating and enjoying the view. A bit pricey for the facilities. Not much to do in Uig.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Uig Hotel on June 19th and we were so pleased at the hotel and the restaurant. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bed was big, comfy and had a nice comforter which felt great in the sea air. Our room overlooked the sea and the ferry port. The staff was friendly and helpful. We wanted to know how to find the Fairy Glen and the desk clerk told us right how to get there. The dinner was delicious so we returned on our trip back home and had lunch there. The seafood chowder was delicious! There was free wi-fi available in the bar area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie_Ramthun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent service all staff especially the manager made our stay pleasurable. The room was spacious, the bed a little lumpy but the view from our room and the service including meals made up for that in spades will stay there next time we visit Skye.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pstevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for one night and look forward to returning. This is an excellent place to stay, the owners and staff are all really friendly and helpful. The food is of a very good standard with generous portions. The view from the front of the hotel looking out to sea over the bay is stunning.
Our room was spotless, it looked like it had been refurbished recently. The bed was very comfortable and the shower nice and powerful with no shortage of hot water. I wish we could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hebally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been so Skye several times and have stayed at the two top rated hotels. We wanted to explore the "other" side of the island when we took our grand daughter to Scotland for a graduation gift and picked the Uig Hotel at random. What a lucky find, The room was great. The restaurant and bar downstairs had great drink and good food. There was no need to look for other restaurants. I will never go to sky again without staying at this hotel. (They even packed breakfast for us because we caught the early ferry.)

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdsfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I recently took the kids on a three-week vacation that began in Rome and then went from Oxford, through Avebury, Liverpool, the Scottish Highlands and then all the way up to the Isle of Skye.

We had never been to the Isle of Skye (although many family members had raved about the beautiful scenery and brilliant landscapes). Our challenge was finding the right area to stay overnight.

Our travel agent recommended the UIG Hotel (in the town of UIG) which is about a half hour North of Portree. Man, did she ever nail this recommendation! We couldn't have asked to stay in a more perfect location. The town of UIG is picturesque with beautiful scenery and sweeping vistas of the closed bay. The UIG Hotel sits perfectly at the top of a hill overlooking the whole town and the sheltered bay below.

The couple that own the UIG Hotel are perfect. Very hospitable and welcoming. After a long day driving up from Liverpool and then exploring the whole Western side of Skye, arriving at the UIG Hotel and getting treating so warmly by the owners was the perfect end to our day.

We were given lodgings in one of the Cottages which is separate from the main Hotel (just around back at the far side of the car park). The space in the Cottages is perfect for a family of four, with seprate rooms for Mum & Dad and the Kids. After dropping our bags in the Cottage, we headed back down to the Main Hotel for supper.

We first started off in the Hotel Bar. Treating myself to a wee dram of Whiskey and some delicious lager that the owner recommended to us. The fireplace in the bar area was absolutely lovely, especially after spending most of the day out at Neist Point getting chilled by the winds coming in off the North Atlantic. The owner informed us of The Fairy Glen. An amazing miniture landscape. The access road to The Fairy Glen was only 100 feet down the road as well. Afterwards we had supper in the main dining room. The food was tremendous! My wife was especially pleased to find vegetarian haggis on the menu (which was absolutely lovely when I tried some). We also returned to the dining room in the morning for breakfast and were treated to another spendid meal.

Our only regret was that we only booked one night at the UIG Hotel! The Isle of Skye proved to be everything and more that we had hoped to discover and the UIG Hotel provided the perfect harmony that we hoped it would convey.

We'll definitely be going back to the Isle of Skye and will certainly spend more than one night at the UIG Hotel when we return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uig
13.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
36.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
6.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
13.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uig Hotel

Property: Uig Hotel
Address: High Street | Uig, Uig IV51 9YE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Uig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Uig Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uig Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing