We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a life time”
Review of Go to St Kilda

Go to St Kilda
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Uig
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visit Scotland 5 Star Day trips to St Kilda from Uig on Isle of Skye. St Kilda is accredited with dual World Heritage status for wildlife and culture - one of only 29 Global sites with this status. St Kilda is home to GB's tallest sea cliffs, tallest sea stacs, one of the largest gannet colonies in Northern Europe and huge puffin colony. Wildlife sightings on our trips have included dolphins, basking sharks, minke whales, orcas and more.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trip of a life time”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Enjoyed the company of Derek and Nichola on a three day camping trip to St Kilda. Everything about the trip was first class, from the booking process, the updates on weather during the week before and the actual trip (apart from the weather!). Derek's boat is well equipped and he makes you feel very safe during an long and at times arduous journey for a land lover like me. The stop offs in Harris and Berneray were very welcome. St Kilda is an utterly amazing place and I feel very privileged to have been there. Thank you Derek for giving the opportunity to a three day trip rather than the usual day trips that the other operators do, I really got to experience the place in a way that will live with me forever.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek G, Public Relations Manager at Go to St Kilda, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Simon B,

Thanks for great review,

So pleased that you enjoyed the 3 day camping trip with us and didn't find the journey out too difficult! Its great that you found the organisation for the trip well put together, sorry we couldn't sort the weather out for you!

Best wishes,

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“100% good, a great day out”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a long day out but really is a great day out and so worth every penny. It is not cheap but I felt I got more than my moneys worth and experienced a very special place. 4 hours out , 4 hours plus there and 4 hours back. Can get a bit rough and travel sickness pills would be advised. The boat is fast but not so big. Can seat 12 and viewing deck can cater for most of the 12. trips can be cancelled because of the weather so having some flexibility would be useful - my trip was postponed by a day. The dingy trip in the bay takes you 3 at a time to a staged stepped area and onto the island. The village, the history, the wildlife, the scenery is all so good to experience The Soay sheep were with lambs when we were there which added to things. The 1 hour tour with the Warden is well worth it (£5). The walk up the Gap to the cliffs gives great inland and cliff views of nesting Fulmar and with a superb view out to Boreray and Stac Lee. Derek has something really good going here and is a pleasure on the ship and comes across as a really good guy who cares about you being safe and having a good time. Andy (of Woodbine Guest House) 'drove' the boat there and back (2 crew in total) and he too is very knowledgeable. The trip around Dun was amazing with the density of bird life including so many puffins. The Gannets at Stac Lee and Boreray were really good to see and the trip around Boreray and Stac Lee shows off the wonderful scenery. The sight of the Boreray sheep (ex Hirta) sheep on the very steep slopes was quite something. Quite sad to see Hirta receding into the distance on the way back. Really felt like an adventure. Good fast safe boat, great crew and a grand day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek G, Public Relations Manager at Go to St Kilda, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Whatbob,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review,

We are very pleased to hear you had a great day with us to St Kilda and found the whole day to be good value for money. Sorry to hear about your sea sickness, but glad it didn't ruin the day for you.

Best wishes,

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Trip”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

HI Derek and team, many thanks for a fantastic day 9th September. It ticked all boxes including the weather. I had wanted to go to St Kilda for years and it swung it timewise that it went from Skye instead of Harris. Would thoroughly recommend. thanks again Sue Healy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek G, Public Relations Manager at Go to St Kilda, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Sue,

Thanks for your review,

So pleased that we could get you out to St Kilda from Skye, and that the timings worked out for you to go.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the trip so much and would recommend it to others.

Best wishes,

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trip to a wonderful place”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

After wanting to go to St. Kilda for a number of years the introduction of Derek's service from Skye, my home, was more than welcome. Derek and Andy were excellent hosts and skippers and made the journey an extremely enjoyable experience. The boat is comfortable and you are made to feel welcome and encouraged to get to know your fellow travelers. Once ashore the time there is your own, though you do have the option to have an hours guided tour. An experience of a lifetime, a wonderful place to visit and made all the better for the care and attention of the staff of 'Go to St. Kilda'. Thank you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek G, Public Relations Manager at Go to St Kilda, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Tim W,

Thanks for your review,

Its great to hear that you had such a great day out with Derek and Andy, and that you enjoyed your time on St Kilda. We're pleased that you felt the journey was pleasent and that the boat was up to spec!

Best wishes,

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A unique and memorable day, not to be missed”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are regular visitors to the Hebrides and have wanted to visit St Kilda for many years but never managed to until this year. Weather and sea conditions mean sailings can never be guaranteed but Derek and the http://www.gotostkilda.co.uk team were so flexible and helpful that we had the best possible chance of getting there and on 5th September we got to take our trip. The state-of-the art Integrity is an amazing vessel and got us there in about 3.5 hours having been picked up from Berneray harbour. Andi and Peter who drove (?) and crewed the boat were great company and full of useful information. Once ashore, we had around 4 hours to explore the cliffs, village museum etc before travelling on to the stacks of the other St Kilda isles then returning - the journey home being much quicker and less choppy than outbound due to tides, waves, wind and other nautical stuff. Our top tips for anyone who'd like to visit St Kilda are 1) book early and have at least a couple of days you can go to give yourself the best chance of getting here in case the weather is mixed and 2) make the effort to climb to the cliff tops as the views are amazing. Can't recommend this trip enough - worth every penny and we will be back for sure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek G, Public Relations Manager at Go to St Kilda, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Scott M,

Thanks so much for your fab review,

So pleased that we managed to get you out to St Kilda after wanting to go for such a long time. We love to stop in to Berneray to pick up guests, its also a nice wee bonus for our other passengers on board too!

Glad you found your crew and Integrity up to spec too.

Best wishes,

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go to St Kilda also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Been to Go to St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing