We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food ok but service not great”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“food ok but service not great”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

the food here is ok but I would not go back.
I have been 3 times now with friends and we thought it would get better but sadly it did not.
think the staff need some training.
the décor is a bit dated and it could be doing with a make over.
the price is not bad but that reflects the quality of the food.
would avoid going back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    74
    51
    27
    24
See reviews for
71
54
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

As per previous reviewer I had a terrible experience, on eating my meal I crunched on what I believe to have been a small piece of glass, I advised one of the servers who questioned me about what had been broken on our table, when I advised nothing had been broken and suggested perhaps something had been broken in the kitchen she looked at me as though I were mad to suggest such a thing, she took the piece of ' glass' away and said she would notify owners.

The Female owner approached me and again questioned me about what had been broken on our table and preceded to unhygenically run her fingers round the inside of the jug and glass we were drinking from looking for something broken!! She never once apologised at this stage and asked for the piece of 'glass' I advised the server had taken this away.

She came back to advise this was not glass but actually rock salt and said she was so happy to have "got to the bottom of it" I do not believe it was rock salt but it was not open for discussion and on returning home I emailed the Hotel as I was extremely dissatisfied.

About 3 or 4 days later I received a patronising reply from the Male owner which was to me abrupt and passive aggresive in its wording. He told me that everyone else in the Hotel that day had given him excellent feedback.

To him it seemed my complaint was futile and he only seemed to be interested in his 'excellent feedback' which is a shame as a bad experience stays with you longer than a good one and a few differently chosen words in his reply could have made all the difference to my opinion of their customer service.

On a plus point the young servers and the receptionist were absolutely excellent and the overall cleanliness of the Hotel seemed good however I will never set foot in this place again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cooshty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bathgate hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Thanks to everyone at the Cairn Hotel for a lovely meal on Saturday 14 December,

The food was delicious and beautifully presented and the staff were attentive and helpful. Well done ... we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This year for our work Christmas night out we went to the Cairn hotel. We had arrived early so enjoyed a few drinks in the bar where the staff were very nice and helpful. Enjoyed the meal, never had any complaints at all from anybody in our party! When I first read the menu it looked like a typical Christmas menu, but the soup was something else, could have ate it all night! The rest of the dinner was lovely and was well and truly full for the rest of the night! The tribute acts were a great laugh, she got everyone on their feet and laughing especially! All the staff couldn't have been nicer, the service was very quick all night in the bar and serving dinner.
Great night!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 days, I simply loved it, the staff is very courteous nd helpful, I really felt so much in peace nd tranquility. Breakfast was excellent, the service is great, would definitely come here again and would recommend it to evrybody. 5☆from me.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizadastgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed last night with a colleague on business.
A very nice hotel only 15 mins from airport, food good, room nice, but staff... excellent!
Couldn't do enough for me, so friendly, a really nice stay!
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I have to say I was very disappointed at the Cairn restaurant last night.Main meal was warm at best.Had to ask for dessert to be reheated.Service was poor also.Now i have been many times and found it faultless.but was so bad i feel i wont be back to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank karenspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathgate
2.3 mi away
Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
4.7 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
534 reviews
3.7 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
294 reviews
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
6.1 mi away
West Port Hotel
West Port Hotel
#2 of 2 in Linlithgow
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Blackburn Road, Bathgate EH48 2EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Bathgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairn Hotel is centrally located between Glasgow and Edinburgh just off the M8. There is now a new Railway Station in Bathgate with direct links to Edinburgh and Glasgow. The 61 en suite bedrooms have all been tastefully decorated to a 3 star standard and combine traditional comfort with up to date facilities to make your stay a pleasurable and productive one. The hotel also offers free parking and houses a lounge, bar and restaurant where the friendly atmosphere makes for a relaxed and casual dining experience. As soon as you arrive at the Cairn Hotel the staff will strive to meet your every feasible wants and needs with a friendly and courteous approach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Cancelon, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Bathgate, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing