We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was in peace”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was in peace”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 days, I simply loved it, the staff is very courteous nd helpful, I really felt so much in peace nd tranquility. Breakfast was excellent, the service is great, would definitely come here again and would recommend it to evrybody. 5☆from me.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizadastgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    72
    48
    27
    23
See reviews for
68
52
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed last night with a colleague on business.
A very nice hotel only 15 mins from airport, food good, room nice, but staff... excellent!
Couldn't do enough for me, so friendly, a really nice stay!
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I have to say I was very disappointed at the Cairn restaurant last night.Main meal was warm at best.Had to ask for dessert to be reheated.Service was poor also.Now i have been many times and found it faultless.but was so bad i feel i wont be back to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank karenspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Went here for a team meeting, plenty of snack food on offer, in fact portion sizes were massive, food hot and good quality.
Slept well, room was fine although Motorway noise as it's very close.
Breakfast was good, no problems at all - a good Scottish breakfast offered with Porridge etc so filled up for long drive back.
Receptionist was a little "curt", nothing wrong with a smile and some friendly tones.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatdadkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Friday night, for a celebration.The staff were very welcoming, from the minute we arrive nothing was too much trouble for them.
The room was nicely appointed, nice white bed linen and towels.
The meal that we had was very nice and they gave us a private room to boot.
All in all a good experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had dinner for my husbands 65th birthday and I would have been ashamed to serve the meal that we had. The pate was tasteless, the fritters should have been 1 haggis and 1 black pudding. My son got 2 haggis and my son in law 2 black pudding. The salad dressing was so strong tasting of vinegar you could not taste anything else on the plate. The main course was no better, the meal was barely warm, the chicken was dry, the salmon was tasteless, the coucous was disgusting. Chicken balmoral was served with mashed potato with chopped ham???? My grandson had macaroni which was tasteless. We were not offered the sweet course, nor were we offered tea/coffee although we were charged for 3 courses. I have been to the Cairn a few times for meals and recommended it to others, however this will not be the case now.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I can not recommend this hotel enough. After my car broke down and i found myself stranded the staff here really looked after me. The room was spotless and the food was amazing( chef is a genius!) Biggest thanks must go to the staff for really going over and above any expectations for customer service. A true credit to the friendliest hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicholaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathgate
3.7 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#1 of 4 in Livingston
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
517 reviews
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
9.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Blackburn Road, Bathgate EH48 2EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Bathgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairn Hotel is centrally located between Glasgow and Edinburgh just off the M8. There is now a new Railway Station in Bathgate with direct links to Edinburgh and Glasgow. The 61 en suite bedrooms have all been tastefully decorated to a 3 star standard and combine traditional comfort with up to date facilities to make your stay a pleasurable and productive one. The hotel also offers free parking and houses a lounge, bar and restaurant where the friendly atmosphere makes for a relaxed and casual dining experience. As soon as you arrive at the Cairn Hotel the staff will strive to meet your every feasible wants and needs with a friendly and courteous approach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Bathgate, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing