We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of Kaim Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaim Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Booked this hotel to accommodate a family celebration. Check- in staff member very pleasant and helpful. Room very small but clean. Shower room also very small. On returning to hotel, music from downstair's bar was loud and could clearly be heard in room. Two requests later, volume was reduced. This was at 12.45 am. Breakfast offered plenty variety, but served on cold plates. All in all, has potential to be so much better.

Room Tip: Bar is open until 1 am. Request a room away from that vicinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here in order to attend a family wedding at a nearby venue. (The Vu) The location was good for us this as the venue was only 10 minutes in a taxi. We checked in and staff were very pleasant and helpful. We found our room no problem as it was on the ground floor . When we opened the door it hit the bed and the single wardrobe was behind the door (when it was open )and that was hard against the bed too. The breadth of the door was all the space there was all round the double bed, and the bathroom had the smallest shower cubicle I have ever seen! There was no mirror in the room and the lack of space concerned me, not only as I am slightly claustrophobic but also because we had outfits on hangers with accessories for the next day and very little room in which to change into them.
I decided to ask if there was a larger room available. The member of staff at reception was very pleasant and helpful and said that the king size rooms were all taken and most of the rooms were small due to it being an older style building but the one next door to the one we had been given was slightly bigger and showed it to me . It had more ground space and a bigger bathroom with a bath and a shower over it. It also had a dressing table with a mirror so at least I would be able to see my top half when I dressed. I accepted that room,
The bed was fairly comfy and the linen was clean although the cups beside the kettle could have done with a good wash as they were very stained. The whole room could have done with a lick of paint to freshen and brighten it up and the tiling inthe bathroom was a bit jaded.
However , on the other hand ,we ate in the restaurant , which offered a good variety of dishes at very reasonable prices and the food was excellent. The restaurant was airy and pleasant, clean and modern.
We later visited the bar and seated area next to it which was very relaxing and bar prices were reasonable too.The bar man was friendly and allowed me to taste 2 wines before opting for which one I preferred which I thought was a very nice touch.
Breakfast was buffet style and offered a good variety of usual breakfast foods. You could make your own toast and fill up from the coffee/tea pots as much as you wished.
On checking out I went to pay the bill and it had been miscalculated(£15 overcharged due to the wrong room rate being applied) but when I queried this the receptionist apologised and sorted it out no problem.
I

Room Tip: Ask for a king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked into hotel and found the room to extremely small with a badley stained carpet, the bathroom was one of the smallest I have ever seen, the shower head fell off the wall when I tried to adjust it. The mattress had more rolls than the Atlantic Ocean. Saw more burned out light bulbs than any hotel I have ever stayed in. On the good side the breakfast was excellent and there is lots of parking also I heard that some of the rooms have been updated but not our section, so if you stay ask for updated room, hopefully they are better than the room I had

Room Tip: Ask for updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haggisbasher1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked this hotel for one night so we could visit our grandson who was performing in the Edinburgh Tattoo. This was a very busy week for Edinburgh so was pleasantly surprised for the price of the room. Although the room was dated and the shower cubicle small and the bed a little lumpy the room was very clean and the bedding was clean and crisp, pillows seemed to be good quality too.We ate in the restaurant the night we stayed and had no problems with the food it was lovely and good size portions and the service was excellent. At breakfast there was plenty of food and anything you needed was brought to you without any quibble.The waiting staff are lovely and very helpful. Would stay again. We stayed 17th August 2013

Room Tip: Only stayed one night so can't really comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

A pleasant enough experience.
The room was a little small. With the tiniest bathroom I've ever known. The staff are very helpful, and nothing was a bother for them. A good breakfast and the meals in the restaurant very nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at the Kaim Park on Saturday 10th Aug 13. On checking in at Reception we were informed that we would need to pay in advance (we have never stayed in a hotel where you have to pay before you stay). On arriving in our room it was very small to say the least and was very dated and tatty. The carpet was heavily stained and need a thorough cleaning or better still replacing. The bathroom was grubby and the grouting in the shower was filthy. The towel rack was broken off and there was nowhere to hang your towel when having a shower. On the Sunday morning we went for breakfast. It was a buffet style breakfast and all the food (sausage, bacon, black pudding etc) were in hot trays. When I went to eat my cooked breakfast it was freezing and had obviously been sitting for a long time. We only stayed at this hotel for one night, as we were going to a family engagement party. The room, the shower and the food were awful and if we had not been forced to pay in advance I would have refused to pay. I wish I had paid attention to some of the other awful reviews, but we thought it's only for one night. This hotel is terrible and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently and was very disappointed. Room 15 has a hard bed and is very small. There was noise from the ajoining room which was only divided by a door, not a wall. The shower was so small you could hardly bend down. It had such a weak flow of water that I found I still had soap in my hair the next day.

Whilst the welcome from the staff was warm and friendly, it was the small things that let the hotel down - like not providing hand towels or bath mats or drinking glasses in the room. No teapot and no saucers and not enough milk. The breakfast was served on cold plates and the breakfast buffet kept running out of bread and bacon. In a word- could do better!

Room Tip: Don't choose room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire_wit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathgate
0.5 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bathgate
270 reviews
3.5 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
63 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
564 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaim Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaim Park Hotel

Address: 17 Edinburgh Road, Bathgate EH48 1EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Bathgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaim Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Kaim Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaim Park Hotel Bathgate, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing