We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“King for a day (or three)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plane Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plane Castle The kitchen in the Manor House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Plane Castle
The kitchen in the Manor House
A snug sitting room on the ground floor of the manor House
Main Jacobean bedroom
One of the 15th century Tower bedrooms
Kitchen dining in the 15th Century Tower
The grand fire place in the 15th Century Tower with painted roof beams
One of the many bathrooms in the manor House and Tower
Twin room in the tower
Medieval banqueting hall in the Tower
Medieval banqueting hall
Dining room in the Manor
The Great Hall perfect for celebrations
View from the gardens
A wedding enjoying a pipe band
Great Hall seating area around the fireplace
Party time in the Great Hall
Wedding in the Great Hall
Set for a wedding in the courtyard (view from the battlements)
Banqueting Hall
Banqueting Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Airth, Falkirk District, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RustyBinn
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“King for a day (or three)”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Plane for a family anniversary and it was fantastic. Steve and Sonja could not have been more helpful before, during and after our stay. The Castle is warm and welcoming and felt like home for our stay. It has everything we needed for a great time, inlcuding weather (I don't know if Steve and Sonja can control that every time). Go on, rent a Castle!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great big log fire in a great big room
Liked least: maybe the ghost....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Weather arranging is all part of the service:-) Hope to see you again one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali D
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming historical experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect venue for our reunion - we all stayed in the main part of the castle - on arrival, we were welcomed by Steve who gave us a full tour - he was very knowledgable of its history and the area - we had some laughs exploring the grounds and the interesting monuments. The castle's full of nooks and crannies, fabulous period furniture, yet it's comfortable and cosy at the same time, (I'd wondered if it would be a bit creepy and draughty..but quite the opposite...well maybe just a bit spooky). Lots of stairs, so be warned of that.
You can do self catering, but we opted for full service. On our first night Steve and Sonja (the hosts) arranged a delicious dinner for us in the kitchen, we then retired or drinks in the main hall - it was too warm to light the huge fireplace. The second night we ate and drank like Kings in the main hall - a memorable night.
Afternoon Trip - they took us to see a nearby abandoned mansion and forgotten graveyard - a must do! - definitely recommend that!
The hosts couldn't do enough for us - the mixture of being there, yet leaving us to it, was quite relaxing and made us feel at home. (They live in the cottage on the grounds.)
All in all a great experience, that really added something to our get-together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDP2012
Leicestershire, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a wonderful weekend with my partner and our friends three weekends ago and we are still reminiscing about it.
On arrival we were greeted by the charming hosts, Steve and Sonja, who made us feel at home immediately after our 6 hour drive. Once settled in Steve gave us all a guided tour of the castle and grounds and we were taken up to the roof of the tower which gave us an amazing view, as the weather was fabulous that day.
My partner and I had a very comfortable four poster bedroom with en suite which had a very large corner bath with shower. It also had a lockable door which led to a separate staircase to the main hall, which was magnificent.
Our friends also had very comfortable rooms, all very characterful and each reflected the history of the Castle, as did all the other rooms. The main hall was magnificent and we particularly liked gathering around the huge stone fireplace enjoying an evening drink after dining in there on the Saturday evening.
The gardens were lovely with lots of quaint features and interesting statues, some of them in the small lake which was delightful.
It is very well placed for both Edinburgh and Glasgow and there is a whole list of activities that Sonja can sort out for guests if wanted, both in the castle grounds and out. We particularly like the idea of a masseur!
It is advertised as self -catering, which we did, but Sonja can arrange for a butler and a chef if need be which is fantastic and we think next time we will do this for one night at least.
The hosts have two small dogs, one of which I tried to smuggle in my car, in jest. Apparently it is not the first time a guest has done this either as both dogs are adorable!
With charming hosts and wonderful accommodation, steeped in history, we have decided to visit next year and stay longer. And bring the dog back with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole character of the place. Historical aspects etc. Great hosts.
Liked least: All good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S4lang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING HEN WEEKEND!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

18 girls descended on the castle this weekend for a hen do! What a place!!

From the very start sonja and Steve have been life savers! We were double booked by our other venue and I contacted sonja only 2 weeks before the hen was due to start and thankfully this was the only free weekend they've had at the castle all year!

Sonja then organised catering for Saturday and was on hand all the time for any queries we had!

The castle itself was a brilliant venue - something a bit different with loads of interesting rooms to explore! Steve took the girls out onto the top of the tower building! He also drove a couple of us to the local shop for more booze! Super helpful people!

I would definitely stay here again, it's a great place for a party! Great sound from the iPod/Bluetooth speakers in the castle too!!

We had a big party in the tower building on the Friday, then Saturday we had people come out and do hot stone massages, manicures and pedicures - sonja has the contact details for these lovely ladies! We then had a 3 course meal in the great hall whilst doing a murder mystery on Saturday night!

There is absolutely everything you need already there - loo roll, hand wash, washing up liquid etc etc, enough crockery and glasses for about 80 people so you literally just need to bring yourselves and the food and drink!

Great place - would highly recommend!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDMH1970
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding house party”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Plane Castle for our weekend wedding house party, we couldn't have picked a better venue there was lots of room for us to have our close friends and family staying with us which we loved. We had our intimate ceremony in the tower dining room in front of the fireplace and then moved to the great hall for our house party. Sonja and Steve were fantastic and helped make our day run smoothly and went above and beyond to help. Our guests all loved the venue, the kids had fantastic fun exploring the castle grounds and the castle . The castle is steeped in history and every room tells a story. Plane Castle is a unique location for a wedding or a weekend away with friends and family. Thank you Sonja and Steve for everything you helped make our special day fantastic and an experience that we, our friends and family will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the castle is unique and quirky
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S
Fife, Washington
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing doesn't even cover it”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at this stunning location which hosted our hen weekend. It was more than I expected. So grand but homely, steeped in history. The pictures just dont do it justice. It can be a little difficult to find but that just adds to its charm.

Ever since I booked, Sonja has been wonderfully helpful. She offered loads of help in planning my sisters hen weekend. While we were there, Steve was there to show us round and was so helpful and relaxed, he shows great enthusiasm for the castle, its history and its assets.

The beds were comfortable, clean, the amenities are fantastic. I can't wait for our next visit

Thank You so much Sonja and Steve

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne B
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wedding party!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Plane Castle for 2 nights and had our wedding reception on the
Saturday night. The venue was amazing, everyone is raving about it. The hall was a good size for dancing, the rooms have lots of interesting tapestries etc on the walls that make for good talking points and he kitchens had everything we needed. The children loved exploring the secret passages and even got out onto the battlements in the morning to see the lovely views. Sonja and Steve are helpful, friendly and accommodating. We would love to go back. So many great memories from an amazing party!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Thank you so much Lynn & Chris, you were possibly our most innovative guests when it came to chilling the champagne:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing