We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
West Loch Tarbert
Sunset on West Loch Tarbert
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

F0xyminxy
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived from Skye during a power cut. All shops on Skye had been closed, so we had no groceries. There was a lovely welcome tray of biscuits and coffee etc from Dina, however the thought of stretching these for a dinner and breakfast for 6 was somewhat daunting... Dina came to our rescue- she phoned us literally as soon as we walked through the door. Once we told her about the pickle we were in she very kindly rang a local store and asked them to open up for us. Phew! Nothing was too much trouble for her and all communications and directions for our arrival had been excellent prior to that too. This holiday home is absolutely amazing and totally exceeded our high expectations! The kitchen is very well equipped and the standard of cleanliness of the whole house was superb. The shower is powerful and piping hot. The heating wonderful- plenty of radiators for drying damp socks after those wild and windy beautiful beachside walks...Or you can use the tumble dryer... We even used the washing machine, which has the capacity to do a huge load, and returned home with a full backpack of clean clothes- a first for us! Our ages ranged from a 4month old baby, (a cot and all bedding was provided), up to a 78 year old. Everyone was happy and well catered for. There are lots of games, books, and binoculars for watching the eagles soar. A couple of minutes walk down to the waters edge and we were lucky enough to have a visit from two inquisitive seals too. Our 3 year old was constantly amused by the bunny rabbits in our garden and very pleased at the discovery of a bucket and spade and fishing net too. These little things gave a magic touch to our holiday. Cannot find anything negative to say. Every small detail has been thought of- from the provision of toiletries, washing-up-liquids, condiments such as salt & pepper, If you book this place you will not be disappointed. Just remember to sleep with your curtains open- that view on opening your eyes is breathtaking. Enjoy!!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMC332014
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable Hebridean cottage in spectacular rural setting”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely, comfortable cottage for our family of 4. Very well-equipped, within easy range of Tarbert. Quite central for Harris/Lewis. Quiet, peaceful setting. Saw eagles most days. Great for walking and wildlife.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Storage heaters - hard to control timing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline C
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in peaceful location with everything you need.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived here for a week not knowing what to expect as it was our first time to the Isle of Harris, was not disappointed. Everything was spotless and had everything we needed and more. The telephone call from the owner when we got there was a nice touch as was the welcome pack. The cottage was like a tardis inside and plenty of room for us all to do our own thing of an evening without getting in each others way. Spent some nice times sat in the porch either reading or watching out over the water. Did enjoy watching a sheep finding his way into the garden in the mornings and going back out again!

Would definitely be back again and hopefully stay longer.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangB...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll come one day...”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We’re travelling Scotland for about twenty years and Glen Carragrich was the best kept cottage we ever had. The house is very comfortable and offers great views over East Loch Tarbert. The free Wi-Fi puts the cherry on the cake.
Dina the owner was always very caring and so was the lady who looks after the house.

The cottage is an ideal starting point for walks in the hills of North Harris. From the southern shores of Scalpay one can watch sea life like seals or submarines :-).
Tarbert with village shops, post office, ferry terminal and Tourist Information Centre is only a few miles away. Don’t miss the Tarbert Stores – it’s really picturesque.

When leaving by ferry from Tarbert we waved a last good-bye to the cottage hoping we’ll come back one day.

Marion & Wolfgang
Berlin, Germany.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Sutton Banbury
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham.
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.