We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break here..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airth Castle & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
Inverness
2 reviews
“Wonderful break here..”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Some people have reviewed this hotel unfavorably of late We do not know if their views were well founded and we admit that, having read the reviews, we arrived with low expectations last Friday. However, our experience over a three day break was wonderful - great food, lovely staff, good accommodation. The only problem, a faulty radiator valve, was rectified short-term by a cheerful porter with a spanner and then to our great delight for the rest of our stay with a room shift/upgrade.

In conclusion a great hotel in a great location giving us a great break..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank in10de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful three day stay. The team at Airth Castle will be very pleased to read that not only did you think the team were helpful but that you found the food to be good. We hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    491
    442
    292
    260
See reviews for
391
829
28
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay here which we very much enjoyed. Our room was spacious & clean. Really liked the spa facilities & the kids spent a lot of time in the pool. Found the staff very friendly. Food in the restaurant was ok but found their vegetarian options very disappointing. The rarebit I had on the 2nd night was horrible. Opted to eat out in stirling our 3rd night. Breakfast very good & scrambled eggs best I've tasted. The only real complaint would be the bar service. Was VERY slow. Both nights we had to chase up our wine ordered with meal & 3rd night still hasn't received our drinks 1/2hr after ordering although we did get apology & free drinks! Would defo stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shazbo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Airth Castle Hotel &Spa. I am very pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable three day stay. The leisure team will be pleased that your family enjoyed using all of the leisure and spa facilities. I will pass on all of your comments and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Spent weekend at Airth Castle attending a conference. Facilities were excellent and dining was worth special mention. The meal in the resturant was outstanding with excellent choices and first class service. Hotel s always busy and a popular wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsmiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Airth Castle Hotel &Spa. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay whilst attending the conference and that you found all of the facilities at Airth Castle to be excellent. I will pass your comments regarding dinner to the team and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We would like to thank all the Staff at this Wonderful Castle Hotel and Spa
We went there for Lorraine's Birthday and was not disappointed the staff were very attentive from the moment we arrived till the minute we left .
The rooms were spotless and fresh(We were in room 234 then 133) the food was superb and the breakfast kept me going all day and so tasty as was all the food
5th Oct/6th Oct

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. The team was delighted to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay for a birthday celebration. We were very happy to read that not only was the team helpful but that you also food the food to be delicious. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went to the one day spa offer at this hotel today. We had a one hour massage, mini facial, then a swim, sauna, Turkish, and jaccusi . To finish off, we had afternoon tea.
What a treat! The place is immaculate, staff friendly and polite. We each asked for a different type of massage, and we got exactly what we wanted. The afternoon tea was served by a lovely oldish couple, and consisted of a large amount of fresh sandwiches( varied), warm scones with jam and clotted cream, and a selection of tiny cakes. No problem to get de caffeinated coffee. There was a large selection of teas in the relaxing room which you helped yourself to whenever you wanted.
A great experience, now waiting for their next deal.
To find the spa, you drive past the front of the hotel. We had no bother parking.

Room Tip: We didn't stay there, just had a day pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your Spa Day at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic day at the Spa and that you found the whole experience to be a real treat. The treatments and relaxing atmosphere within the leisure facilities do provide a great escape and the Afternoon Tea is a great way to finish off your day. I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team at Airth Castle and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting - hidden just off main road. Reception couldn't be more friendly and extremely helpful. Great service in restaurant and good food.
Spa a little dated but helpful staff - compact but pool lovely , as was sauna and steam room. Rooms spacious but a little dated - once they are done I can see little that would prevent me from giving 5 stars - will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. We were delighted to read that you found all of our team members to be helpful and friendly, I will pass on your kind comments to the team at Airth Castle. We have have taken on board all of your comments and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We bought a voucher from 5PM for here at a cost of £99 for one evening’s bed and breakfast and £40 towards the cost of dinner in the restaurant. It seemed like a good deal even after reading the negative reviews on here. On arrival we found the staff to be pleasant and welcoming. We were allocated a room on the ground floor opposite the dining room. First impressions of the room were not good. It looked tired and run down with lots of dirty marks on the walls and old furniture and dirty fixtures and fittings. The carpet was crumpled as if it had been recently lifted and not fitted back to correct place. The room had fittings for disabled access and the fittings for this hand rails etc rusting and had seen better days. The bathroom showed signs of ware with the grout needing re done. On looking at the bed sheets we found smatterings of blood on the covers.

Undeterred and looking to enjoy our stay we briefly forgot the room and spent few hours in the spa. Really enjoyable but top tip take a container for drinking water as there is none available in the spa only the sinks in the changing areas.

We went back to the room and although unhappy with it decided not to make and issue and go for dinner. Great dinner the food was top notch as was the service. We retired back to the room and on pulling back the bed sheets found even more blood splattering on the sheets. Am afraid this was the straw that broke the camel’s back!

We informed the duty manager about the contaminated sheets and we were moved to a new room situated in the castle. The manager was professional and a credit to the hotel, she provided us with a complementary drink in the bar and a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival in our new room.

I am always wary about buying vouchers from these companies for cut down rates. I feel that because you buy the voucher that you receive the lowest standard of room available. On reflection this seems to be what happened with us.The condition of the room was not that of a 4 star hotel in my opinion. This spoiled our trip to this hotel however i am genuinely greatful to the duty manager who made the room change in the late evening as smooth as we could have expected.

I have added a few pictures to show the issues we faced so that you can make your own mind up if you be happy paying the hotels rates to stay in the room we did (pictures not great but gives you a feel for the room). I have tried to give an honest and open rewiew of this hotel with it good as well as bad points. What was supposed to be a nice evning away turned into a bit of a bother and fuss and has left us a bit wary of using this chain of hotels again.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Genuine_Beefeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
As you can imagine I was very disappointed to read the review of your experience at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa. At the Aurora Hotel Collection, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airth
9.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
716 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
7.0 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
617 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airth Castle & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airth Castle & Hotel

Property: Airth Castle & Hotel
Address: Airth Castle Estate A905, Airth FK2 8JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Airth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airth Castle & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airth Castle & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airth Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle And Hotel
Castle Airth
Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle & Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing