We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An over priced average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An over priced average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Easy to find, plenty of Parking, but the restaurant and Bar prices are inflated, the food is ok but expensive for what you get. The staff are friendly and you are made to feel welcome and comfortable. The Room was clean, tidy and the bed was comfy. Just the prices spoil the place but if you don't mind paying a little over the odds then this place is worth a stay. Would stay again but will venture out for a meal elsewhere in the evening as the menu is limited and expensive. Breakfast was nice and plenty of it. Not a bad stay, an average one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRQMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I was pleased to hear about the team and that you found our new mattresses comfy. I am sorry if this stay did not represent good value to you. If you are visiting again, our seasonal and advance purchase options offer up to a 40% discount and might be better alternatives for you.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    183
    148
    48
    27
See reviews for
92
159
9
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Well once again was a great stay been in Livingston a few times the past few months for family reasons, the girl on reception was happy and bubbly as always on arrival, the first night was good a little restless as there was people that obviously checked in late and couldn't find there room but that's expected in a hotel. The second day I had breakfast was good as normal the woman in charge in the morning wasn't very involved with her team she seemed distant with everyone maybe the fact her uniform was covered with dry food very very unhygienic and a disappointment to the hotel. We went out later on in the evening and on return the night shift were on and just like our last stay they were priceless you can obviously tell they are related or they are just one team that knows each other so well on the ball we asked for a iron and within 5 minutes the young man was at our door so polite and very well presented. Overall a fantastic stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank drumlish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for again choosing the hotel for your visit to Livingston. We appreciate your feedback and I’m sorry for any shortcomings during this stay which we’ll endeavour to address.
We hope we will see you again.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here with extended family on a 3 night trip to Scotland. First impressions of the hotel are good, it seemed well kept and clean with a big reception area. Bar was open on arrival so able to get some refreshments after long day travelling. Rooms were a good size and equipped with what you would expect from a modern hotel - Tv, kettle and hairdryer. Main reason for booking the hotel was the pool as there was 3 young children in the party and it kept them entertained, perhaps slightly on the small side but never an issue as we seemed to be the only ones ever using it. Asda across the road is beneficial as we were able to purchase inflatables for the pool and milk for a nice cup of coffee in the room. It may sound minor but I really liked the fact this hotel provides 'mugs' in the room rather than the tiny 'cup' you usually find in hotels. Livingston really is a shoppers paradise, whatever shop you can think of, it more than likely had it. Also some good eateries less than a mile away. Never had any complaints about breakfast in the hotel, it was good. Also ate in the hotel bar/restaurant one of the evenings and the food was excellent, slightly more expensive, as hotels usually are but definitely worth it. Also would recommend Livingston as a good base to visit Edinburgh if you don't want to stay in the city as its only about 30 minutes by car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are pleased you found Livingston and the hotel to be a good base from which to explore Edinburgh and the nearby surrounds.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel has a typical 3-star British standard. The rooms are clean and have the amenities you need such as a kettle, TV, wardrobe etc, although the rooms and corridors are in need of a "fix me up" with worn carpet and creaky floor boards underneath.

The hotel has free wifi, which was a plus, as well as a nice swimming pool along with a sauna and a steamroom.

We had breakfast here one morning and it was ok. It's a buffet of both hot and cold selections which is filled up regularly. The staff in the breakfast room was friendly and cleared off dirty dishes efficiently from the tables.

You won't get a "wow" from staying here but if you're looking for a clean, tidy hotel for a decent price and with easy access to Edinburgh and elsewhere in Scotland, then this is definitely a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor, as the rooms on the first floor can get quite noisy from people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am pleased you found the hotel comfortable for a good value visit to the area.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and tidy. Room was a decent size but could have done with been updated along with the bathroom. Food was nice on the evening, breakfast was ok, buffet style, one tip dont order poached eggs at breakfast they took over 30 minutes!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank advisor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am please you enjoyed your meals and apologise for the delay at breakfast, service should have been much swifter and we will work to address this.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

All roads load to the hotel that is also the nexus point of babbling streams, eternal Adsa and dual carriageway because when you enter to inspect your cold Italian dishes will fly from the window sill to the courtyard that stands at the centre of everything but is inaccessible from any of the rooms so you will have to order your locally sourced fry up from the joke buffet before muddying your fingertips with the lonely hotel gym that is filled with no soul but you, brother but fear not because by night the chefs conjure delicious seared fillet meats that will pierce your very soul with joy and foresooth it will encourage you to sup a bold lager the way only you can before you embark on life's final adventure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORANGESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about this visit.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Experiences of the hotel restaurant have been surprising. The hotel seems to be generally pretty bland and the restaurant would be expected to be the same. It may be good fortune, but on the last 4 occasions that we've eaten there, it has been very good. OK, they have run out of some items and the young serving staff have been prone to forget things but the food has been great. It's a good choice for a group when some people don't fancy a non European menu. Steaks have been good, fish and chicken dishes also. Rather pricy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenter-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel’s Brasserie. I am pleased that you have enjoyed this and previous visits and we will work to improve our service.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Property: Mercure Livingston
Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing