We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travellers have booked this property
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
external shot of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Kelpie Cottage, May 2016
external shot of the cottage
Living room.
There are bits of finishing to be done around the house, but our dining kitchen is looking good!
Downstairs shower room - has WC, shower, sink and washing machine.
One of our visitors took this pic. We like you to see what they see, so here it is, July 2015!
view into the room
the other bed
downstairs hall is nearly there!
Upper hall featuring works by local artists
shot from behind the house down the West Loch
our new sign, made by a local craftsperson, better known as author Di Reed.
Complementary toiletries - hand soap, hand lotion, body wash and shampoo + a mini soap to take home!
East Loch, where the ferry comes in. Also the site of the village and the distillery ( opening soon)
shot across West Loch to the old pier from the upstairs window on a rainy day!
Luskentyre,15 mins drive from the house. One of the finest beaches in the world
Scarista Golf course - 20 mins away
Same location during a winter storm -  every bit as stunning when nature rages
Scalpay lighthouse - one of many lovely walks in the area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maureen B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Fabulous cottage. Lovely and cosy. Had great times watching netflix in the evening with 87 year old aunt. Could do with a handle for the elderly in the shower to help them feel supported. We both had great sleeps. Very comfortable beds. Everything you needed in the cottage. 5 minute walk to Tarbert. 20 minutes from beautiful beaches. We both really enjoyed. Maureen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perhaps we were unlucky.”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have never given a negative review, and do so now with reluctance and care. The "garden" at the front had rubbish in ie, broken tiles, bits of wallpaper, a broken lampshide. There was plaster dust in the wardrobe and on the coat hangers. We spoke to the owner straightaway, and she arranged for the cleaner to call again. We explained what we were unhappy with, and received well meant apologies. The bin in the kitchen only stayed closed with the aid of a stone. To give a balanced opinion, there was a bottle of Presecco, guest soap, biscuits, and small jar of homemade jam, as a welcome hamper. The bed was comfortable, there were lots of good information books.
Harris was beautiful, we really had a good time. I would suggest that we were a little unlucky to use Kelpie Cottage before it had recovered from the plasters.
On reading this it could be taken as a little petty, however I have not listed everything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2018
Dear Andrew and Kathryn,
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, we really do aim to make sure all our guests have the best stay possible. Although as you say our housekeeper came out immediately to meet you, we would much rather that things had been to your liking upon arrival! I can only apologise for any items in the garden, a thorough clean and uplift was arranged prior to your arrival but clearly there was some oversight here which I have been investigating.
I hope you had a wonderful trip to the islands notwithstanding these issues, for which I cannot apologise enough, and hope that you will consider visiting again.
Very warmest wishes
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairi M
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just back from a short break with my 2 daughters staying at Kelpie cottage. Had a great few days in Harris which was definitely enhanced by lovely weather. We were greeted with a lovely welcome hamper which was a lovely touch.
Cottage is well equipped and very comfortable. Girls were pleased to find good WiFi and Apple box connected toTV. Really comfortable beds.
I would definitely recommend Kelpie cottage and will return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Dear Mairi,
Thank you so much for your lovely words! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Hebrides break”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very handy for the ferry and village also lovely hotel down the road , we found it good for visiting the Island all very lovely .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall H
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy little place”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just home from a week exploring Harris and Lewis, using Kelpie Cottage as our base camp. A few minutes from the ferry and you're there, and it felt like home in no time at all. Plenty space for the two of us to eat, sleep and lounge. Well stocked with local info to help plan your adventures. The cottage is equipped so well you could stop indoors all holiday, but obviously with the most amazing scenery in the world on your doorstep (almost literally) you might want to venture out. Harris in particular is beautiful beyond description, and Tarbert is the perfect base. There is no direction you can travel where the views won't knock you sideways. Anyway, I'm meant to be reviewing Kelpie Cottage, not the island. It's a lovely little snug with all mod cons, a very comfy bed and perfectly placed. You will enjoy, believe me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m delighted that you enjoyed both the cottage and the island so very much. Thank you also for taking such good care of my home, and hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidBirc...
Chipping Campden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming unspoiled character cottage in an ideal central position”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We much appreciated the hamper of goodies, thanks, and we love the cottage being just as a cottages should be, adequately well equipped, comfortable and welcoming with all essential mod cons and a very friendly helpful management. Kitchen is good, beds and furniture are good and v. comfy and furnishing are tasteful, TV is good, and there is a beautiful new pine cottage staircase, improvements certainly are ongoing. The loo seat, no problem, we improvised a way to make it stay up when required. Seating and more t.l.c. outside would be nice. Thank you Emma for a very happy stay in your charming cottage. All good wishes, Annabel and David B.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flomcco
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kelpie Cottage a wee gem”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Amazing wee gem in the most stunning location. We loved the cottage and the quirkiness. Very comfortable and well situated for our travels round a stunning island gorgeous we will be back xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you Florence for your kinds words! We hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing