We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic wedding house party”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plane Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plane Castle The kitchen in the Manor House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Plane Castle
The kitchen in the Manor House
A snug sitting room on the ground floor of the manor House
Main Jacobean bedroom
One of the 15th century Tower bedrooms
Kitchen dining in the 15th Century Tower
The grand fire place in the 15th Century Tower with painted roof beams
One of the many bathrooms in the manor House and Tower
Twin room in the tower
Medieval banqueting hall in the Tower
Medieval banqueting hall
Dining room in the Manor
The Great Hall perfect for celebrations
View from the gardens
A wedding enjoying a pipe band
Great Hall seating area around the fireplace
Party time in the Great Hall
Wedding in the Great Hall
Set for a wedding in the courtyard (view from the battlements)
Banqueting Hall
Banqueting Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Airth, Falkirk District, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GDMH1970
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding house party”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Plane Castle for our weekend wedding house party, we couldn't have picked a better venue there was lots of room for us to have our close friends and family staying with us which we loved. We had our intimate ceremony in the tower dining room in front of the fireplace and then moved to the great hall for our house party. Sonja and Steve were fantastic and helped make our day run smoothly and went above and beyond to help. Our guests all loved the venue, the kids had fantastic fun exploring the castle grounds and the castle . The castle is steeped in history and every room tells a story. Plane Castle is a unique location for a wedding or a weekend away with friends and family. Thank you Sonja and Steve for everything you helped make our special day fantastic and an experience that we, our friends and family will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the castle is unique and quirky
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S
Fife, Washington
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing doesn't even cover it”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at this stunning location which hosted our hen weekend. It was more than I expected. So grand but homely, steeped in history. The pictures just dont do it justice. It can be a little difficult to find but that just adds to its charm.

Ever since I booked, Sonja has been wonderfully helpful. She offered loads of help in planning my sisters hen weekend. While we were there, Steve was there to show us round and was so helpful and relaxed, he shows great enthusiasm for the castle, its history and its assets.

The beds were comfortable, clean, the amenities are fantastic. I can't wait for our next visit

Thank You so much Sonja and Steve

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne B
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wedding party!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Plane Castle for 2 nights and had our wedding reception on the
Saturday night. The venue was amazing, everyone is raving about it. The hall was a good size for dancing, the rooms have lots of interesting tapestries etc on the walls that make for good talking points and he kitchens had everything we needed. The children loved exploring the secret passages and even got out onto the battlements in the morning to see the lovely views. Sonja and Steve are helpful, friendly and accommodating. We would love to go back. So many great memories from an amazing party!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Thank you so much Lynn & Chris, you were possibly our most innovative guests when it came to chilling the champagne:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaD198...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very memorable New Year's Eve in Plane Castle”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

18 of us hired Plane Castle for 3 nights over NYE. The location is good as you are about a 30/40 min drive from Edinburgh airport, but secluded enough when you get there. The castle is quite a bit off the main road so definitely hire a car. We ordered a huge Tesco delivery to the castle which made life easier and Sonja took it in for us.

We found that we spent most of our time in the main living room in the manor part of the building. It has a lovely big fireplace which we spent hours sitting around. The initial logs for the fire are free and then it is £5 to get another big load. We were able to take as much wet wood as we wanted, so we dried that by the fire. Wifi is available in the cottage beside the castle, however I quite liked not having access to the internet. It was nice to switch off!

There is plenty of living space, various rooms are dotted all over and there are 2 kitchens. We found that we did all our cooking in the kitchen in the manor as it was the biggest. I would say that it would be nice to have a bigger freezer in the main building. There is a small TV in the snug in the bottom of the castle, but we only turned this on for the countdown for NYE.

For quite an old building it was quite warm when the heating came on, but we liked grouping around the fire with our woolly jumpers and big socks on :) The main living room also sat 20 of us for dinner on one table for NYE which was great.

All in all I would highly recommend Plane Castle and would go back in a heartbeat. Sonja was very easy to work with and always responded quickly to my queries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forwards to meeting you again one day:-))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byanks
1 review
“Memorable”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Held my 30th here with friends. Amazing castle perfectly setup for dinners, relaxing afternoons, group breakfasts. All the comforts without being stuffy! Sonja and the staff who manage the castle are accommodating happy to accept deliveries and even unpack your shopping!! Couldn't recommend it more. Our weekend here will stay in our memories forever!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fandabydozy”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Wow....just back on mon from castle, 12 of us stayed inc 2 children, place was spotless and all the old tapestrys were beautifull, in the great hall we had dinner on saturday , we got a caterer in for this, it was amazing as we had a huge log fire burning, it felt really good, it is very peacefull as your surounded by fields and the castle itself has huge gardens with duck pond, wendy house for kids, statues, nooks and crannies, and orchard with pears plumbs, and apples, so we had a lovely apple pie, in the castle there iz also a secret passage , children loved this, it is a great place for a party or wedding or just a get together, would love to go on Halloween or christmas, we are certainly going to book up again soon.......oh bye the way its HAUNTED....COOL XX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved it all
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. You are welcome back anytime:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cfj98023
Federal Way, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The experience was magical”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Being a restored castle, one should expect some minor difficulties with electrical outlets, clothes washer, hard beds, dust, etc. However, in the cast of the Plane Castle the difficulties were very few. The setting was beautiful and the history exhibited on the walls was very interesting. There is no clothes dryer in either the Tower or Manor House, so be prepared to dry washed clothes on racks inside the establishment or on lines outside if weather permits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historical records, pictures, needlepoint, tapestries on the walls
Liked least: Hard beds
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing