We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food and lovely staff.”

Balbairdie Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 57 Restaurants in Bathgate
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Balbairdie prides itself on being a friendly, family run restaurant that focuses on deliverying quality food at reasonable prices. Our menu is comprised of home made family favourites along with our chef's specials which change regularly. Our options for children are from the house menu, just made in smaller portions, this could also be an option for the elderly if requested. Our steak pie and home made chicken goujons are always a winner with kids.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice food and lovely staff.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I had a lovely meal at Balbardine on Sunday 8th, have to agree with last review the portion was a bit smaller than you would usually get in a pub but that was made up for in the quality of the food served.The veg was not over cooked which is the norm home made chips, crisp pastry with filling actually between the pastry and not the usual a stew with a pastry top dropped on at the last minute. I would rather have a shortened menu with items made on the premises rather than a large selection of bought in dishes. Plus £8 for a main course on a Sunday isn't too expensive, maybe charge a bit more and give larger portions but not compromise on the way you cook the food.
Only put average for atmosphere as the eating area is not as nice as the bar area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ATChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    20
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitburn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but poor quantity”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited the Balbardie today as we hadn't been for over a year,never ordered a starter as we thought we wouldn't manage our main meal.How wrong we wee,we ordered the steak pie,when it eventually arrived we saw a huge plate with about 10 chips a few veg and a very small portion of steak hiding inside a pastry cut in two and all this for £8.Also there was a very poor selection on the dessert menu.Must admit though the steak pie was nice just not enough for price of it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best around”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I ate there last week and the food was fantastic,,,he ordered the steak pie ,,MMMM and I had the shrimp scampi was wonderful,, great food , atmosphere and wonderful hospitality,, thank you for such warm welcome,,,Mike and Sandy from Ireland xo will be back please God xo

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sandramarie505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh food, great service and great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is the best food I have tried so far in west lothian . Me and my parter have already booked a table for our next day off. Can't wait to try more. Love the food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank angelikamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely wee place! :)”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Went in for some lunch for the 1st time last week. Lovely wee place, staff very friendly and helpful. Food fresh an tasty. Enjoyable lunch :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty24barr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balbairdie Restaurant also viewed

Bathgate, West Lothian
 
Bathgate, West Lothian
Bathgate, West Lothian
 

Been to Balbairdie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing