We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy little place”
other travellers have booked this property
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
external shot of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
external shot of the cottage
Living room.
There are bits of finishing to be done around the house, but our dining kitchen is looking good!
Downstairs shower room - has WC, shower, sink and washing machine.
One of our visitors took this pic. We like you to see what they see, so here it is, July 2015!
view into the room
the other bed
downstairs hall is nearly there!
Upper hall featuring works by local artists
shot from behind the house down the West Loch
our new sign, made by a local craftsperson, better known as author Di Reed.
Complementary toiletries - hand soap, hand lotion, body wash and shampoo + a mini soap to take home!
East Loch, where the ferry comes in. Also the site of the village and the distillery ( opening soon)
shot across West Loch to the old pier from the upstairs window on a rainy day!
Luskentyre,15 mins drive from the house. One of the finest beaches in the world
Scarista Golf course - 20 mins away
Same location during a winter storm -  every bit as stunning when nature rages
Scalpay lighthouse - one of many lovely walks in the area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Niall H
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy little place”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just home from a week exploring Harris and Lewis, using Kelpie Cottage as our base camp. A few minutes from the ferry and you're there, and it felt like home in no time at all. Plenty space for the two of us to eat, sleep and lounge. Well stocked with local info to help plan your adventures. The cottage is equipped so well you could stop indoors all holiday, but obviously with the most amazing scenery in the world on your doorstep (almost literally) you might want to venture out. Harris in particular is beautiful beyond description, and Tarbert is the perfect base. There is no direction you can travel where the views won't knock you sideways. Anyway, I'm meant to be reviewing Kelpie Cottage, not the island. It's a lovely little snug with all mod cons, a very comfy bed and perfectly placed. You will enjoy, believe me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m delighted that you enjoyed both the cottage and the island so very much. Thank you also for taking such good care of my home, and hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBirc...
Chipping Campden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming unspoiled character cottage in an ideal central position”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We much appreciated the hamper of goodies, thanks, and we love the cottage being just as a cottages should be, adequately well equipped, comfortable and welcoming with all essential mod cons and a very friendly helpful management. Kitchen is good, beds and furniture are good and v. comfy and furnishing are tasteful, TV is good, and there is a beautiful new pine cottage staircase, improvements certainly are ongoing. The loo seat, no problem, we improvised a way to make it stay up when required. Seating and more t.l.c. outside would be nice. Thank you Emma for a very happy stay in your charming cottage. All good wishes, Annabel and David B.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flomcco
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kelpie Cottage a wee gem”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Amazing wee gem in the most stunning location. We loved the cottage and the quirkiness. Very comfortable and well situated for our travels round a stunning island gorgeous we will be back xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you Florence for your kinds words! We hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
thanks to you to Kim for leaving our home in such immaculate condition. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cjpvision
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Characterful Cottage”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in Kelpie Cottage, using it as a base for a photography trip. Communications and directions with the owner were first class, and we easily found Kelpie Cottage after disembarking from the ferry in Tarbert.
This is an elderly property modernised sympathetically by the present owners. The well fitted and equipped kitchen was a boon, and the comfortable lounge was cosy and comfortable. However it is a disappointing omission that no TV is available in the cottage, although we made good use of the excellent free Wifi to keep us entertained in the evening.
Also on the Ground Floor is the bathroom with toilet, a good shower, and a tiny basin. The latter proved inadequate for our needs as it was very small, sited high, and only produced a dribble of hot water. There was also no shaver point.
Within the same room is a washing machine which would be a real bonus for renters that wish to use it, (we didn't)
Upstairs are 2 pleasant bedrooms. The main double has limited head clearance due to the sloping ceilings, but we soon learned to negotiate our way around the room. The other room offers 2 singles.
The stairs to access the upper floor are clearly original and old, but somewhat rickety and in need of some TLC to make them easier to negotiate.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in Kelpie Cottage. As a base it proved ideal for our needs and was priced reasonably given the accommodation it offered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: WiFi and the Kitchen
Liked least: Bathroom Basin and Stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review! We've taken all your feedback on board and actually have someone in today to measure the staircase. We hadn't thought about a shaver point, so thank you again for flagging this up, it is a good point and we'll look at putting one in when the bathroom is refitted. We'll look into the TV: TV, Xbox, apple TV (gives access to Netflix etc too), freesat and DVD player are all installed and we weren't aware of anything not working. We were in the cottage this week there but didn't watch TV so didn't realise. I'll get someone out immediately and really appreciate you letting us know! We would love to have you back anytime, thank you for staying and hope to see you again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamac500
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a lovely 5 night stay at Kelpie Cottage. It is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Isle of Harris. Look forward to a return visit soon. Thank you Emma for being so helpful.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
It was lovely to have you stay Maggie, thank you for taking such good care of our home! Hope to see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words, so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again! Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;