We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt right at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springrove House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bathgate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springrove House
Ranked #1 of 8 Bathgate B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“We felt right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

The three of us stayed for 5 nights in October 2012 in the twin and double rooms, both en suite.
The whole of the house is finished to a high standard and very tastefully decorated, light and bright. Big comfy beds and little pleasant touches everywhere, like extra blankets in the room, a small fridge for the guests' use.
Louise's delicious and opulent breakfasts gave us a great start to each day, and her and Martin's open and friendly attitude is heart-warming. We were visiting family nearby but felt right at home in Springrove House too ! Easy access with off-street parking and a bus stop literally just outside the gate, see for yourself on Google Street View ! Bathgate is a charming town, the former parish church seen on its Wiki page adjoins the B&B. We browsed all the little shops in the pedestrian area, and had a day in Glasgow, easily reached by direct train.
This was our first visit, but we're sure to come back !

Room Tip: The twin/family room has a full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3-Dutch-Adults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Anyone travelling to Edinburgh and any other local destinations I would recommend this place. By car, train or bike it's suited for all travellers. 5-10 mins nice walk to the station with links to all the cities. Laid back and friendly hosts making the stay feel fantastic, and the breakfast whether it's the full Scottish or the continental breakfast will never disappoint.

Room Tip: En-suite preferred choice but the other two rooms are equally as big of not bigger than the en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family and I would highly recommend this lovely B&B. It's in a great location for travelling to Edinburgh, Glasgow and other surrounding areas. Bathgate also has a lot to offer. Louise and Martin are lovely and will do anything for you. Nothing is too much trouble. The full Scottish/continental breakfast is delicious. We have stayed here three times now and are looking forward to our fourth stay in September.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fandaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

It's not the spacious and comfortable rooms, nor the scrumptious full-Scottish breakfast on offer that makes this one of the best Bed & Breakfast's I've ever stayed in.
It's the owners!
Martin and Louise have a laid-back friendly way with their guests which make staying at the Springrove House an absolute joy.
Special B&B.- Special couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I just wanted to recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to the Edinburgh area, even before we arrived Louise was more than helpful and when we did arrive the welcome we recieved was not that of strangers or guests but of old friends returning. Nothing was too much trouble , tha accomodation was fantastic and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you Louise and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

stayed here for two nights midweek, the welcome was warm and friendly, nice comfortable bedroom with en-suite. Felt more like a farmhouse B and B with a large room where you had your breakfast. Breakfast was hearty with more than enough to eat. The owners ran us to the train station a couple of times which saved us a taxi fare ( the train station is about a 10-15 minute walk away). If your looking for a place to stay for visits to Edinburgh or Glasgow, it is an excellent option.Thank you Louise, Caroline and Martin :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathgate
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bathgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.5 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springrove House

Property: Springrove House
Address: Springrove House Edinburgh Road, Bathgate EH48 1ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Bathgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bathgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springrove House is located in Bathgate, West Lothian. A small market town, Bathgate has the distinct advantage of being centrally located between both Edinburgh and Glasgow. The Scottish Borders and Stirling, the Gateway to the Highlands, are accessible within a 30/40 minute drive. We are an ideal base for a Scottish sight-seeing holiday or a business trip. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springrove House Bathgate, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing