We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business”
Review of Mercure Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Reviewed 15 January 2014

stayed 3 nights on business, not bad food ok, service good nice staff, rooms ok. I didnt like the 10% service charge added to my bill by the automatic till setup. I aske the waitress why, and she said it was automatically added. She was embarrassed, and I got it removed!

Thank Dealer205
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. Our service charge is shared directly to the team and we are sorry if there was any awkwardness with this arrangement for you or from our teams perspective. We will always, and frequently, respond to a guest preference in respect to this and we will be carrying out retraining with our team.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Really nice Hotel, had a very nice 1st night, then unfortunately there were some "Party Animals" making a bit of a noise on the 2nd night. Nice large comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, nice room. Very friendly staff. Would have liked a slightly larger pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are grateful for the feedback and we are sorry to learn that you were disturbed by other guests. We try our best to contain this noise and we endeavour to improve our response.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Have stayed here a few times for work, due to office proximity rather than by choice.

Food is ok,better than some other places I've stayed in.

Rooms are dated, and need a refresh. Staying in cold weather, I noticed that the layout of the rooms is such that room heater is hidden behind floor length curtains, so majority of hear is instantly lost through the windows, rather than into the room, so if you feel the cold, don't expect to be warm - at all.

On a multi-night stay, the room didn't appear to be properly serviced on my return - rubbish left on floor. Given the green credentials promoted within the room, I was also surprised to see that the cleaning staff through out the soap every single day, rather than leaving it for duration of stay - what a waste of money - I don't mind sharing the soap with myself :)

Free wifi is good, so no complaints there. TV facility is somewhat wanting - having to negotiate multiple (5-6) button presses just to watch TV is ridiculous, and trying to change channels often results in frozen screens.

I only stop here because it's convenient for work location, but I may not stop here again - plenty of other options nearby to try, and I'll go there and suffer the extra distance to travel to work

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastillesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are very grateful for the constructive comments and we will use these when making future improvements. I am sorry for any shortcoming in our service and we will work on this immediately.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed on Hogmanay for the new party. Awesome.
Where to start at the beginning , rooms clean tidy and had everything we needed especially free wi if kept the kids happy while we got ready.
Our experience started at 7pm all dressed and ready to party, lovely welcome drinks, personally taken to our allocated tables, perfectly decorated , we had fun with the streamers and hooters and feather Boas, party poppers ,hats and bow ties.
The food was amazing, home made soup :) ,the fillet steak was perfect even the roast veg, dessert OMG I had home made pumpkin pie, hats off to the chef who made this just truly awesome, coffee cheese and biscuits, everything about this meal was great.
The kids were catered for as well, meals perfect for them, my grand daughter said this was the best night of her life ( she's 6 ) apart from her holiday. Lol .
Great night , great food, great music with the DJ, and the band and best of all the piper, bringing in the bells with champagne and the Piper and family just perfect.
Your staff on the night have done you proud, the whole experience went like clock work, I even heard other guests comment on how wonderful the food was and how they were having a ball.
So yes to say we had a great time was and understatement. All your staff were lovely but I just need to say Michael has a lovely smile and people don't always have to speak to make an impression. :)
Thanks guys see you again soon xx

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your meal with us at Hogmanay.
We were very pleased to read that you all enjoyed the event and your meals. We do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable,
We booked through national holidays and we didn't expect the service and quality that we did get.
The breakfast was plentiful and a good selection cereals, pastries, porridge and the usual cooked breakfast. The evening meal on the first night was a limited menu but of a high standard, the second night there was a Christmas party in the hotel which the bus party was included in which was a nice surprise. All in all we had a pleasant weekend at the Mercure , Livingston that we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your trip and the party atmosphere.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Girls/business weekend away. Booked a 'leisure spa break' it was neither leisurely or has a spa.
Yes it is a weekend in December and works parties are expected at this time of year, HOWEVER, upon arrival we were informed (by a cheery receptionist) that we could not eat until 8.30pm at the earliest as the kitchen staff could not cater for hotel guests due to the 2 functions on. When looking for our restaurant we were directed to a tiny room, which clearly was a conference room, made up as an emergency dining room for the evening. Our package included our dinner, but the choice was shocking and definitely not worth the money. We ordered a jug of water for our dinner, but due to bar staff being busy we did not receive this until we had actually finished our meal.
Sleep was almost non existent due to said functions. People running/screaming/slamming doors/banging on doors, with no intervention from staff, this continued until 5am.
Following morning we decided to lounge by the pool and use sauna/steam room/Jacuzzi......however there was 1 lounger and 1 chair (both white plastic cheap and tacky) the steam room was broke, there was no Jacuzzi and the pool was a dip pool and by no means could be described as swimming pool.
I tried to order a mocha, but hotel had no chocolate .......(the asda is across the road)
Internet is, thankfully free, but so slow and couldn't be used by both of us at same time, while in the room. Timed out constantly due to slowness.
Fiona the waitress was a blessing and a very friendly hard worker, but as a whole the service towards guests was appalling, we were treated as a nuisance and facilities are definitely not as described.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am sorry that the events in the hotel infringed on your enjoyment and we are grateful for your detailed comments. We will use these to review our offer and make changes where possible.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

There is plenty of free parking , the location of the hotel is excellent for the designer outlet ,asda and getting around livingston . The staff are friendly the standard rooms are very basic. The privilege rooms are really good , 1 improvement I would suggest is to have a bath in them . It is worth paying a bit more and getting the price ledge rooms the beds are more comfortable . The standard room beds are quite uncomfortable . Breakfast is great with s choice of fresh fruit , fruit juices and full breakfast . You must remember this is a 3 star hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about this trip. We are grateful for your comments and were pleased to read that you enjoyed the extra little touches in our Privilege rooms.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
305 reviews
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: £58 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing