We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you don't want to use facilities” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Livingston

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok if you don't want to use facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Girls/business weekend away. Booked a 'leisure spa break' it was neither leisurely or has a spa.
Yes it is a weekend in December and works parties are expected at this time of year, HOWEVER, upon arrival we were informed (by a cheery receptionist) that we could not eat until 8.30pm at the earliest as the kitchen staff could not cater for hotel guests due to the 2 functions on. When looking for our restaurant we were directed to a tiny room, which clearly was a conference room, made up as an emergency dining room for the evening. Our package included our dinner, but the choice was shocking and definitely not worth the money. We ordered a jug of water for our dinner, but due to bar staff being busy we did not receive this until we had actually finished our meal.
Sleep was almost non existent due to said functions. People running/screaming/slamming doors/banging on doors, with no intervention from staff, this continued until 5am.
Following morning we decided to lounge by the pool and use sauna/steam room/Jacuzzi......however there was 1 lounger and 1 chair (both white plastic cheap and tacky) the steam room was broke, there was no Jacuzzi and the pool was a dip pool and by no means could be described as swimming pool.
I tried to order a mocha, but hotel had no chocolate .......(the asda is across the road)
Internet is, thankfully free, but so slow and couldn't be used by both of us at same time, while in the room. Timed out constantly due to slowness.
Fiona the waitress was a blessing and a very friendly hard worker, but as a whole the service towards guests was appalling, we were treated as a nuisance and facilities are definitely not as described.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am sorry that the events in the hotel infringed on your enjoyment and we are grateful for your detailed comments. We will use these to review our offer and make changes where possible.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    182
    146
    48
    26
See reviews for
91
157
9
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

There is plenty of free parking , the location of the hotel is excellent for the designer outlet ,asda and getting around livingston . The staff are friendly the standard rooms are very basic. The privilege rooms are really good , 1 improvement I would suggest is to have a bath in them . It is worth paying a bit more and getting the price ledge rooms the beds are more comfortable . The standard room beds are quite uncomfortable . Breakfast is great with s choice of fresh fruit , fruit juices and full breakfast . You must remember this is a 3 star hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about this trip. We are grateful for your comments and were pleased to read that you enjoyed the extra little touches in our Privilege rooms.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Desk staff very welcoming and helpful.Restaurant slow food good but look warm.Pillows terrible bed comfy. Had a great time shopping location great.Will defiantly return but will take my pillow with me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
I am please you enjoyed your stay but not your pillows. We will be replacing all our pillows in the New Year and hope that on your next visit you will have a totally enjoyable sleep.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed just a few weeks ago to visit family and as I arrived the girl on reception was to busy chatting in little office behind the desk was not impressed and her attitude was absolutely shocking she looked as if she was just out of bed!! The stay was made a little better at night as the nights guys tom and ali were absolutely fantastic so funny and well spoken they definitely made my stay more fun and I may even return to the hotel simply because the night staff are so much more welcoming and more respectful to guests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank drumlish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am sorry that your welcome to the hotel was anything but sincere and immediate and we will work to improve on this. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the nights team and we do hope we might welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at the Mercure for the one night and for the brief time I was there was impressed the room was clean and had everything you needed (tea coffee/ extra towels/ pillows etc). Breakfast was a nice mix of English and continental. The hotel was in easy walking distance of The Mall and taxi of the stations

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about this visit. I was please to read the hotel was comfortable, meals enjoyable and the location convenient for you. I hope we might look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Property: Mercure Livingston
Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing