We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Albany Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter B
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very well set up cottage - everything you need and more. Weather was perfect so didn't alas have time to view any of the Scottish themed DVD collection. Highly recommend a meal down at North Harbour Bistro just over the bridge on Scalpay - superb seafood - you need to book. The Eilean Glas lighthouse on Scalpay makes a wonderful evening walk to catch sunset, porpoise and the majestic / decayed architecture. Tarbert has an adequate shop for all needs but beware of Sundays for anything - all museums / tea shops etc will be shut.
Huishinish beach, again of an evening is as remote as it gets. Also recommend the ranger led walks to see eagles and the landscape - check the TI for timings.
This is a great cottage for 2 with an abundance of places to visit and wildlife to view - otters under the Scalpay bridge most evenings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Hi Peter, Thank you very much for a great review. I'm glad to hear you had everything you could need at Albany Cottage. You saw some fantastic wildlife and obviously had many great days out. There's always plenty to see and do in Harris. Do come back soon to Albany Cottage. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William A...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation good location for both Harris andLewis”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Location good for ferry and visiting a lot of lovely beaches.
This has been a wonderful relaxing holiday ,weather variable but has not spoiled the holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Hi William and Anna, Thank you for your excellent review. I'm glad to hear you had such a good holiday in Albany Cottage. It's certainly easy to get about from the cottage, all over Harris and Lewis, from hills and villages to the beaches. Do come back and stay again some time. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgillcar...
Radnage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect luxury accommodation for a couple on the beautiful isle of Harris”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A beautiful cottage offering luxury accommodation for 2, equipped with everything you could wish for and more. A perfection location for exploring beautiful Harris.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Hi Gillian, Thank you so much for a lovely review. It is much appreciated. It's good to hear that you had a perfect stay, and that you had everything you needed in Albany Cottage. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Isle of Harris soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sberding
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful cottage with great equipment”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is absolutely superb and met with all our needs. The contact with the owner was very easy and friendly. There is lots of space inside and outside. My personal favourite was probably the kitchen. Whenever I come back to the Isle of Harris it will be to Albany Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen equiment and utility room
Liked least: nothing really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Hi Susanne, Thank you very much for your excellent review. I'm glad you had a great time at Albany Cottage and enjoyed all the facilities. We tried to think of everything for the kitchen, and it seems to have worked! I hope you will come back and see us again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stormy60
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful luxury cottage not far from Tarbert.”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely stay at Albany cottage. Best self catering we've ever stayed in with everything you could need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Hi Stormy60, Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciated your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed Albany Cottage and that it was the best cottage you have found! That's wonderful. I hope you had a good time on Harris and will want to return soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen is fantastic!!
Liked least: Only one bedroom
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Hi Matt, Thank you very much for your excellent review - we really appreciate your kind comments. I'm glad to hear that the cottage had everything you needed, and more! That's exactly what we aim to provide. As you say, Albany Cottage is well located for exploring the whole of Harris and Lewis, the mountains and the beaches, the attractions and the eateries. I do hope you are able to come back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plankton4...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, amazing place”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is quite exceptional accommodation. I honestly couldn't think of a single detail missed. From the superb fitted kitchen and the quality fixtures to the comfortable bed and lovely bathroom, the whole cottage gave us a feeling of comfort, space and attention to detail.

They didn't seem to be anything that have been missed out we had Sky HD television in the kitchen and the living room, although we never watched anything much. Why would you when you could just watch out the window instead? There were little essentials in the kitchen just so that you could make a drink and settle down when you got there. And as I said previously everything in the kitchen and the kitchen itself with extremely high quality so you want scrabbling about trying to find a pan or a cheese grater. There's even a breadmaker and the next Bresso machine!

Admittedly, we had a week off absolutely glorious weather. Although, I would love to have been in that cosy little cottage with a storm lashing around outside. It's an easy although spectacular drive from Tarbert to the cottage. And really there is no way to articulate the views from anywhere on the island they are all equally spectacular. We Donely been there a couple of days and we already seen a white tailed eagle, several buzzards, a pair of golden eagles, seals and porpoise.

The rest of the island is fabulous; head to Lewis for the history and some of the more stark and in eerie scenery. Head down south for the absolutely breathtaking beaches of South West Harris.

Communication with Martin, the owner, was pleasant and easy and he was very keen to ensure that we had the best time. Which indeed we did. We would probably recommend this cottage to anyone visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the kitchen
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Hi Plankton47, Thank you so much for your positively glowing review of Albany Cottage. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm so glad that you found everything in the cottage to be so excellent. That's exactly what we want for you. As you say, Albany Cottage is in the best position for visiting all the wonderful sights and scenery that Harris and Lewis have to offer, and you certainly made the most of the fine weather. You had some wonderful wildlife sightings too. There's always plenty to see and do in Harris at all times of the year. I hope we shall be able to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing