We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”
Review of Mercure Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had family two night stay over the weekend. Rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing, evening meal in the restaurant was really good. Staff were very helpful. Pool was freezing, none of us could use it. I called the hotel beforehand to ask about the pool as I seen previous reviews on tripadvisor but it was still freezing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am sorry for the inconvenience presented by the pool, we are working to resolve this issue. We are grateful for your comments regarding the team and please do contact me at the hotel if I might be of further assistance.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    194
    161
    49
    32
See reviews for
101
168
12
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel before and always found it very adequate. It is always clean but is a wee bit shabby and maybe could do with some refurbishment. However, we found the staff this time to be very impressive. The hotel was full of French people here for the Rugby and the dining room was busy. We watched the young staff providing smiling, confident, professional service. It was good to see such a cheerful well organised crew giving a good impression to folks from abroad. The food was much better than our past experience and extremely good value . We have stayed in far more expensive hotels and not had nearly such good service. This is not a posh hotel but it provides 5 star service and this alone made our stay very enjoyable. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnylaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your experience. Last weekend was particularly busy with lots of nationalities due to the Six Nations Rugby in Murrayfield and other local events. I am glad you enjoyed the meals and we appreciate all your comments. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Pleasant hotel near large shopping and entertainment centre. its ideally situated to explore this area of scotland and is close to edinburgh.the bar and restaurant areas are tastefully designed and ideal for a wee drink or two

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Martyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We hope we might welcome you back for another visit.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We are a mid 30's couple and stayed here for 1 night on 22nd February as we were meeting friends nearby to spend the day at 5 sisters zoo.

Hotel has plenty of parking and is right across the road from the Livingston shopping outlets and 5 mins from 5 sisters zoo.

The main reception and bar are lovely, although a little pricey compared to nearby restaurants. For example a burger and chips starts at £14.00. Small glass of wine (175ml) from around £5 and £8 for large (250ml)

The hotel room was a decent size with large LCD TV, hair dryer and kettle. Bathroom was spotless with your normal miniatures.

Room decor was a little dated and floor boards squeaked every time you moved. Room was clean though.

The hotel is advertised as having a pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The hotel should maybe update their website to explain its a mini gym (1 bike, 1 rower, 1 treadmill and a couple of light weights) and the pool is about 4m x 4m. You would need to swim around the edges for hours to get a decent swim. When we arrived the sauna was out of order as well.

Stayed in plenty of hotels and for £42 for a night (room only) it was okay. Would have been disappointed if I had paid more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am sorry if the leisure club was too small for a thorough work out. We do understand this position along with those that appreciate the ease of use and often quiet environment. We also appreciate your other comments and will work to make improvements. We are glad that your stay was still good a value and hope we might welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Room was clean and maintained. The hotel itself could do with a bit if modernising as starting to look tatty. Room service was very good. Staff were excellent. Mattress comfort 3 out of 5. Got a special deal with free wifi and movies. If I hadn't I would have said it was overpriced. I will be using it again when I'm in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shaunkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am please you found the team attentive and enjoyed the movies and internet offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Livingston.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

On check in the staff are friendly and helpful and the reception is light and airy due to it being open plan with the bar/restaurant.
The rooms are rather basic and probably not as clean/modern as your Premier Inns.
The restaurant is basic and lacking atmosphere with slightly over priced food.
One thing that has put me off staying here again is the fact that dogs appear to be allowed to stay in the rooms.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry if this stay was not to your complete enjoyment. Assistance animals are welcomed at the hotel but we do rely on owners respecting certain areas, particularly the restaurant, unless their need is paramount. We understand that this is not to everyone’s preference and always take care to ensure associated bedrooms are thoroughly cleaned before next use.
Thank you for telling us about your stay and I do hope this alone would not stop you from staying with us again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livingston hotels

home
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is located in a fantastic place for shopping, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well prepared for us, the swimming pool was a tad on the chilly side and the "silent" member of staff that never talked to any of us was a little strange in the leisure area ( Saturday morning)

Room Tip: No, we were happy with the hotel again, we will stay here in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We are please you enjoyed the hotel and location. We are grateful for your comments and will work to make improvements. We hope to welcome you again to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Property: Mercure Livingston
Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing