We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE THIS TAKEAWAY”
Review of Golden Swallow

Golden Swallow
Ranked #14 of 56 Restaurants in Bathgate
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS TAKEAWAY”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Get deliveries from here and it is great Chinese food. Fresh, I like the king prawn chop suey with fried rice, loads of fresh Chinese veg and huge prawns. Always fresh.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank isobel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    15
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great chinese on the decline?”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Been a Golden Swallow customer almost every week since before Mrs Yip took over. In the last few months, not sure whats going on, maybe new chef, but food not been up to standards which have been there a along time.....circa 1985, when I first went, had a carry out last night, was mediocre, not terrible but not what I have been used to. This has happened a few times in last couple of months. Sad really, but I suppose nothing lasts forever. The staff are all driving about in flash cars, complacency set in? Dont forget your customers and your quality etc

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubbster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst i ever had !!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

beef curry (meant to be) meat was white, gravy was like water, on plus side prawn crackers were good, binned, never again be back, this was a take away.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We came here on New Years eve. Was looking forward to a nice meal as have had carry outs in the past.

It was a HUGE LET DOWN.

We ordered half crispy duck with pancakes.. duck was rubbery and full of fat . Not crispy as it should have been.

There was a 10% service charge on a table of 4!!!.

We will never be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“If a Chinese restaurant was run by Basil Fawlty...”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you approach eating here with a sense of humour you should be fine. The lady who was front of house when we - a work group of about 12 - went for lunch veered between being really lovely and helpful and being downright rude, it was hard to keep up!

Admittedly, it can be hard serving a large group but it wasn't a good start when about a third of the spring roll starters that came out were still frozen in the middle - not just cold, properly frozen. They were taken back to the kitchen quickly and someone in there had a strip and half torn off them rather loudly. When the replacements came back out they were fine but those of us who had had to wait had to finish very quickly so the rest of the group didn't have to wait too long for their mains.

While we waited for the mains we asked the lady to take a group photo of us and she was more than happy to do so, smiling and laughing as she tried to work out how the camera worked.

The mains came and were fine - decent enough for the low price. A bit MSG-y but fine nonetheless.

As it was a lunch deal we ordered our desserts quickly but some people had to get back to the office. We asked if the desserts for those people could be put in takeaway containers but were told no, really rudely, despite the fact the restaurant does takeaway so obviously had containers in the kitchen. Ten minutes or so of good-natured badgering resulted in us being given the desserts after all, most likely as a means of getting us out of the restaurant as it was past kicking out time.

As I said, if you approach with a sense of humour and bear in mind that when they say lunch finishes at 2pm it really does, you can have an okay, decent value meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Swallow also viewed

 
Livingston, West Lothian
Bathgate, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
Bathgate, West Lothian
 

Been to Golden Swallow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing