We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Smarhus Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smarhus - small house in old Norse Living area south facing onto Oak woodland
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
30 reviews
Smarhus - small house in old Norse
Living area south facing onto Oak woodland
Dining area
Kitchen
Double bedroom - king sized bed
Twin bedded room
Quality bed linen and towels
Shower room
Cottage driveway and private parking
Cottage front door
Outside deck area leading from living area
Eating outside on south facing deck
Deck  area floral display
Summer time - Himalyan Musk rose
Cottage from west elevation
Early summer garden blooms
Summer time floral display
Cottage frontage in summer bloom
South facing decked area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boxford Suffolk UK
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Far superior to most cottages
Liked least: Mattress too firm (this is matter of individual taste)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ann b
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“5 Star Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This cottage is the most beautiful place to stay. We stayed for 3 weeks. So clean and relaxing. Andrew and Evelyn could not be any more accomodating if they tried. Easy access to trains to all cities. Close to all ammenities. I recommend this cottage to anyone who likes being spoilt with everything this home has to offer. You will not find any better place to stay whilst in Scotland.
Thank you for making our trip very enjoyable.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything it had to offer
Liked least: no faults. it would be impossible to find any
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VixsB
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet location in a lovely setting with only a short distance to amenities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay for our week in May. The property was very clean and had everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Small touches such as washing up liquid and sandwich bags made all the difference. We had a lovely hamper waiting for us on arrival. Beds were very comfortable, lots of towels. The wif-fi connection was good and stable. The location was lovely and quiet with views of the farmland and wooded areas surrounding the property. Although it seemed off the beaten track we were only a few minutes from the closest town and supermarkets. We found this was a really good place in which to explore the surrounding areas and Edinburgh. We caught the train To Edinburgh from Bathgate which has free parking. Also places such as Falkirk weren't very far away. We would really recommend this to anyone wishing to be close to Edinburgh but without the hustle and buslte of the city. The owners were lovely and introduced themselves on the last day.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: We had no issues.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The setting.Peace and quiet yet near to edinburgh.Underfloor heating
Liked least: I only booked a week wish it could of been longer!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
montydog6...
central scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean & cosy comfort in a peaceful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We were extremely well looked after and welcomed to Andrew & Evelyn's lovely cottage, which was well appointed and had great views. The cottage is in a perfect setting to catch Glasgow/Edinburgh/Stirling & Falkirk easily, with St Andrews and the trossachs also within easy reach.
A very handy home from home

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: clean & comfortable
Liked least: weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newenglan...
Boston
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is sparkling clean, well stocked and the owners are very nice and go out of their way to make sure everything is in order. We didn't get to use it this time but there is a nice deck. The unit has a cozy living room with an electric fire and there is a full kitchen.There is also a washer and dryer so you can pack lighter.
We enjoyed the goodie basket left for our arrival. We will definitely return and would recommend the cottage.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It is close enough to family, airport, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Having a kitchen to prep meals.
Liked least: The rooster at the neighboring farm!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage in August 2011 as i was attending a cake decorating course for one week and my husband got to have a week of golf. The cottage is absolutely beautifully decorated and every need has been thought of, Evelyn and Andrew are a wonderful couple and we received a lovely warm welcome. I highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The tranquil setting
Liked least: there was nothing i didn't like
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing