We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for Business”
Review of Mercure Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Ok for Business”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Quite tired hotel, but friendly staff. Rooms are a bit worn, but perfectly adequate if staying on business. Nice towels and linens, and clean. Restaurant food average, with some exceptions on either side of the median. You need to have breakfast at 6.31 to get anything decent in the week, as you will either have the option of eating dried-out food, or having an elbowing competition with either a German or Chinese tour party. Very close to an outlet shopping centre, cinema and supermarket. I wouldnt recommend staying here for Edinburgh, as there is not any railway station in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your visit. I am sorry if our location was not suitable for you and that breakfast was not to usual standards throughout the service times. We try to plan all meal services and we will work to improve on the points you raise.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    186
    152
    48
    27
See reviews for
96
161
9
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Reception staff do like a chat in room at back of front desk a 5 minute wait is not uncommon.room I had was dated but clean .pillows where rubbish mattress uncomfortable and worst sleep I have had to endure on my week long stay ended up getting my own pillow.the gym was a bit smelly sauna didn't work.the restaurant and bar staff where helpful when asked unlike their manager an arrogant person with no people skills.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your stay was uncomfortable and if the teams were not prompt or welcoming. We share all feedback and we will be working to make improvements on the matters you encountered.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

After some of the hotels we had stayed at during our week's coach tour of Scotland this was a blessing. Nice room, clean and warm. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The dinner and breakfast we had for the one night we stayed were very good. Plenty of choice, hot food, and a good ambience. Would most definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxtaNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased that you enjoyed this night of your trip and we are very grateful for your feedback on your meals and the team. Thank you for your recommendation.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights..good location...Lovely hotel..good size and clean rooms..had a good time..very friendly staff . Breakfast was a good value to the room..swimming pool as well...Overall definitely worth staying here .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criticm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am pleased our location worked well for you and that enjoyed your meals and the pool. We are very grateful for your feedback and hope to see you soon.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived here a few days ago to lovely warm welcomes by the Receptionist which I must say are so bubbly and lively. Meals were superb so top marks to the chefs for breakfast and evening meals. Again restaurant staff were polite out-going and very sociable apart from one gentlemen who was rather tall, think he went by the name of David, he was the tallest out of them. He never seemed to smile and spoke down to the staff quite harshly, and seemed to walk around like he owned the hotel which been told him upon serving us drinks that he was the restaurant manager. We let all that slide until we was walking to our room on the ground floor to see him on the fruit machine, ( not very professional to say people were walking past him ) we came back for a drink 25 minutes later and he was still there. This put us off to say he would rather be gambling on a shift than interacting and putting hit work place and guests first.
We came down for a cigarette a few times during the night where 3 members of staff were, Sarah, Tom and Andy who were such a great laugh! They made you feel so warm and welcomed and the amount of jokes they told one another and just made the place so full of joy was brilliant and we saw them for the 2 nights we were here and each night were just as good. Top marks for them 3 because they made us forget about the previous downfall that we had regarding the manager and they made us feel so much better. They were truly amazing. Would definitely come back again!
Beds were comfortable
Food was outstanding
Staff were great!
Great hotel and would recommend anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the kind comments for our front office team. We’ll concentrate on improving the matters that were not so good and we hope we could welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Property: Mercure Livingston
Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing