We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow!!! Amazing pre-wedding house!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
minnie201
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

House needs alot of work, hot tub broken saw a MOUSE in the kitchen and AWFUL AWFUL attitude from the owners!!!!!! The price they charge is ridiculous and didnt offer any compo for such a shockingly bad stay!!!! Dont recommend this house at all!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

It's unfortunate that you have decided to have every member of your party leave a review, especially as you have been compensated for the hot tub not working. As previously mentioned, we have made some improvements based on feedback regarding the hot tub and we are confident that our guests will enjoy the facilities and this certainly seems to have been the case from more recent positive reviews.

There was no reporting of a mouse, so I'm afraid I cannot comment on that.

You were aware of the price at the time of booking, and you have subsequently been given compensation for the hot tub not working.

We feel this matter has now been dealt with and I'm disappointed that you feel the need to continue to leave multiple poor reviews.


Regards,


Justin McCarthy
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shell2909
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Amazing pre-wedding house!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

12 of us stayed here the night before my wedding, with them staying a second night on the day of my wedding. It was honestly amazing. Every single one of us were blown away with how big the house was. It was so clean and well presented. Exactly what I was looking for.

The hot tub was a wee added bonus and set the tone for the night. We had to be out by 10 but we had the pool to go in later. We never had time for the sauna but had we been there longer we wouldve used it.

Can't expressed how great this house was. It was perfect. Communication between the owners/agents were second to none. Will defo be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are delighted you all enjoyed Woodfield and hope to welcome you all again in the near future .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in idyllic settings.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Woodfield house was booked as a weeks holiday for the whole family. Upon arrival we had been previously emailed with the arrangements to enter the house, which was excellent as we did not have to wait for someone to let us in to the property. First impressions were of excitement. The swimming pool was bigger than we expected and the hot tub was a lovely addition to the house. My children loved the hot tub and the swimming pool and it was almost impossible to get them to go to bed of an evening, as they wanted to stay inside. The gardens were lovely and well maintained. The sun room was a lovely feature to the house, especially eating our breakfast in there in the mornings. The house was cleaned well, with all beds made up on arrival with towels provided for everyone. The owner is very nice and came to see us at the property on the third day to check if everything was OK. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: had two dryers but one of them was not working properly.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are delighted you all enjoyed Woodfield and hope to welcome you all again in the near future Sam :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz457
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Broken hot tub and terrible Aftercare”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Woodfield House was booked as a hen party location for a Friday-Sunday stay. The house was booked because bride-to-be really wanted somewhere with a hot tub. We didn't go near the hot tub on the Friday night after arriving because we had a theme night and were dressed in costumes...the plan was hot tub, pool and sauna Saturday. Didn't happen!
The hot tub had a huge leak and the water level was way down a foot below the required level on Saturday morning. As a result, the heating element had gone off and it was sitting at 22 degrees. The main contact, a man, arrived and his response was unhelpful to say the least. Apparently it was heated perfectly for us arriving and we "should've gone in it the night before". I felt this was rather cheeky.
He left us running back and forth all day with pans of boiling water and by 9 o'clock at night we managed to get the temperature up to a tepid 35 degrees, leaving us 1 hour before the 10 o'clock curfew. It was like faulty towers...the slightest breeze and the side panel fell off. Many of the jets were off or had very little power! It really put a dampener on the weekend.
We wouldn't have minded if there was some kind of good will gesture or timely apology, not silence. It was only after and email to a female contact that we got an apology and she even admitted they had been having problems with the hot tub (a statement that is now being denied)!
I would not go back to Woodfield house when there are so many more professional lodges/houses to rent with first class customer service. Your money will be better spent elsewhere!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
I'm sorry that your experience at Woodfield House did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we did experience issues with the hot tub during your stay and this has been rectified now. We have taken your feedback on board and have created new procedures and service standards to ensure this does not happen again.

We have compensated your party for the inconvenience caused as well as provided a full written apology. Please let me extend a further apology to you here and assure you that your feedback has been useful and action has been taken.

Kind regards....


Justin McCarthy
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice house with some disappointment”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house itself is beautiful and clean, however we were not notified of the broken hot tub and as stated in the agreement we should have been. When the owner arrived to 'check' on us on our second day he informed us he was aware of the problem and had been the day before, before we had arrived to fill it as it needed a new pump, he then showed us how the water was visibly pouring out the broken pump and then informed us that it would take until at least 5pm to heat with to an appropriate temperature with the hose kept in putting continuous cold water into the tub, climbing around 2 degrees every hour, this was around 10am and as we were on a weekend away it interfered with our other plans. Eventually at 9pm the hot tub was an appropriate temp however some of the ladies felt it was too late to use and did not go in. The ladies that did go in as the rules state no use after 10pm there was only 1 hour of proper usage. We did try go in around 2/3 pm but it was far too cold to enjoy and got back out after fifteen minutes. The owners attitude towards the whole situation was lackadaisical and never bothered to come back or phone or email (optional contact provided in the handbook by the owner) to check if everything had been sorted. Also when notified the panel on the side of the hot tub kept coming off his reply was "it does that" Nothing has been offered to compensate this and as one of the main features of the house, and something the group had been looking forward to I must say we were all very disappointed with the owners attitude and how the situation was handled. Even now he remains very unhelpful and reluctant to resolve the situation putting a bad memory on our great weekend away.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: broken hot tub, owners attitude
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
I'm sorry that your experience at Woodfield House did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we did experience issues with the hot tub during your stay and this has been rectified now. We have taken your feedback on board and have created new procedures and service standards to ensure this does not happen again.

We have compensated your party for the inconvenience caused as well as provided a full written apology. Please let me extend a further apology to you here and assure you that your feedback has been useful and action has been taken.

Kind regards....


Justin McCarthy
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alyson p
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Booked house for hen do, hot tub not working only able to use for 1 hours over 3 day stay. When owner arrived on second day for no apparent reason and we told him it was not at temperature, he cheekily stated "well we should have used it yesterday". I did not expect when the house was booked for 3 days to only be able to use the hot tub when it suited him not my guests.
When we then spoke to the house keeper she stated they had been having problems with the hot tub. This was not made clear to us. Owners were rude and unapologetic and offered no appropriate compensation

I would not reccommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: customer service. cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
I'm sorry that your experience at Woodfield House did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we did experience issues with the hot tub during your stay and this has been rectified now. We have taken your feedback on board and have created new procedures and service standards to ensure this does not happen again.

We have compensated your party for the inconvenience caused as well as provided a full written apology. Please let me extend a further apology to you here and assure you that your feedback has been useful and action has been taken.

Kind regards....


Justin McCarthy
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great party house”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very modern with all mod cons(although the dish washer was not working on our weekend, not a good start with a group of women away fro the weekend) the pool and the hot tub were a bonus, we had to call some one out on the saturday to look at it, he was very patient and understanding even taking the time to take photographs for us. we had excellent weather so the hot tub was well used. plenty of plastic glasses for drinks at the hot tub
We go away every year to luxury properties and enjoyd our weekend here.,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and hot tub
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are delighted you all enjoyed Woodfield and hope to welcome you all again in the near future Sam :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing