We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    183
    148
    48
    27
See reviews for
92
159
9
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights..good location...Lovely hotel..good size and clean rooms..had a good time..very friendly staff . Breakfast was a good value to the room..swimming pool as well...Overall definitely worth staying here .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criticm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am pleased our location worked well for you and that enjoyed your meals and the pool. We are very grateful for your feedback and hope to see you soon.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived here a few days ago to lovely warm welcomes by the Receptionist which I must say are so bubbly and lively. Meals were superb so top marks to the chefs for breakfast and evening meals. Again restaurant staff were polite out-going and very sociable apart from one gentlemen who was rather tall, think he went by the name of David, he was the tallest out of them. He never seemed to smile and spoke down to the staff quite harshly, and seemed to walk around like he owned the hotel which been told him upon serving us drinks that he was the restaurant manager. We let all that slide until we was walking to our room on the ground floor to see him on the fruit machine, ( not very professional to say people were walking past him ) we came back for a drink 25 minutes later and he was still there. This put us off to say he would rather be gambling on a shift than interacting and putting hit work place and guests first.
We came down for a cigarette a few times during the night where 3 members of staff were, Sarah, Tom and Andy who were such a great laugh! They made you feel so warm and welcomed and the amount of jokes they told one another and just made the place so full of joy was brilliant and we saw them for the 2 nights we were here and each night were just as good. Top marks for them 3 because they made us forget about the previous downfall that we had regarding the manager and they made us feel so much better. They were truly amazing. Would definitely come back again!
Beds were comfortable
Food was outstanding
Staff were great!
Great hotel and would recommend anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the kind comments for our front office team. We’ll concentrate on improving the matters that were not so good and we hope we could welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed two nights and, apart from difficulty in finding the place due to road works and lack of signs we had a very good stay. The room was good, although the decor was very dark, the bed was comfortable and the pillows were firm. Good shower in the bathroom with toiletries replaced promptly and bottled water supplied. The breakfast on both days was very good, with a good choice of food and the evening meal was extremely good, well presented and very well cooked.
The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is well situated for the local shopping centre, five minutes walk away from the hotel. Good sized car park with plenty of spaces. Would definitely stay here again, handy fro either Edinburgh or Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry you had trouble finding us. We have as many tourist signs as permitted but we appreciate the current road works are temporary distraction. Once arrived, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and meals. We do appreciate your comments regarding the team and we hope we’ll see on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights due to business. Hotel is slightly dated but I found it very comfortable, the staff were absolutely great and my room was very, very quiet.
If you enjoy shopping its just a short walk from a huge retail outlet.
In summary, the hotel could benefit from a refurb but the staff were really friendly, would definately stop again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlokefromDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are pleased you found our location convenient and we sincerely appreciate your comments on our team. We hope to see you again whether staying for business or leisure.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We chose this hotel after a recent stay in Edinburgh to visit family. We normally stay a lot nearer to town but being the festival this was a lot cheaper being based out of town!

We were pleasantly surprised (some of the previous reviews had me dreading the stay a little)! I have to say though it was a very pleasant experience.

For what we paid we were very happy.

Pros - free parking, free wifi, breakfast buffet was very good, very friendly staff who go above and beyond, good sized room and comfortable. Facilities we did not use but they looked to be fine.

Cons - none was all fine and would stay again.

For getting into Edinburgh we parked at Livingston North and took the train in which got us into the centre in 17 minutes. Very regular trains and free parking at the station too!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and I didnt feel comfortable to sleep with the window open. Not the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for telling us about it. Staying in Edinburgh city can be an expensive affair, particularly during the festival, and I and it was good to hear that we proved to be a good value alternative and travel was convenient.
I hope we might see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Property: Mercure Livingston
Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing