We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average hotel ”
Review of Mercure Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Livingston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here only because there are no other 3star hotels available in town and to do some shopping in Livingston. Considering the size of the room, bathroom, toiletries etc this one is on the pricey side. There are so many in and around Edinburgh that can give more value for money. Very noisy corridor(first floor), average restaurant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am sorry if you were disturbed by noise and if this stay did not represent value to you. Our seasonal and advance purchase offers can represent great savings. I hope we might welcome you again and if so, these might prove better value for you.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Needed to stop for just 1 night in the area and this was perfect. Clean and quiet. Small and hot pool. Bar seemed popular. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Priced reasonably..

Room Tip: Room 123 with a double, a single and fold away bed. Room is down the back corridor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are grateful for your comments regarding the hotel and team. I hope we might see you again if you are in the area.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Spent 2 nights with National Holidays in the hotel and enjoyed the stay. Meals were fine but bar prices high. Room clean and tidy and service fine. Only problem was they only put one set of towels in room for second day but delivered more on request.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65PeterR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about this trip. I am pleased you enjoyed the stay and we do appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Easy to find, plenty of Parking, but the restaurant and Bar prices are inflated, the food is ok but expensive for what you get. The staff are friendly and you are made to feel welcome and comfortable. The Room was clean, tidy and the bed was comfy. Just the prices spoil the place but if you don't mind paying a little over the odds then this place is worth a stay. Would stay again but will venture out for a meal elsewhere in the evening as the menu is limited and expensive. Breakfast was nice and plenty of it. Not a bad stay, an average one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRQMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I was pleased to hear about the team and that you found our new mattresses comfy. I am sorry if this stay did not represent good value to you. If you are visiting again, our seasonal and advance purchase options offer up to a 40% discount and might be better alternatives for you.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Well once again was a great stay been in Livingston a few times the past few months for family reasons, the girl on reception was happy and bubbly as always on arrival, the first night was good a little restless as there was people that obviously checked in late and couldn't find there room but that's expected in a hotel. The second day I had breakfast was good as normal the woman in charge in the morning wasn't very involved with her team she seemed distant with everyone maybe the fact her uniform was covered with dry food very very unhygienic and a disappointment to the hotel. We went out later on in the evening and on return the night shift were on and just like our last stay they were priceless you can obviously tell they are related or they are just one team that knows each other so well on the ball we asked for a iron and within 5 minutes the young man was at our door so polite and very well presented. Overall a fantastic stay again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank drumlish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for again choosing the hotel for your visit to Livingston. We appreciate your feedback and I’m sorry for any shortcomings during this stay which we’ll endeavour to address.
We hope we will see you again.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here with extended family on a 3 night trip to Scotland. First impressions of the hotel are good, it seemed well kept and clean with a big reception area. Bar was open on arrival so able to get some refreshments after long day travelling. Rooms were a good size and equipped with what you would expect from a modern hotel - Tv, kettle and hairdryer. Main reason for booking the hotel was the pool as there was 3 young children in the party and it kept them entertained, perhaps slightly on the small side but never an issue as we seemed to be the only ones ever using it. Asda across the road is beneficial as we were able to purchase inflatables for the pool and milk for a nice cup of coffee in the room. It may sound minor but I really liked the fact this hotel provides 'mugs' in the room rather than the tiny 'cup' you usually find in hotels. Livingston really is a shoppers paradise, whatever shop you can think of, it more than likely had it. Also some good eateries less than a mile away. Never had any complaints about breakfast in the hotel, it was good. Also ate in the hotel bar/restaurant one of the evenings and the food was excellent, slightly more expensive, as hotels usually are but definitely worth it. Also would recommend Livingston as a good base to visit Edinburgh if you don't want to stay in the city as its only about 30 minutes by car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are pleased you found Livingston and the hotel to be a good base from which to explore Edinburgh and the nearby surrounds.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel has a typical 3-star British standard. The rooms are clean and have the amenities you need such as a kettle, TV, wardrobe etc, although the rooms and corridors are in need of a "fix me up" with worn carpet and creaky floor boards underneath.

The hotel has free wifi, which was a plus, as well as a nice swimming pool along with a sauna and a steamroom.

We had breakfast here one morning and it was ok. It's a buffet of both hot and cold selections which is filled up regularly. The staff in the breakfast room was friendly and cleared off dirty dishes efficiently from the tables.

You won't get a "wow" from staying here but if you're looking for a clean, tidy hotel for a decent price and with easy access to Edinburgh and elsewhere in Scotland, then this is definitely a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor, as the rooms on the first floor can get quite noisy from people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at Mercure Livingston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am pleased you found the hotel comfortable for a good value visit to the area.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
63 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
5.3 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bathgate
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Livingston

Address: Almondview, Livingston EH54 6QB, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Livingston)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: £57 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Livingston 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Livingston Hotel Livingston
Ramada Livingston
Livingston Ramada
Mercure Livingston Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing