We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Albany Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wattalapp...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A really lovely cottage in a beautiful area. Everything in there has been thought of perfectly, from clear instructions for all the appliances, right down to the availability of binoculars. Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Hi WattalappamWarrior, Than you very much for your excellent review. It sounds like you had a great time staying at Albany Cottage. It's good to know you had everything you needed and, as you discovered, the binoculars are useful for the wonderful wildlife sightings. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This cottage is simply perfect. It has everything you need for your self catering holiday and the quality of the of the crockery, cutlery, linen, furniture etc. is excellent. Everything is well cared for and the owners should be proud of this rental.
Great views from all the rooms expecially the view acroos to Scalpay.
There is some outdoor seating and if you are lucky you will see a golden eagles that soars above the hills behind the cottage.
We will definitely return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Hi Carol, Thank you so much for your glowing review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm so glad your stay at Albany Cottage was exceptionally comfortable, and that you had everything you needed. You had a great time out and about on the Isle of Harris, and the wildlife sightings are indeed spectacular. I'm pleased to hear you would like to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Albany Cottage in the future. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kas122017
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just 10 minutes away from Tarbet in the car, where you will find the Harris distillery which is well worth a visit. Plenty of good walks nearby including Scalpay lighthouse.
Cottage lovely and clean with everything you could think of with a great view from every window.
Would definitely stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Hi Karen, Thank you very much for your excellent review of Albany Cottage. We really appreciate your kind comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed the comforts and facilities of the cottage, and that you managed to get out and about and do lots of good walking. Harris is lovely in October and you certainly made the most of it. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The best appointed cottage we have stayed on the islands. Great location & have recommend to friends and family. Excellent !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Hi Chris, Thank you for a 5 star review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm very pleased to hear you liked Albany Cottage and all its facilities. Thanks for recommending to your friends, and hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Isle of Harris soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinek...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lewis and Harris base”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Albany Cottage is a spotless, spacious, cosy and comfortable cottage in an ideal location for exploring Lewis and Harris. It has history and soul with the addition of a modern extension providing the holidaymaker with all amenities for a stressfree break. There was nothing lacking in the cottage, clearly designed by people who know how to provide self catering essentials- leave the cafetiere at home! Eating in was a doddle using the high class kitchen equipment. The weather allowed us to take advantage of the sitooteries - seats and benches - in the lovely back garden at all times of the day. Communication with the owner is first class and a small problem with a normal component failure was resolved quickly and efficiently. Hot water is plentiful and the bathroom is enormous. We were unable to take advantage of the multifuel burner in the open plan kitchen diner come sitting room due to the good weather, but in colder climes that would be a bonus. The utility room is useful for coats, boots, etc. Booking meals ahead is advised, North Harbour Bistro, Temple Cafe and The Harris Hotel provided our meals out and First Fruits, Herbscape and Skoon Arts were great for snacks. The islands are great for history, beaches, walks and amazing scenery.
All in all a smashing holiday. Thanks to Martin and Chris for their well thought out cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Hi Catherine, Thank you very much for your glowing review. Your kind comments are much appreciated. I'm glad to hear you found everything in the cottage to be just what you needed. We certainly tried to think of everything. You had good weather and had some great outings and some fine dining, by the sound of things. It was lovely to meet you, and I hope you will be able to come back to the island and to Albany Cottage quite soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Hi Stephen, Thank you very much for your glowing review. We really appreciate your kind comments. It's good to hear that you found Albany Cottage to be excellent and had everything you needed. I hope you will come back to Harris soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mallan577
Bearsden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accommodation, perfect place.”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic cottage with all you could need and more. Great location. Good roads to travel all over to see wildlife, beaches, tea rooms, galleries. Relaxing cottage to return to after a long day out exploring and walking. Try the Harris Walkway. 2 days walking from Scaladal to Seilebost - excellent. Bus service needed for this but very efficient.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Hi Moira, Thank you so much for a lovely review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm glad you had everything you needed at Albany Cottage, and you had some great days out walking the island and seeing the sights. As you say, there are plenty of tea rooms - always welcome after a long trek! I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Albany Cottage and the Isle of Harris some time soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing