We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but a very tired hotel in need of a refit”
Review of Mercure Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice staff but a very tired hotel in need of a refit”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights. This hotel has had at least four chains own it in the last twenty years but it seems a refit has not been a recent priority. There are two floors but no lift. The rooms are very tired and whilst clean they still look very shabby. There were two over bed lights that didn't work in our room, the curtain rested against the wall heater unless you draped it over a chair, there are no plugs next to the bed, the milk supply is miserly and the bathrooms have that fake marble wipe clean effect. For two people occupying one room we got one small bath towel and one hand towel between us. The placement of the furniture seemed random and there was only one bedside table. The chair had a hole in it. Our double bed was actually two twin beds that had been zipped together leaving a small ridge in the middle of the bed.

What was quite amusing were the pamphlets showing you how many wonderful hotels they were affiliated to and how luxurious they were - including the five star Sofitel in Bangkok.

On the positive side - the staff were very helpful and breakfast was quite good in portion and content. The parking was ample and the location convenient. The showers were hot and the complimentary toiletries were fine. We got at least six feather pillows.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor - there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playfairest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry if your room was not well presented and although not as modern as other hotels, it should have been comfortable, well stocked and everything working. Thank you for your comments regarding the team and we will endeavour to improve on the points you raise.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    189
    154
    49
    28
See reviews for
97
164
10
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were a bit worried about staying here as it was the only hotel and some of the comments were not great. We were surprised, it was a friendly comfortable hotel and we enjoyed it. Unfortunately the pool was closed so we didn't get to use that. The food was great but the wine overpriced. £8.40 a glass!
The staff were helpful and did all they could to help.

Room Tip: Just ask at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenethomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I was pleased to read that the hotel was comfortable and that you enjoyed your meal. We do apologies for the inconvenience of the pool closure. Due to a pump failure we were not able to guarantee water quality and closure was the only safe option.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend...checked in given my booking details then got handed room key...asked if a stayed before answer was No ok then pointed me in the direction to go to room..oops sorry a asked if a can get some glasses yes she said you will get them from the bar...ok so never got told about the hotel the room or even how you would get back in and out of hotel late in the nite if a was going out...so heads up to room and it was beautiful very impressed we did pay for privilege room...which included coffee machine which there was...bath robes and slippers that was 1 bath robe. Free wifi which we got but the whole hotel was free wifi....unlimited movies....never had this on first nite which we never noticed until late in the nite....morning paper never did get this anytime. Ok so you might be thinking why did we not say...we did say about the movies next morning....to be told are you pay as you go..no we should have unlimited for duration of stay...oh sorry couple of clicks later from the receptionist on computer that's your movies on...the problem here was that all this should have been confirmed on check in but it wasn't. We paid for late check out which was 6pm on day of departure but couldn't get in room after 12pm on returning from being out...so had to get key re scanned...which a didn't think this needed to be done if they know that room is late check out.
Room was clean bed was comfy can't fault this, a would stay again but not pay extra for privilege room.
Not many tv channels either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza7306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are grateful for your comments regarding the hotel and your room but I am sorry for the service and information shortcomings. I will be following up on your experiences as a priority to make the required changes.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Quite tired hotel, but friendly staff. Rooms are a bit worn, but perfectly adequate if staying on business. Nice towels and linens, and clean. Restaurant food average, with some exceptions on either side of the median. You need to have breakfast at 6.31 to get anything decent in the week, as you will either have the option of eating dried-out food, or having an elbowing competition with either a German or Chinese tour party. Very close to an outlet shopping centre, cinema and supermarket. I wouldnt recommend staying here for Edinburgh, as there is not any railway station in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your visit. I am sorry if our location was not suitable for you and that breakfast was not to usual standards throughout the service times. We try to plan all meal services and we will work to improve on the points you raise.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Reception staff do like a chat in room at back of front desk a 5 minute wait is not uncommon.room I had was dated but clean .pillows where rubbish mattress uncomfortable and worst sleep I have had to endure on my week long stay ended up getting my own pillow.the gym was a bit smelly sauna didn't work.the restaurant and bar staff where helpful when asked unlike their manager an arrogant person with no people skills.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your stay was uncomfortable and if the teams were not prompt or welcoming. We share all feedback and we will be working to make improvements on the matters you encountered.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
288 reviews
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Property: Mercure Livingston
Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing