We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location just what we wanted.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Albany Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris L
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The best appointed cottage we have stayed on the islands. Great location & have recommend to friends and family. Excellent !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Hi Chris, Thank you for a 5 star review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm very pleased to hear you liked Albany Cottage and all its facilities. Thanks for recommending to your friends, and hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Isle of Harris soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinek...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lewis and Harris base”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Albany Cottage is a spotless, spacious, cosy and comfortable cottage in an ideal location for exploring Lewis and Harris. It has history and soul with the addition of a modern extension providing the holidaymaker with all amenities for a stressfree break. There was nothing lacking in the cottage, clearly designed by people who know how to provide self catering essentials- leave the cafetiere at home! Eating in was a doddle using the high class kitchen equipment. The weather allowed us to take advantage of the sitooteries - seats and benches - in the lovely back garden at all times of the day. Communication with the owner is first class and a small problem with a normal component failure was resolved quickly and efficiently. Hot water is plentiful and the bathroom is enormous. We were unable to take advantage of the multifuel burner in the open plan kitchen diner come sitting room due to the good weather, but in colder climes that would be a bonus. The utility room is useful for coats, boots, etc. Booking meals ahead is advised, North Harbour Bistro, Temple Cafe and The Harris Hotel provided our meals out and First Fruits, Herbscape and Skoon Arts were great for snacks. The islands are great for history, beaches, walks and amazing scenery.
All in all a smashing holiday. Thanks to Martin and Chris for their well thought out cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Hi Catherine, Thank you very much for your glowing review. Your kind comments are much appreciated. I'm glad to hear you found everything in the cottage to be just what you needed. We certainly tried to think of everything. You had good weather and had some great outings and some fine dining, by the sound of things. It was lovely to meet you, and I hope you will be able to come back to the island and to Albany Cottage quite soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Hi Stephen, Thank you very much for your glowing review. We really appreciate your kind comments. It's good to hear that you found Albany Cottage to be excellent and had everything you needed. I hope you will come back to Harris soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mallan577
Bearsden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accommodation, perfect place.”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic cottage with all you could need and more. Great location. Good roads to travel all over to see wildlife, beaches, tea rooms, galleries. Relaxing cottage to return to after a long day out exploring and walking. Try the Harris Walkway. 2 days walking from Scaladal to Seilebost - excellent. Bus service needed for this but very efficient.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Hi Moira, Thank you so much for a lovely review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm glad you had everything you needed at Albany Cottage, and you had some great days out walking the island and seeing the sights. As you say, there are plenty of tea rooms - always welcome after a long trek! I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Albany Cottage and the Isle of Harris some time soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
1 review
“Excellant Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Albany Cottage is an excellent well equipped cottage with everything you could ever want. Maps, local guides, books and DVDs. On arrival was a much appreciated welcome tray and lovely cake. There is a well planned seating area outside, this lovely home is in an outstandingly beautiful area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Hi Steve, Thank you very much for your excellent review of Albany Cottage. We really appreciate you kind comments. It's great to hear you had such a good time and found the cottage to have everything you need. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Isle of Harris and Albany Cottage soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very well set up cottage - everything you need and more. Weather was perfect so didn't alas have time to view any of the Scottish themed DVD collection. Highly recommend a meal down at North Harbour Bistro just over the bridge on Scalpay - superb seafood - you need to book. The Eilean Glas lighthouse on Scalpay makes a wonderful evening walk to catch sunset, porpoise and the majestic / decayed architecture. Tarbert has an adequate shop for all needs but beware of Sundays for anything - all museums / tea shops etc will be shut.
Huishinish beach, again of an evening is as remote as it gets. Also recommend the ranger led walks to see eagles and the landscape - check the TI for timings.
This is a great cottage for 2 with an abundance of places to visit and wildlife to view - otters under the Scalpay bridge most evenings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Hi Peter, Thank you very much for a great review. I'm glad to hear you had everything you could need at Albany Cottage. You saw some fantastic wildlife and obviously had many great days out. There's always plenty to see and do in Harris. Do come back soon to Albany Cottage. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William A...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation good location for both Harris andLewis”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Location good for ferry and visiting a lot of lovely beaches.
This has been a wonderful relaxing holiday ,weather variable but has not spoiled the holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Hi William and Anna, Thank you for your excellent review. I'm glad to hear you had such a good holiday in Albany Cottage. It's certainly easy to get about from the cottage, all over Harris and Lewis, from hills and villages to the beaches. Do come back and stay again some time. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing