We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in paradise”
Review of Raasay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raasay House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed in Raasay house because in Skye I didn't find anything...but I am so glad I found this place on this amazingly silent and beautiful island. I slept really well and really enjoyed my dinner looking out at paradise views. The only negative point for me was the shower..which only had one temperature..and was a bit basic. But the rest was perfect..I would have stayed another week.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SashaC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I chose Raasay for its location and its stunning building, and I was not disappointed.

The Hotel is gorgeous in its design and renovation, and the library was truly stunning.
The staff were helpful, pleasant and friendly, and went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable.
The breakfast and the dinner meal choice, and quality of the food was exceptional.
The house was filled with families which gave the place a happy vibe, which I did not mind, although if I was to come with my special partner, I would choose a weekday outside school holidays.
I was able to hideaway in the quiet luxury of the library with its big open fire and comfy lounge.
All I want to do is go back....

Room Tip: I had the corner suite, and it was large, bright and airy, quiet and tranquil. I was fortunate to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ingridpenelope m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Raasay is a beatiful island with great views and nice walks and after enjoy this you can have a nice dinner with a good cask ale, sleep on a comfortable bed, take a vitalizing shower and enjoy a most than aceptable breakfast. On top of this you can have tv or great views from your room depending on your budget. Not a cheap place but worth the money you spend and quite affordable options form famillies on the big rooms.

Room Tip: Justo navigate through the wide options available form book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beautiful isle, marvellous landscapes, lovely weather and view
The room was fantastic, the meals really good; we enjoyed our trip in Scotland and the peak was the isles of Sky and Raasay with their so amazing landscapes

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pantesco a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great hotel, great staff, great views! A must!!! Add it to your bucket list! We were lucky as we had great weather but I would return even if it were not sunny and warm. This place would make a great retreat (outside of school holidays).

Room Tip: Just go! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a very long and exhausted trip, because of an accident on the road , we finally arrived to Sconser, of course, the last ferry was gone. I called Raasay House and at 9:30 PM, David and Harry came with a small boat to pick us and a part of our luggage up. For sure the cost was higher than with the ferry, but thanks to that we could have a bed for the night.
Everybody was very nice and welcoming despite the late hour, we could have a pretty good dinner.
The house is wonderful, especially in the night when it is illuminated , it is like a fairy-tale.
We had a superb bedroom with a marvellous and breathtaking view on the sea.
We just regretted to stay only two nights.
Raasay House offers many activities and the Isle of Skye is so huge that we will come back for a longer time. It is so relaxing...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MC1957196518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautiful isle and location of the hotel, that you discover already from the ferry. Splendid view from the nice family room. Some improvements are still expected in the near future , like the outside furniture.

Room Tip: Loch view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Florent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Raasay
5.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
203 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,106 reviews
18.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
6.2 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raasay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raasay House

Address: Isle of Raasay | By Skye, IV40 8PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Raasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Raasay
Price Range: £43 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raasay House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raasay House is a completely rebuilt, refurbished and renovated historic clan mansion house. Once the clan seat of the MacLeods of Raasay, Raasay House is set in its own grounds and is perfect place to explore the beautiful and unique Islands of Raasay and Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Raasay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing