We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airth Castle & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Night Stay ”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Pleasant night stay at the castle, on arrival no wine in room as was part of the deal, this was quickly put right on phoning reception.
The room in the castle itself was ok but a few bits and pieces need looked at, the handle on the cistern was in need of repair.
The shower was a non event as it is stuck on the wall about 5ft high and I am 6ft and could not even be adjusted without it coming out the holder, the pressure was also poor from it and trying to get a desirable temperature from the shower was impossible, 2 temps burning or cold.
The spa was very good although doors on steam and sauna rooms prove difficult to open and close. Changing areas are also small.
Restaurant and reception staff all very helpful and pleasant. The food in the restaurant was very good whether it was breakfast or dinner there are certainly something for everyone's appetites.
Bar prices seem to be run of the mill for the type of hotel, but was disappointed when asking for a pint of Guinness to be told that it was cans so do not let the tap on the bar fool you.
I would certainly return again as the break was very relaxing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alw671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    499
    451
    305
    278
See reviews for
406
853
29
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have stayed at Airth Castle before and it was a good experience however disappointed to see it has gone down hill in recent years. The first room we checked into was horrible; the bath had a lot of mould around the edges, the plaster on the ceiling was flaking off and the room was is desperate need of upgrading. We asked for another room and the staff dealt with it well offering us a refurbished room. The bathroom was clearly new however the room itself again need upgrading. The furniture was tatty, the bed had seen better days and it smelt unclean. The communal areas are tired and worn, not the standard you would expect for a 4 star. Unfortunately, we felt unable to stay due the general feeling of grubbiness so checked out again. It was meant to be a luxurious weekend break but it felt far from it.
Hope Airth Castle manage to return to their previous high standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airth hotels

Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Spacious, comfortable rooms. Hotel in a quiet area so B&B probably advised. Breakfast choice is good. Restaurant is comfortable , but it is set under a large glass pyramid roof and can be cool in colder weather. Dinners are very tasty fare and well served by smiling, friendly staff. Sunday evenings can be rather noisy when big parties are present.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The room was clean and looked newly refurbished, however, the wifi did not connect in our room even though it says on the website free wifi in rooms.
Dinner was nice and so was breakfast.
Main fault was with the leisure facilities this is a spa hotel, when we used the pool/spa there was a lot of children screaming making noise and throwing inflatables about. This was not relaxing at all- and would make me reconsider booking a stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fillipe-flop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Headed for some lunch and what a delight it was! So glad we chose to come here!!! It truley was delicious!! Excellent value for money and the service was impeccable!!! We had lentil soup to start which was excellent then followed by the rib eye beef which was huge and cooked perfectly the veg it was served with was awesome you could really taste the individual flavours of all the veg then the roast potatoes certainly 10out of 10!!! For dessert I had the ice cream which was a great selection and very delicious!!! Will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasses1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I really like this hotel and been staying for a few years now. I have to say unfortunately it's not as good as it used to be. Starting to look a little untidy, however there should be no reason for this, as there is plenty of staff milling around, all polite but don't seem to be doing anything. For this I have to blame the management. Member of the gym were moaning about how clean the changing rooms were and have to agree on both occasions I went down to the gym , the floor was dirty and no soap in the shower dispensers.
I had a nice evening meal ordered a drink which never came... Same happened at breakfast ordered coffee and had to ask again. The staff are there but either are not trained or interested, I sat at breakfast with 2 finished plates, until I left, nobody came to clear up, and 3 staff stood talking to each other and only moved when someone senior came out. These things are all easier remedied and I think they will get back to where they were. Having said this I would definitely stay again next time I am working in Scotland and hope the management get to grips with what's going on around them.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Bit dated for a Spa Hotel - large bedroom but tired looking as was the small bathroom Enjoyed dinner. Found the Spa technician very disinterested in her job and bordering on rude. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice and eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1990P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airth
9.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.4 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
554 reviews
7.0 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airth Castle & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airth Castle & Hotel

Property: Airth Castle & Hotel
Address: Airth Castle Estate A905, Airth FK2 8JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Airth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airth Castle & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airth Castle & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airth Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle And Hotel
Castle Airth
Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle & Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing