We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“prime location” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1912

1912
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Bathgate
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“prime location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

the clientele were so far up there own back side munching on cheese and wine on sunday after noon looking down their noses at me and my partner who were having a laugh over our lunch all the tuts and looks and l ain`t no ned and my partner certainly ain't one either, even the staff were giving the looks of disgust and No were we`er drunk and ain't cheap either .Sadly the service is apathetic and the food is lacklustre at best. so won`t be going back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank dsurt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    100
    57
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very let down by the level of service. Good food & drink but staff more interested in chatting to each other rather than looking after their customers. Won't be back and won't recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gheathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's gotten worse!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

So I tried to rationalise that the place was new, would have teething problems and eventually sort them out. I was wrong. I came to meet some friends one of whom lives abroad so she really wanted to try out "Bathgates trendy new eatery". Well none of us were happy with the 'meal' nor the slow service. The room is lovely but the proprietors need to get on top of the glaring issues, namely terrible, overpriced food and uninterested staff. I can't for the life of me understand how some reviewers are saying the food is good. It's abysmal. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
19 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West lothian
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Could be a shining star but isn't ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I am a regular to this place because the food is good, entertainment on Sundays good and the owner is a nice guy. Unfortunately the poor service is a constant let down. Even more so it's sad to see the place so poorly managed and staff lack training and guidance. The manager sets a poor role model constantly turning people away when the place is half empty saying the tables are reserved, yes for 2 hours later! Staff are all over place and often do not know how to make the cocktails. Although I am a regular the manager still does not greet me with a smile and always makes me feel like he is doing me a favour. I know many people who have been treated the same so now do not go. I hope you read this David and let your manager know the standards you expect as funnily enough when you are in it's much better service.

Helpful?
7 Thank WestlothianMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visited 1912 for the first time. It has a good trendy bistro vibe about it with friendly and efficient staff who are smartly dressed. The menu was simple but good. The quality of the food was very good I had the chicken and guacamole wrap. You could taste the freshly cooked chicken which was lovely. Presentation was good. My husband had the burger which he said was very good. Overall it was good value for money. This place is definitely an asset to Bathgate. We will certainly return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank June164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1912 also viewed

Bathgate, West Lothian
 
Bathgate, West Lothian
Bathgate, West Lothian
 
Bathgate, West Lothian
 

Been to 1912? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing