We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History at its Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Airth Castle & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wonderful stay! From the moment you go along the driveway you fell like your in an episode of Downton Abbey! The Hotel is both historic and beautiful, and has been preserved thoughtfully by its owners. I booked one of the rooms in the main castle and was not disappointed! Huge Bed, Huge Windows and views that were amazing, The Pool was excellent and the food was great too, Breakfast was particularly well done, generally a hard thing for hotels! I would stay again!

Room Tip: Choose a Castle Room, they are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JC1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed overnight when attending a wedding, no major complaints about the hotel but at £120 for a twin room, and that was wedding rates, it was way overpriced, the furniture in the room was very tired as was the bathroom but the bed was very comfy. In saying that the meal at the wedding was lovely and there was plenty of variety at breakfast the next morning and all the cooked food was fresh and hot. I do believe some of the rooms have been refurbished maybe there should be a discount for the rooms which have not had a make over yet.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We decided to stay here last minute for a couple of nights in August as we were on holiday. We were actually supposed to be camping up the west coast that week but the weather was so bad there we didn't go. So we just wanted to get away somewhere to chill.

I got a reasonable dinner, bed and breakfast rate for 2 x nights in a castle room which also included a bottle of bubbles on arrival and choc strawberries.

Our room was fine, clean enough, nice big bed and quite plain decor. The bathroom was a bit tired. One of the lamp shades was all bashed in. The walls out in the corridors had black marks all the way up from the bottom to the top floor. The shower was awful - the pressure was so bad and I always find this so disappointing when you are away somewhere but hey - it's an old castle - can't expect too much!

What really made it for us was the spa area and the food in the evenings which were amazing.
The pool/sauna/steam room area is lovely and relaxing. We used the facilities on both days just to go and chill for an hour or two. I was hoping to book a couple of treatments but unfortunately they had no appointments available so wasn't able to do this. I would advise you to book well in advance if you want to take advantage of this which we couldn't do as it was only booked the day before.
Food was great and we both really enjoyed our meals both nights. Our £50.00 dinner allowance each for each night went further than you would think and ended up basically just having to pay for drinks.

Breakfasts were just like any other hotel breakfast - average but fine.

On our 2nd day there was a box of chocolates left in our room which was a nice wee touch.

Overall the place is great for a relaxing break but if you're looking for something really special with that wow factor this might not be it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EMSM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited Airth Castle for a family wedding and stayed overnight, we arrived from the wedding ceremony before the main party and were welcomed by a short man in kilt, we were told to leave our luggage in the entrance hall of the main castle this was a big mistake as we had more than ample time to check in at the reception down the road, we were shown to an adjoining room where all the guests gathered and received canapés and drinks, on arrival of the wedding party the photographer called us group at a time into a large function room before we all followed the bride and groom to the other building, on arrival here we checked in along with another 50 people which caused congestion problems hence the reason we should have did this on arrival.
The main function hall was very well laid out and the food was delicious well served and hot, plates were collected smartly by a vast array of staff before we made way for the band and the evening celebrations, once this was over we made our way to our room, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and we had a great night sleep before enjoying a lovely buffet breakfast, (eggs are cooked at request), all in all a great place and thoroughly enjoyed our night

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tartanshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My rating and review are very much on the basis of Airth Castle and Hotel as a wedding venue. This team really know how to run a wedding from start to finish and the staff are very welcoming and accommodating. Airth is a great central and accessible location for guests and provides a lovely setting.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mikeymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at Airth Castle Hotel & Spa 8th - 10th August celebrating my 50th Birthday (albeit that was in July). Fantastic time. Staff very welcoming and pleasant. Evening dinner in restaurant very good. Breakfasts superb.... the Spa facilities excellent. A lovely calm and relaxing atmosphere. All in all a great weekend shared with special friends. Hope to make a return journey at some point in the future.

Room Tip: rooms a bit dated but certainly very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twins_on_Tour2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent 3 nights in the hotel and was located in the Castle itself which was very nice. Although the decor of the rooms is a bit old fashioned (I suppose you should expect that with it being a castle!) it was very clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good indeed and the bar and lounge areas were great areas to sit in. What makes this hotel special though is, without a doubt, the staff who are all very courteous, helpful and who just want you to enjoy your stay. Glynis for us proved to be the pick of the bunch but all of them were fantastic. Definitely will be back ...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airth
9.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
773 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
578 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airth Castle & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airth Castle & Hotel

Address: Airth Castle Estate A905, Airth FK2 8JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Airth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Airth
Price Range: £81 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airth Castle & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Airth Castle & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airth Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle And Hotel
Castle Airth
Castle Hotel Airth
Airth Castle & Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing